We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great August long weekend in Canmore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Place Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkside Place Guest House
Save
You added Parkside Place Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great August long weekend in Canmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

While attending the Canmore Folk Festivel the long weekend in August, my friend and I were lucky enough to come across Parkside Place Guest House as a home base for our stay. Parkside Place was a wonderful experience for us and we felt right at home in the very spacious and clean accommodations. We were fortunate enough to secure the entire suite for our stay and the completely separate entrance made our coming and going to the Folk Fest very convenient and we each had our own bedroom with ensuite bathrooms. We did not opt for the breakfast portion of the B&B and the large kitchen with a full size refridgerator accommodated all of the food we brought and purchased. This overall made our weekend very affordable as we could make our own breakfast and lunches. I have stayed in many different accommodations in Canmore over the past twenty years and I found this property one of the best.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cougar Room and the only comment I would have is that you must enjoy a very firm mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
633 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our week exploring round Kananaskis / Banff / Canmore area was made VERY enjoyable by the QUALITY of our self catered accommodation. Hosts are helpful & knowledgeable. Modern home features comfortable bedrooms with ensuite & guest's lounge & kitchen, all separate from delightful young family living on upper levels. Enjoyed BBQ'ing occasionally & the many cafes in town a short drive away. Canmore is a terrific alternative to Banff's noise / traffic / expense & we highly recommend Parkside Place Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Highly recommended is the O Canada dinner theatre (Need a good understanding of English though)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

As mentioned by another reviewer, the rooms are located in the lower level of the house, while the hosts live in the upper level. I stayed in the Cougar Room, which is located below the kitchen. As you can imagine, any activity occuring in the kitchen upstairs is apparent downstairs. This is a problem if you are a light sleeper as I am, but is reduced somewhat with earplugs. If you happen to be an early riser, then there should not be a problem. On the plus side, the home is located far enough away from downtown Canmore that you won't notice the train that seems to often travel through in the wee small hours of the night sounding its very loud horn. (This is from prior experience staying in one of the hotels on the main strip.)

The room itself was adequate for me, but could be a bit small for a couple. The ensuite bathroom could also be accessed from the hallway through a second door lockable from the inside.

Both rooms in the suite share a common living room and kitchen. This may or may not be a problem, depending on the schedules of the two sets of occupants. I did not find it to be during the three days I was there.

I chose the no breakfast option, so I can't comment about that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Canmore is a moderately cheaper alternative to Banff and a nice, if slightly less convenient town to base your visit to Banff and Yoho National Parks.We would not have used Canmore as a base for the Icefield Parkway. Entered from the rear of the property, Parkside Place B&B is the downstairs area of a large "new" house, where the owners occupy the floors above. Occasional noise is inevitable. The house is situated in a cul-de-sac of similar close by private houses and about 2 miles out of the town. We were perhaps lucky to share this fairly intimate joint accommodation with 2 very like-minded New Zealanders and we imagine Parkside is potentially more family/small group friendly. We stayed in the Raven Room which is fully en-suite, but we were not certain if the other room was. If this matters we suggest you check this as the private bathroom for the Cougar Room appeared to be accessed from the kitchen/dining area. There is a sauna; the breakfasts were varied and plentiful; the accommodation totally up to date, fully equipped and spotlessly clean. Advice on local trips and hikes was readily available. Good quality local restaurants and shops were within walking distance. Our only minor problem lay with ferrying luggage down steps and along gravel paths and a regular inability to park. With only 2 parking spaces available and the owners apparently using one of them, you were left to park outside neighbours' houses. Parkside, however, is a very pleasant B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Oaklyn, Cheshire, England.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oaklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksidePlace, Owner at Parkside Place Guest House, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Each or our two bedrooms feature a private full ensuite bathroom.

Though ideal for two couples or family travelling together, we often have one couple in our guesthouse at any time.

There is parking for two large vehicles or three smaller vehicles on our property, as well as on street parking 50 feet away.

We always available and of course more happy to help with any luggage to be carried into and out of the suite.

The Columbia Icefields are a wonderful attraction that I would recommend to all. When planning your trip through the Canadian Rockies, I would suggest spending a few nights in Jasper, then viewing the Icefields en route to the towns of Banff/Canmore (or vice versa). This drive is one of the most beautiful in the world and the Icefields roughly mark the halfway point between Jasper and Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay in Parkside Place, it is well located, very clean and practival with a big kitchen. The breakfast was lovely, good to start your day before a heavy walk.
The owners are very helpfull and friendly, we would immediately go there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We were fortunate to be able to switch to the Parkside Place Guest House for our last 2 nights in Canmore. We prefer the more personal nature of small accommodation providers and in this case we were not disappointed.. The location was quiet, the accommodation area of a very high standard and the hosts were extremely hospitable. If we had the time available for a longer stay the Parkside Place Guest House would have been ideal for this purpose.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arapiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
1.5 mi away
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#12 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monarch Bed & Breakfast
Monarch Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Creekside Villa
Creekside Villa
#3 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
1.1 mi away
The Howling Wolf
The Howling Wolf
#10 of 33 in Canmore
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Place Guest House

Property: Parkside Place Guest House
Address: 1009 Benchlands Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkside Place Guest House is a self-contained walk-out suite offering guests two separate bedrooms, each complete with full private en-suite bathroom, plush queen beds with feather duvets and luxurious robes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Place Guest House Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing