We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent accommodation - friendly, helpful owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation - friendly, helpful owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We decided to stay in Canmore rather than the more popular and more expensive, crowded Banff. We chose Canadian Artisans because of its reviews and the fact that it stood out as being more unique than other accommodation in the area. We were not disappointed. As we drew up outside an excited Val, the owner, pointed to a pine marten in a tree by the house. Val is a lovely, friendly person who does her best to make you feel welcome in an unobtrusive way. Each day throughout our 4 night stay she enquired as we were leaving or returning how things were, was everything ok, could she offer any assistance etc. She made useful suggestions about places to visit etc. All in all a great hostess.
We opted not to have breakfast, preferring instead to self cater. The mini kitchen area was sufficient for our needs.
The room itself was really lovely - we chose the larger upstairs room and loved it. The architecture was superb. There were lots of little quirky details which added greatly to its character. The enormous built bed was seriously comfortable - very important after a long haul flight! The shower was, as stated by many others, wonderful.
The house is right by the woods and only a short walk to the river. We saw an Elk in the woods and there was evidence of bears - but didn't see any. It also wasn't far to walk into town but we always took the car.
We found the house very well located and travelled around visiting Banff, Lake Louise and Kananaskis (on Val's recommendation). The scenery was superb and the wildlife sightings were the most varied in our 24 day trip to Canada - beaver, elk, several grizzlies, black bears, moose, wild sheep and goats, 3 other types of deer and a number of birds of prey. A definite place to go if you want to see wildlife - binoculars essential!!
The Canmore tourist information staff were brilliantly helpful, local shops pleasant and varied. There was an excellent quilt shop in Canmore for the handicrafters. Far nicer and more pleasant than Banff which was very busy even though we were there very early summer. I can imagine it would be seriously crowded in high season and really difficult to park. I can definitely recommend this bed and breakfast as being amongst the prettiest places we've stayed in.

Room Tip: The top floor room offers a lot more privacy than the ground floor one but both rooms appear to be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Canadian Artisans Bed and Breakfast. Loved Valerie's breakfasts and all the romantic touches that she incorporated into our stay. There is really nothing to add that hasn't already been said by all the other reviews. Would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a special B & B to celebrate a special occasion of some kind!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you truly want to treat yourself and your favorite person for a romantic getaway in a beautiful part of our world......this is it! These two owners do it right and make you feel special and at home! The tree house suite is built with fine craftsmanship and detail. Breakfasts by Val are increadably delicious and always more than you can eat. This place gets a 10 in my book ....just wish we lived closer.

Patrick, Jacksonville, Florida

Room Tip: Two rooms available both awesome! No swimming pool or fitness center - not required in a B&B!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Lovely b&b, excellent service, unforgettable experience. We stay 3 days in a two weeks trip around Canada and it was the better accomodation at all, we'd like to thank Mrs.Valery for the kind and warm hospitality.

The top experience was the breakfast!!

















  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabdj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I would go back to this B&B, it was clean, conveient , Val. did a great job at breakfast each morning and Bob and Val. are a very pleasent couple. They had some very good ideas for our hikes and drives. I'm ready to go back. Lovely area . And lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Both rooms were very good. The bigger room upstairs is a little nicer. Has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolitaS283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Reading the previous reviews there really isn't a whole lot to add to the complete descriptions there were given by the previous reviewers. I just wanted to say that if I were to stay in Canmore I would definitely be coming back for more of Val's delicious cooking. After filling up on one of Val's breakfasts we could hike/shop/sightsee until 2pm before getting hungry. The location is awesome as it is a short walk to downtown Canmore to shops and eateries, which Val was able to steer us towards some good dining choices for dinner. Would love to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kscruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed 3 nights for the may long weekend, 1st year wedding ann. Loved the room and the location, if you are in Canmore for the wilderness and the city itself, it is a perfect location, very VERY quite, right in the trees at edge of the more historical side of the town, literally 1 block easy walk to resturants and shopping, if just staying in the town and using the nearby trails you do not even need to use your car. The breakfasts are very good, healthy, and you will not go hungry! might not even need a lunch. Food is served between 8 and 9 am if going out earlier than they will out some food in your fridge the night before, if after you will still get food but not any freashly cooked stuff. We stayed in the tree house, king sized bed was to die for and the sealing is so gorgous you wouldnèt believe it unless you saw it. rates are around 200$ a night, only issue was being on top suite you have to worry about being quiet at night or your downstairs neighbours might complain, that was the places only short coming for us. We always were in bed before midnight. I hope many more get to experience this wonderfully spiritual room, place, location, city!

Room Tip: have 2 rooms, rec top, less noise, more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalynnlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.2 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
1.3 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.9 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.7 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast

Property: Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1016 9 Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1Z6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely designed and handcrafted by your hosts, each room is a 400 sq. ft. romantic sanctuary. There is natural light from 8 full length windows, private entrance, bar fridge and other amenities. The Treehouse suite boasts a double wet steam shower and king bed, while the Foresthouse offers a double whirlpool tub and queen bed. Complete with stained glass and hidden dragons, we are located on a quiet forested trail surprisingly close to downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing