We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening”

Habitat Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #52 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bow Valley Trail
Description: HABITAT RESTAURANT & BAR Habitat has re-opened and managed by the Iron Goat Pub & Grill Bringing a taste of the Caribbean to the heart of the Rockies. Chef Merrick (Rasta) has has brought his classic Jamaican recipes and talent to the kitchen at Habitat. Jerk chicken and jerk pork are the house specialities but the menu has great share plates such as charcuterie and cheese platters but also an array of appetizers and entrees with an island feel. Drink menu compliments the menu with tropical flavours and Jamaican beers.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We liked the pre-selected menu. All was amazing, and wine seclection was great.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunstroke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    36
    16
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experiences”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Brilliant, the food and service was magnificent!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Breakfast”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Not to be rude or anything but I went here for breakfast recently an the breakfast wasn't what I order exactly . The eggs were runny after I said I would like it done, the bacon was fried dry,took a bite an it tasted like burnt powder.. An also the breakfast chef was also answering text messages,he should pay attention to his customers orders more an not his messages.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great addition to gourmet dining in Canmore”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have dined here four times in the last year. The selection of dishes and wines is first class with excellent service to match.
The restaurant is modern with very attractive decor. Despite busy evening dining, the service was very professional and our waiter was friendly and attentive.
We highly recommend this reasonably price, first class restaurant. One of the best in Canmore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecossins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“It was just okay. Great service though.”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had dinner here mid-week and it was completely empty the whole time we were there, which was surprising. We had a great server who didn't rush us even though he had no one else to serve. We had some good cocktails to start and then I had a beet carpaccio salad and my husband had the lobster bisque. Both were fine, nothing special. Then I had the chicken pasta which was extremely boring and not at all what I was expecting from a place like Habitat. My husband had the pork and he just raved about it. I can't even remember what we had for dessert. It was just okay too, I think. I wouldn't go back, but my husband would.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emilyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habitat Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Habitat Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing