We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth giving it a try”

Habitat Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #50 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Canadian, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bow Valley Trail
Description: HABITAT RESTAURANT & BAR Habitat has re-opened and managed by the Iron Goat Pub & Grill Bringing a taste of the Caribbean to the heart of the Rockies. Chef Merrick (Rasta) has has brought his classic Jamaican recipes and talent to the kitchen at Habitat. Jerk chicken and jerk pork are the house specialities but the menu has great share plates such as charcuterie and cheese platters but also an array of appetizers and entrees with an island feel. Drink menu compliments the menu with tropical flavours and Jamaican beers.
Ingleside, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth giving it a try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a lovely waitress(Michelle) A1 service from this excellent waitress. Treated like royalty. Food excellent and very fresh. Presentation is also worth mentioning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are so glad to hear that your recieved great service from one of our servers. Our staff strive to provide exceptional service each and every day.

We hope we can welcome you back to our restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    36
    16
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal, friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I ate here on a Sunday night. Service was really great, very attentive and good recommendations made on both the menu and wine. Food was great, with serving sizes being generous, but not too much. Food was really high quality, definitely the best fine dining we had in canmore.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phill3750456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the service from our staff. They really strive to ensure that each and every guest havE a great dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
207 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I had never heard of Habitat until recently and went there tonight with a friend. The food was excellent. From the warm salad with wild boar lardons to the trio of short ribs and the gelato float for dessert, everything was great. It's a bit pricey, but you're paying for high quality food, seasoned well and served promptly. If I was to complain about anything, the service was a bit slow, but to be fair there was only a single waiter on this evening. If you want a view, request a table by the windows. You will not be disappointed at sunset. In fact, it's a much better view than most of the restaurants in the downtown area. Also worth noting is that their menu is gluten free friendly. Overall, I was very impressed and I will not only be back, I will be bringing more visitors to this restaurant every time I stay in Canmore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and took advantage of the great view available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than hotel fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great service, great food. Breakfasts were rapid and hearty. Dinner was the main event tho - the Chef's carving was great value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Habitat Restaurant and that the service was great and you enjoyed your meals.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
674 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have been staying in Canmore for almost a decade – but we didn’t know about Habitat; our loss. It’s tucked away in one of the hotel just off Bow Valley Trail and we only found it because of the wine and food week advertising in Canmore. But now that we have found it we will go back. The food was great. Bacon wrapped monkfish with an asparagus sauce for the appetizer was probably my favourite; the salmon for main course was good (still moist but a bit too cooked) - but the wild rice risotto that went with it was amazing. The herb crusted roast chicken with the potato cake was good. Desserts were hit and miss – the sticky toffee pudding with homemade cinnamon ice cream was spectacular but the Grand Marnier crème brulee was overcooked. Decent wine selection at good. John was our server – he was really quite outstanding; knew he stuff, friendly, timing was good, not too intrusive but always on top of what was needed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us, esspecially the bacon wrapped monkfish and the sticky toffee pudding.

Also always great to receive feedback on our servers.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope we can welcome you back to Habitat Restaurant & Bar in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habitat Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Habitat Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing