We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
71
35
20
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
71
35
20
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the rooftop hot tub base camp rocky mountain bagel ear plugs are provided unit number bagel place responding to emails small negatives bit firm studio apartment access code the kitchen washer and dryer local coffee three bedroom train line air flow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect Location to hike or explore Canmore. Modern, clean apartment with everything you need! BBQ area,
Hot tub with mountain view.
Next to basecamp you find the Rocky Mountain Bagel Company. So only few steps and you get a good breakfast

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cordula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arandellca, Guest Relations Manager at Basecamp Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for coming out to join us in the beautiful Rocky Mountains. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being from Alberta, we hate having to pay super high prices for subpar accommodations in the Rockies. We had friends visiting from New Jersey so we’re looking for a place where all 8 of us could stay together and I stumbled upon the Basecamp Resort. What a great find!!! Our unit was beautiful. Very clean and modern. Loved having the kitchen (it was perfectly stocked with everything you could need) and great table for playing games and just gathering in the mornings and evenings. Hubby and I slept on the foldout (cuz we’re nice A little uncomfortable, but also our backs are 50 years old. I would for sure recommend this place to others and will be back again for sure.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arandellca, Guest Relations Manager at Basecamp Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are happy that you found a home away from home for your Rockies getaway. We also have three bedroom units with a queen size bunk bed so all the adults can sleep on a real mattress. Thanks for the great review. See you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with the accommodation far exceeding expectations. Despite being the only accommodation on our tour that wasn’t a hotel, it ended up being one of our favourite rooms to stay in. The units were modern, bright and had a homely feel. They were also extremely clean and tidy. We had 2 three bedroom suites and were delighted to find they had interconnecting doors, which meant all 8 of us had the luxury of being in one space. There were more than enough amenities in the kitchen and throughout, and there were even a couple of board games for a family night in (if there wasn’t enough to see in Canada....). Our bedroom backed on to the main railway line through Canmore but I had absolutely no trouble sleeping; ear plugs were even supplied for light sleepers. Any person that has given this accommodation a bad review because of this clearly needs to do their research on Canmore before making a reservation! This is also the same with the location, as it’s only a short 25-30 min drive to Banff, but it’s close to the main Highway giving you easy access. There are more than enough eateries nearby although it was dangerous having the Rocky Mountain Bagel Company directly next door as my calorie intake definitely increased because of them!!
My only criticism was the ‘check-in/allocation’ procedure. There are no key cards or physical keys with the accommodation, with entry to the property gained via a combination code sent over email on the day of your stay. This made things extremely difficult for us as we are UK residents and relied a lot on WiFi. It wasn’t until we arrived that we discovered no email had been sent. This meant further phone calls had to be made to gain entry and we found out an email had not been sent as no credit card was on file for securities, despite having paid the balance.
On the whole, I can’t fault the accommodation itself and we enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank saints_forever1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleS4865, Manager at Basecamp Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear saints_forever1987,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback! We're delighted to hear you found your apartments to be clean, spacious and well equipped, as our aim is to provide a home away from home. We built our property with common spaces at the forefront, so families and friends travelling can spend as much time together as possible. It's great to hear you enjoyed our central location, within walking distance to many shops and eateries, with very easy access off the highway and only a five minute drive to the Banff National Park gates. We appreciate the feedback regarding the virtual check in. Our aim is for this to be as smooth as possible, and it sounds like this was not your experience so we will be using this as an example to learn from. We do also have a 24/7 front desk next door at our sister property, Basecamp Lodge. We hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to the magnificent Canadian Rockies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Basecamp Resorts is an awesome concept; you're provided with a roomy and clean apartment. Kitchen has the necessities and there's even a gas BBQ provided for all guests to use at their leisure.

If it weren't for the freight and commuter trains which pass approximately 38 times a day/evening - the location would be perfect. It's impossible to sleep through the night with the train whistle blowing and the sound of all the cars passing along the tracks all the time.

Cleaning staff were doing great for the first few days, making the bed & changing our towels frequently. One day we came back to the apartment and my partner's t-shirts and socks had been folded up and left in a little pile on top of the bed. My stuff, on the other hand, was left in a heap on the carpet next to the bed. NOT COOL.

I would most definitely not recommend this location to friends or family.

Room tip: Rooms facing the highway are your best option, otherwise be prepared to hear the train all night long, every single night.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank la_rouquine2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleS4865, Manager at Basecamp Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear la_rouquine2003,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, and it's great to hear you enjoyed the apartment and found it to be clean and fully equipped with everything you needed for your stay.

We are located within walking distance to Canmore's amenities, and as Canmore was built around the historic train route this also means we are close to the train line. The amount of trains passing through each day does vary significantly however we do provide earplugs and find noise is kept to minimum if windows are closed. We also appreciate the feedback regarding the housekeeping, and this has been passed to our Housekeeping Manager for further follow up.

We do hope you will choose to give us another chance next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent two nights here as a family of five and would have been happy to stay longer! Very clean and modern with all the basics you need. Beds were comfortable and the free coffee was a nice touch! Staff were very quick to respond (by email) after I hadn’t received our check in details. Only small negatives are that if you’re wanting somewhere to relax in the evening, the living area only had one small sofa and one chair so you can’t all sit down together. We didn’t get to use the hot tub - it’s shared by a lot of flats so there was always someone else in there. The sound proofing between the flats is also not brilliant as we discovered after having quite a noisy family next to us! But overall nothing that would put me off staying again :)

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 332naomim16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleS4865, Manager at Basecamp Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 332naomis,

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that you found our newly constructed property to be clean, modern and comfortable! Our staff are always available in person, by phone, by text or by email, and it's great to hear you found us to be responsive. We appreciate the feedback regarding the living area, and we do have apartments of varying sizes for our guests who prefer larger living spaces. It's wonderful to hear you would choose to stay with us again and we would love to have the chance to welcome you back next time. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews