We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Overly Impressed”
Review of Days Inn Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Canmore
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Overly Impressed”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I'm a Canadian, residing in the US, who travels extensively & understands what makes a great hotel/motel experience. My travel mate also is an Albertan. Econo Lodge Canmore needs to shape up their guests experience. We were truly disappointed & concerned for other guests who stay here, coming from all parts of the world. Here's why... First off, the room we stayed in was way too cramped with furniture. Felt like we were in an overly-stocked furniture store. Hard to move around. Felt claustrophobic. Desk lamp wasn't working. Brown crud stuck to bathroom floor. Over-all appearance dated. 'Continental breakfast' poor & minimal. Turned us off completely, the minute we saw the copious amounts of pre-packaged, pre-cooked boiled eggs sitting in some yellowish water in plastic packages. Only real fruit was oranges & apples. Bread & baked goods had been frozen. We found all dried except for 1 piece on the back shelf that was soggy on the edges. Attendant for breakfast room made us feel like we were being watched & scrutinized rather than being made to feel welcomed. Other than popping out of room on occasion, she stood like an unfriendly 'guard' positioned, staring at the guests. Not exactly what tired, hungry paying guests wish to be subjected to first thing in the morning. Unpleasant experience. Why not make things fun & fantastic for your guests? We want to be treated like welcomed, paying guests- (we are not just barely tolerated 'numbers' through a turn-stile). We were double-charged for room & each charge was more than it should have been. Had to bring it to attention of day clerk. Eventually got resolved. However, if things were done correctly in the first place, this would not have happened. Key Issue - Guests should not have to be burdened with registering complaints about lodging conditions & service. Often guests are tired & just need rest when they check in. No one needs to have more added to their plate by having to complain about various things that obviously should have been taken care of BEFORE checking in. Seriously! I travel a lot & often. This place now rates low on my list. Canmore has better. My suggestions: Update your rooms, Econo Lodge. Inspect the rooms for cleanliness & repair what needs to be repaired, before guests check in. Think of logistics & comfort for your guests before cramming rooms to the brim with furniture. Guests should not have to get down on all fours & stick their head under a desk to access a plug-in for their electronics.Train your staff in breakfast room to be pleasant & interact with guests. Please provide a fresher, healthier breakfast for your guests. All these things are do-able. We hope our comments will be viewed as helpful.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms close to front desk as it tended to be quiet noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntheGOWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    210
    77
    14
    10
See reviews for
151
226
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean standard hotel with comfortable amenities. Pretty standard rooms but they show attention to detail. Fireplace in room. Great front desk staff. Canadians are definitely friendlier and provide better service than American counter parts I've found. Good location. Reasonable price for peak season. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carberry, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The place is close to restaurants and convenient to the main highway. The rooms have been redone and the beds are super comfortable. We had a room with a king bed, fireplace and balcony. There was a jet tub in the bathroom.
The breakfast was ample and check in was quick, lots of parking right in front of the building.
The building is 2 story with no elevators. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room, several of them have a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We chose this place on the spur of the moment (found it listed in our CAA guide) because it is definitely cheaper than Banff and was also cheaper than some other hotels in Canmore. The room had a fridge, a microwave and one-cup Keurig coffee maker. Beds were comfortable with good linens and pillows, bathroom was nice. Front desk very busy, but friendly and helpful. Our room on the front of the hotel had a view of The Three Sisters mountains. It is a two-story hotel with no elevator. I imagine rooms on the second floor would have an even better view of the mountains, as you would not have to peer over the cars just outside your window. The free WiFi was a bit flaky, however this may well have been caused by the severe thunderstorms, which caused about a 20 minute power failure in the area. There is a lap-top computer with internet access in the lobby available for guests to use. The free continental breakfast was average. Was not aware of an option to upgrade breakfast, as mentioned by another reviewer. The restaurant right next door (had favourable reviews by CAA) is closed Wednesday nights. Guess which night we were there! However there are restaurants, stores and a liquor store right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel was very good. We chose it because it was cheaper than the ones in the Banff National Park. It is roughly 20km from Banff. There are shops around the hotels, restaurants and fuel stations. Now the hotel itself is quite charming. We stayed for 3 nights; we spent 2 nights in an executive suite for only 20$ more and the last night in a normal room.

The executive suite : It has a bathroom with a huge shower, a king size bed, 2 armchairs, a fireplace, a TV, a fridge and a microwave. And a jacuzzi in the living room.

The normal room: It has 2 beds, a fridge, a microwave, a TV, a bathroom with a bathtub.

They both have air conditioning. In the suite it was pretty noisy and in the normal room we couldn't change the temperature so we had to unplug it.

Breakfast is free but it's not amazing at all. You can toast frozen pancakes, waffles and bread.

Overall, it's not bad at all, the beds are comfortable, the staff is nice and helpful. The location is great but it is still quite expensive for some things.

One last thing, make sure to book a room in advance because they were sold out for the length of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view. If you are in a wheelchair, make sure to ask for a room downstairs, the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The room was clean and very quiet except for the excessively squeaky bed my kids slept in.. It was nice to have the option to upgrade breakfast the next morning.having the tossiomo coffee system in the room was a good break from the normal in room coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering On
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Book this hotel as a cheaper alternative to staying in Banff. Very nice place and clean. Had a room in which included bunk beds for my two boys..."great Idea"!! Hotel is situated right across from some restaurants and stores. This made it easy when it came time for meals. Would recomended this place as a cheaper alternative to staying in Banff. Banff is only a short drive away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 28 in Canmore
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.4 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#22 of 28 in Canmore
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Canmore

Property: Days Inn Canmore
Address: 1602 2 Ave | Highway 1A, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1M8, Canada (Formerly EconoLodge Canmore Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Canmore 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated in 2016. Close to Canmore Elevation Place and Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park. Welcome to our Days Inn Canmore hotel near Banff National Park Gate and Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park. Our location is 100% non-smoking with breathtaking mountain views and a 24 hour front desk to handle your every need. Enjoy special conveniences such as our onsite restaurant and fitness centre. Get ready for outdoor recreation with a delicious free breakfast. Start each day with our free enhanced breakfast with healthy options, then plan out your day using free WiFi access from the comfort of your room. Our onsite fitness centre and business centre make it easy to keep up with your daily routines, while our ample free parking allows you to come and go with ease. Guest rooms are equipped with work space, air conditioning, a fireplace, microwave, mini-refrigerator, and a Keurig coffee and tea maker. Additionally, pet-friendly rooms and meeting space for up to 80 guests are available onsite. Wander through effortless natural beauty or try your luck at the casino. If you love the great outdoors, than our Canmore location places you at the center of all the action. Feel the breeze as you mountain bike and hike through the Johnston Canyon and Canmore Nordic Centre Provincial Park. Delight in the climbing wall and aquatics centre at Canmore Elevation Place. Other attractions within reach include Stoney Nakoda Resort & Casino, Kananaskis Country, Lake Minnewanka, and Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing