We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely rustic hotel , great lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely rustic hotel , great lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night on our way to see my sister. We were greeted by friendly management at the front desk and quickly got the paper work out of the way. We were upgraded to a room facing the mountains and with its own fireplace and balcony. The rooms are serviceable and clean and the beds comfy and with the room you also get breakfast included. A great value for the money. The charming part of the hotel tho is the lobby with great leather couches, games, tv, antiques, puzzles, books, coffee and tea .A place that says "living room" and come in and stay a while, homey!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see again and you can expect the same friendly service, clean room and great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    91
    36
    5
    10
See reviews for
45
96
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Canmore was our first stop in the Rockies on a recent Canadian road trip. The Rocky Mountain Inn is conveniently situated for the town's main facilities, and it stood out very positively amongst the dozen or so hotels we stayed in during our trip. Large, comfortable room, very clean, airy and well appointed. The buffet breakfast offered a wide variety of good quality food and, unlike some places we stayed in, there was always space in the breakfast room. An original and very welcome feature was the large sitting room with open fire, a variety of board games, and complimentary coffee. The front desk staff were absolute stars, particularly Geoffrey, who was incredibly helpful, and a colleague of his who gave us detailed local wildlife information. The whole place had a very positive, friendly and comfortable vibe to it AND it was excellent value for money. Canmore is charming and unspoilt and being just outside the national park, it is not prone to the crowds and inflated prices of Banff and Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 899Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I have to agree with you that the Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn is a special property. Thank you very much for your kind words. You are welcome at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our trip. A friendly welcome by staff desk, clean comfortable rooms and a good breakfast-big waffles. Canmore is a lovely town, beautiful setting with all that you could need.Staff gave us ideas on where to go and see the local wildlife and we saw lots of bears.Good value for money.The Safeway must have one of the best views from its car park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very happy you found our staff friendly and informative. It must have been exciting to see some bears!
Come and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The front desk staff is great. As mentioned in other reviews, the foyer with 24/7 coffee, tea and the wood-burning fireplace with a view of the mountains is very welcoming. Wifi is good throughout. The continental breakfast has cereal, apple juice and OJ, muffins, bagels, fruit, cinnamon bread, hardboiled eggs, and a waffle maker with blueberry topping!

Check in was easy and quick. The room was large and relatively clean (definitely acceptable, although the bathroom had a few hairs here and there). Rooms have a small balcony with two chairs.

Overall the value of this hotel, for about $100/night is excellent and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joddypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the overall value of the hotel as “Excellent”.
Please come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

All of the people in our belgian group regretted we had to stay there for 3 nights. Rooms very old, but especially dirty. Bed linen urgently needs replacement. Towels in the bathroom with black, blue and brown stains, horrible. When we placed the towels in the bath (in all hotels meaning you want to have them replaced), they were put back again in the bathroom with the dirty stains. No body wash in the rooms, though there were dispensers which had not been filled for centuries. Curtains falling down from the window and pigeon sh...... on the windows. Carpets in room dirty!
Breakfast a real disaster. Fruit juice had to be delivered during breakfast and machine did not function. No milk available for cereals, after having asked several times, milk finally arrived. Coffee to be asked for several times. Staff always replied that is not my responsibilty! Plates and cups dirty. The worst hotel during our USA/CANADA trip. Will advise our tour operator accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YolandeRousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I have to admit that I was absolutely shocked by your comments. We have been receiving very good comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. (See below)

I called a general meeting to figure out what went wrong during your stay. The executive housekeeping has been working on the floors since to fix all the issues. The front desk manager had a training session with his staff.

The tour company you used has been coming to our property for years. It is the very first time that they reported any issues. I would like to apologize if your stay was less than perfect and we have made a commitment to your tour operator that it will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Check in was friendly and quick; room was very large and clean. Although we faced the main street, we had a lovely view and it was quiet at night. The wifi was free and quite fast, and we very much enjoyed the continental breakfast, which had lots of options and plenty of seating. We would suggest, however, that the breakfast server try to keep the coffee and orange juice full! If we are in Canmore we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We will forward your comments to the kitchen manager and we look forward to your next visit. Call us anytime we are here 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimpton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If staff can sell a room then Canmore rocky mountain inn fits the bill. The front desk staff were so helpful and friendly that we decided to stay based on that alone. Once we got into the room we were very pleasantly surprised clean,nice mountain view and a great breakfast. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Please contact us directly for your next reservation and do not hesitate to inform us of how we may make your stay even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.4 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#14 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
1.5 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Property: Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Address: 1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Canmore, Alberta, near Banff National Park. 3.5 stars Canada Select. Retreat for vacations and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel Canmore
Westridge Country Hotel
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing