We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!”

Wild Orchid Bistro & Sushi Lounge
Ranked #15 of 121 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Chef Shogo Sawada creates exciting and unique flavors in modern Japanese dishes while keeping tradition close to the heart. View the spectacular Canadian Rocky Mountains from our dining room or outdoor patio. Our menu is entirely gluten-free.
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a group of three we sat in by the bar, Jerome our server was wonderful. There is a great cocktail and wine list (the lychee martinis are excellent!) and an even more impressive menu, we had a hard time deciding on just one thing, so we ordered and shared most of the appetisers! And they were all so so so good...the calamari was perfection, and such a decent portion size, and you definitely cant miss out on the stuffed butterfly shrimp! We didnt make it onto the mains but we will absolutely be back! So many options and so much variety. The room itself is beautiful, the kitchen is open plan, so you can see the chefs preparing your food and the ever so exciting flashes of flames as they grill, fry and create!! The outside patio even has a table around a firepit type set up!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c_wCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    61
    16
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Appies!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I dined with two other friends in the lounge. We received prompt and proper service from Jerome. He was friendly and sure to check back with us consistently. Our cocktails were excellent to start things off. My caesar was great and the lychee martini was as well.
We had every intention of having dinner entrees as the 3 of us were really hungry, but the appetizer menu was so great we didn't make it past. We had several rounds because we just had to keep trying them. I don't know whether to mention the lobster stuffed panko prawns, the peking duck drumettes or the calamari with spicy Sambal olek. All of it wow! The authentic sauces and condiments made for an intrigung and delicious experience.
We wanted the awesome firepit bar table but unfortunately it was occupied by another group.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Wild orchid changed hands a couple of months ago. I thought it was going to be a disappointment but I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised! Great cocktail selection, the appies were lovely and the portions were just right! Was there just in time to get the last of the summer menu and can't wait to get back and try what's new for winter!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krista O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“New Owners since June ... This isn't the same restaurant”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This restaurant recently changed hands but is still under the same name. They unfortunately removed all the most successful and much loved dishes from the menu. The new revamped menu is ok and the food is also ok. It is though a pale comparison to what it was. As a local I used to visit this restaurant almost weekly but since they removed the crunchy salmon roll there is just no reason to visit. Sad to see what was my favourite Canmore restaurant cease to exist.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Wild Orchid Bistro & Sushi Lounge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have taken over the managing of the Wild Orchid in mid July. We changed the menu to an Asian fusion inspired menu and we still have specials but unfortunately no sushi or the salmon rolls that you prefer. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with the new menu but still rated it as okay.......we would like you to try us again so please contact us so we can talk a little more about our changes and inviting you to come back.....judy@waymarker.ca

We appreciate all of our customers comments and we thank you again for yours.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“To bad used to be so good=(”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Well it seems it wasn't us that the waitress didn't like. Thought it was something personal but seems she's consistent in not smiling at anyone. Our last couple expierences there the service has bin horrible. Food sitting, waiting forever as I look at it sitting. & like one other reviewer, when asked if the local special still applied we were told it did & when the bill came had no discount & were told then "sorry made a mistake it's over" but I said good you can pay the difference it was your mistake not mine. They fixed the bill & no tip was left oh & on top of it all the food was not Nearly as good as it used to be altho not horrable just disappointing.I'm sorry to go on moaning, we do not usually write the bad reviews just the places you wana go but this used to be one of those places. I hope the management notices the review pattern & makes the changes to keep this place open. They have a tripadvisor plaque out front so maybe they pay attention & if they do they might wana take it down

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MELCOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Wild Orchid Bistro & Sushi Lounge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have taken over the Wild Orchid Bistro in mid July and have made changes to the menu. We are now serving Asian Infusion appetizers and entrees. We unfortunately do not feature sushi anymore. We have noodle bowl specials Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays for only $9.99 so we do have specials continuing but just different ones. We have kept the name but have changed the style of food so we do apologize for not letting you know this. Our idea is to freshen and add new to this amazing restaurant space. We would lvoe for you to come back and if you wish to please contact myself at judy@waymarker.ca Again we do apologize for any confusion with the changeovers....we do hope to see you again and I do hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Orchid Bistro & Sushi Lounge also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Wild Orchid Bistro & Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing