We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible smoked meat sandwiches!”
Review of La Belle Patate

La Belle Patate
Ranked #21 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Great selection of Poutines made with fresh cheese curds, hand cut double cooked fries and a delicious vegetable based gravy. Old fashioned Montreal smoked meat sandwich served on rye with a side of pickle :) Moist Steamed hot dogs, dressed to perfection :) Delicious, fresh, no fillers added burgers... Authentic Colt Spruce Beer Come and get a taste of home!
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Incredible smoked meat sandwiches!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We thought it would be fun to check out La Belle Patate for lunch while in Canmore. We decided to get our meals to go. We ordered smoked meat sandwiches and medium classic poutine for 3 people. We enjoyed the food very much. The portions were so large that we still had leftovers for the next day. There are many different toppings for the poutine that would be fun to try and the burgers look delicious too. This would be a great place to stop after a morning of strenuous hiking!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jedi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    87
    25
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morden, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This place was tucked away but is definitely worth a try. It is a bit pricey but you're paying for the experience and if you stick to the specials it's not too bad. We had Poutines which was delicious with it's perfectly salty gravy and gooey cheese curds. We also tried a steamie which was good especially all dressed. The true unsung hero of this meal was the Montreal Smoked Meat sandwich. It was tender and juicy and oh so good. Don't leave without trying one!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillivix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place for quick eats”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have been going here for years in Canmore. Prices are getting up there from where they started but still less expensive than most places to eat in Canmore and the poutine is AWESOME! I had the gluten-free traditional poutine with smoked meat, it was very good but as expected, salty. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone who likes casual dining (it is located in an industrial park) and burgers, smoked meat, poutine etc. Also a good amount of hockey memorabilia on the walls!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin
Level Contributor
132 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Coming from Ontario, poutine is not something new.
This poutine was okay - not great.
And pretty pricey - we paid about $80 for 2 adults and 3 kids - 6, 8 and 11.
The kids did love the meal - but I would say it was just okay.
I had a steak sub with pepperoni - nothing special for $11 ordered at the counter and eaten on a paper plate at a picnic table beside a parking lot.

I'd say skip this one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome poutine!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Wow, all I can say is if you like poutine and you're in Canmore, AB you have to stop at La Belle Patate for some. They have so many different types of poutine from regular to spicy chicken that it makes it very hard to choose. It is reasonably priced and come in small/med/lg. I decided on the medium meat lovers poutine and it was freak'n incredible, soooooo big, I could barely finish it. The place is clean with friendly staff and great food, I highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Patate also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to La Belle Patate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing