We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Habitat Restaurant

Habitat Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bow Valley Trail
Description: HABITAT RESTAURANT Habitat has re-opened and managed by the Iron Goat Pub & Grill. We are open daily for breakfast only.
Lethbridge
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I had never heard of Habitat until recently and went there tonight with a friend. The food was excellent. From the warm salad with wild boar lardons to the trio of short ribs and the gelato float for dessert, everything was great. It's a bit pricey, but you're paying for high quality food, seasoned well and served promptly. If I was to complain about anything, the service was a bit slow, but to be fair there was only a single waiter on this evening. If you want a view, request a table by the windows. You will not be disappointed at sunset. In fact, it's a much better view than most of the restaurants in the downtown area. Also worth noting is that their menu is gluten free friendly. Overall, I was very impressed and I will not only be back, I will be bringing more visitors to this restaurant every time I stay in Canmore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and took advantage of the great view available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    36
    17
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than hotel fare”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great service, great food. Breakfasts were rapid and hearty. Dinner was the main event tho - the Chef's carving was great value.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Habitat Restaurant and that the service was great and you enjoyed your meals.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“a surprise”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have been staying in Canmore for almost a decade – but we didn’t know about Habitat; our loss. It’s tucked away in one of the hotel just off Bow Valley Trail and we only found it because of the wine and food week advertising in Canmore. But now that we have found it we will go back. The food was great. Bacon wrapped monkfish with an asparagus sauce for the appetizer was probably my favourite; the salmon for main course was good (still moist but a bit too cooked) - but the wild rice risotto that went with it was amazing. The herb crusted roast chicken with the potato cake was good. Desserts were hit and miss – the sticky toffee pudding with homemade cinnamon ice cream was spectacular but the Grand Marnier crème brulee was overcooked. Decent wine selection at good. John was our server – he was really quite outstanding; knew he stuff, friendly, timing was good, not too intrusive but always on top of what was needed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us, esspecially the bacon wrapped monkfish and the sticky toffee pudding.

Also always great to receive feedback on our servers.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope we can welcome you back to Habitat Restaurant & Bar in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tasty food, interesting choices, top notch quality”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Without going into too much detail, we ate there twice: once just my husband and I and the second time we had a dinner with friends. So in a short time between the two dinners and the four of us we tried about 60% of their menu. It is quite amazing that among all those dishes there was not one that was less than spectacular! I am vegetarian and their fried polenta with beans was just the ticket. They also have a bunch of vegetarian choices (salads, soup, appetizers), which are arguably even better than meat or fish ones. Everything is nicely seasoned, spiced and cooked to perfection. One thing to mention: best Cosmopolitan ever! don't miss it if you are into Cosmo. Very nice wine selection, too. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalinaCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent dining experience with us.

We are glad to hear that you have dined with us twice and have found our meals spectacular, especially the vegetarian option of fried polenta with beans.

It is also great to hear that our Cosmopolitan is the best ever.

We hope to welcome you back to Habitat Restaurant & Bar in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad service and cold food”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Really disappointed with everything about my visit here as it had been recommended. Really long wait for food then it turned up cold.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeRockiesResort, Administrative Assistant at Habitat Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Habitat Restaurant & Bar guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent dining experience.

We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you at a time that works best for you. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Food & Beverage Manager on 403.679.5225 or denis.gauvin@granderockies.com. I am confident that we can address your concerns.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to speaking with you directly.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Hoppo
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habitat Restaurant also viewed

 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Habitat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing