We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner I'll Remember”

Wild Orchid Bistro & Sushi Lounge
Ranked #13 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Chef Shogo Sawada creates exciting and unique flavors in modern Japanese dishes while keeping tradition close to the heart. View the spectacular Canadian Rocky Mountains from our dining room or outdoor patio. Our menu is entirely gluten-free. Open for Lunch Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Daily Happy Hour from 4pm-6pm.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner I'll Remember”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

went with some colleges and we were blown away by the food, after trying some of the appies (the tartar was AMAZING!) we were so stuffed we could barely finish our mains, the Miso-Pistashio Steak was perfectly cooked and had beautiful plating.
I will defiantly go back to Wild Orchid next time I am in Canmore.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quinnfynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    61
    17
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a relaxed and enjoyable evening. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. Food was very good, if a little pricey, wine selection was decent, and atmosphere was nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank revykiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, alberta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just food cuisine”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Did not know quite what to expect from the name of this restraunt.. We ordered the bison medallions and the bison steak,the two most expensive items on the menu. Both were tender beyond belief. It was great to really stop and savor every bite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2happy2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a group of three we sat in by the bar, Jerome our server was wonderful. There is a great cocktail and wine list (the lychee martinis are excellent!) and an even more impressive menu, we had a hard time deciding on just one thing, so we ordered and shared most of the appetisers! And they were all so so so good...the calamari was perfection, and such a decent portion size, and you definitely cant miss out on the stuffed butterfly shrimp! We didnt make it onto the mains but we will absolutely be back! So many options and so much variety. The room itself is beautiful, the kitchen is open plan, so you can see the chefs preparing your food and the ever so exciting flashes of flames as they grill, fry and create!! The outside patio even has a table around a firepit type set up!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_wCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Appies!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I dined with two other friends in the lounge. We received prompt and proper service from Jerome. He was friendly and sure to check back with us consistently. Our cocktails were excellent to start things off. My caesar was great and the lychee martini was as well.
We had every intention of having dinner entrees as the 3 of us were really hungry, but the appetizer menu was so great we didn't make it past. We had several rounds because we just had to keep trying them. I don't know whether to mention the lobster stuffed panko prawns, the peking duck drumettes or the calamari with spicy Sambal olek. All of it wow! The authentic sauces and condiments made for an intrigung and delicious experience.
We wanted the awesome firepit bar table but unfortunately it was occupied by another group.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Orchid Bistro & Sushi Lounge also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Wild Orchid Bistro & Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing