We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, if you stay downstairs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Kelowna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, if you stay downstairs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel on the way to Edmonton, in process of moving for a job. It was late and all the other hotels were booked up and we stumbled upon this inn as a last resort before pushing through to Calgary. Originally we asked for an upstairs room for safety/security reasons. Unfortunately, in this room the beds were rock hard and most of the cable channels were out. We were ready to check right out again and hit the road, but the lovely lady at the front desk showed us a room downstairs. The beds were perfect! I felt like Goldilocks, lol. The room included a real working gas fireplace, more than 60 working cable channels, and an amazing deep and long bathtub perfect for soaking in. The french doors led to an amazing view of the surrounding mountains in the morning and we had no disturbances from partiers wandering through the front yard. Also, the rate was quite reasonable including a deluxe european style continental breakfast with meats, cheeses, muffins, cereals, coffee, tea and more. It was a real treat after a long journey and gave us the needed energy for the last sprint. So, my recommendation to you is to definitely stay at this inn when in Canmore, but only downstairs!

  • Liked — The deep relaxing soaker tub and amazing view.
  • Disliked — The newly renovated upstairs rooms which were a poor substitute for the downstairs rooms.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammyh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    109
    40
    8
    10
See reviews for
58
105
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

Our one night stay at the Westridge Country Inn was disappointing. I read all of these negative reviews on 'Trip Advisor' before we booked, but we decided to take our chances. Lesson learned!!!

This hotel is not as advertised, starting with the picture above. There is not a mountain view behind this hotel, but rather, a very large condo development and the main highway. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite (~$250/night) and to our disappointment it was a barren, rather rundown room with an uncomfortable old bed (King size with a big lump in the middle) and a dirty sofa. There was nothing special about it. The bathroom did not have soap or shampoo, but rather a dispenser with some sort of soap product on the wall. It was not labeled. And the hand held shower in the jacuzzi tub did not work. This specific room was advertised as having a mountain view. Both windows looked out onto the condo development that for the most part blocked the view of the mountains.

To top it all off, we went for the "European Style" breakfast that was included and there was no food left. Only a room full of dirty plates from the previous guests. The staff did not really seem concerned either. So we left and ended up going elsewhere for breakfast. We did lodge a complaint, but the management was not very responsive and was quite short with us.

Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel. There are many other choices in the area that are far superior.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Westridge Country Inn in June and had a wonderful time. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast in the morning was very good. The rooms were nice and clean.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank Fitzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed here one night. The staff were very friendly but the room was way overpriced for what it was, The room was suppose to be non smoking but I'm sure someone had smoked in it..it smelled.
The carpet was buckled and room was basic.
The hairdryer did not work, nor did the soap dispenser in the bathtub.
The bathtub was "dirty". Hairs were in the tub and foam soap was stuck to the wall at the back of the tub. This was discusting...they really need to hire someone else to clean their rooms.
For 179 plus tax, which came to 190 ...was not worth it...we won't be back and I would not recommed this hotel

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — room was dirty
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cheraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2007

My husband and I loved this hotel, charming, clean and quiet. Good value hotel accommodation, polite people... The place is nice and we had a great experience. The breakfast is nice, fruits, fresh bread... Everything was good!

  • Liked — The place
  • Disliked — internet price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mineira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2004

Found this to be a very cozy and friendly retreat for weekend get-a-way. Staff is very helpful, we also enjoyed the rooms with fireplaces and the free european breakfast. We will be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2003

We booked a night in the Westridge country inn after being assured by the reception desk that it would be quiet and that they were pet friendly.When they heard we had had Yorkie with us,we were put in a smoking room,though we asked for non smoke.It stank!!The tv remote did not work and the hairdryer neither.Though we booked and paid for 4 people,they only gave towels and condiments for 2.Also no soap-you have to get out of the bath to reach a dispensor for liquid soap on the wall near the door.The wooden floors made every step taken by the guests on the floor above resound in your room. At $189.00 a bad experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#18 of 29 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Property: Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Address: 1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Canmore, Alberta, near Banff National Park. 3.5 stars Canada Select. Retreat for vacations and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel Canmore
Westridge Country Hotel
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing