We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Canmore-first time in the Canadian Rockies”
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Creek Lodge
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel/condo because of the reviews on tripadvisor and we enjoyed our stay overall.

Pros:
Room is spacious
Robes are fluffy
Kitchen area with fridge if you want to have/make breakfast in room
Aveda toiletries
Nice view of 3 sisters mountain range on the deck
Strong wifi in the rooms
Very deep soaking tub
Good size hot tub (although men and women have to enter separately through the locker room

Cons:
The only con, and this has nothing to do with the actual hotel is that if you are visiting the Rockies for the first time and are planning to see the major sites, Canmore is actually a bit away from everything. Canmore is also not in the national park so you have to pay for admission per day per person you enter the park ($10)

Driving distances:
Banff 15 mins
Lake Louis 45mins
Columbia ice fields 2 hours 20 minutes (without stopping)

Canmore is great if you've been to the area before and are just looking to relax, hike, bike but if you are planning to see the major sights, staying in banff or lake Louise is probably more convenient.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jasmyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for visiting Canmore and choosing our property! We appreciate all of your descriptive comments you have written and we hope that when you do come back for a second time you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Silver Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 540 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

I would have rated this hotel as excellent had they not forgotten to clean our room the last night of our stay. Other than that everything else was good. I was pleased they took the 10% discount I found after I had made the reservation. The room was very spacious and great for our dog. I highly recommend the Bodhi Tree Spa inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sipari_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

We love our animals and understand that our guests like to travel with them...so thank you for staying in one of our pet friendly suites. We do apologize that your room was missed for your stay over service and thank you for letting us know. We hope to see you and your dog again when you visit Canmore!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We go to Canmore every May long weekend for our anniversary and this the the 4th year in a row we have stayed here. It's not as updated as the newer accommodations but the price is more reasonable.

A big bonus for us is that they allow dogs in some of their units (we were allowed to keep ours outside which is important since she is a big husky. We had her tied to her kennel so she couldn't wander around).

However, we have been disappointed the last couple of times we have stayed here with the housekeeping and and hot tubs. There seems to always been a hot tub that isn't working. They also ran out of towels and robes so our room was not replenished - how is that possible?!

They have underground parking which is nice but it's hard to find room for trucks. Their stalls are in between pillars and the space is tight it pull out. If you have a taller vehicle, it does not fit in the underground parking.

Will we return? Absolutely! We will just bring our own towels next time.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Deanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Happy Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate it year after year with us!! We apologize for not having enough robes and towels to replenish your suite, this is not a common issue at our property. Unfortunately the hot tubs do need to be maintained as they do malfunction, so we apologize if that did inconvenience your special weekend!! We are working on trying to fix this issue. Thank you and we hope to see you next May Long Weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in four different hotels during our stay in the Canadian Rockies and this was by far our favorite place. The staff was very friendly and the lodge was well maintained inside and out. There was also ample underground parking. The room was large, clean and included a small kitchen area with a frig. We liked the location. It was close to the highway so it offered easy access to Banff and was also a short drive to Canmore’s eclectic city center with great restaurants and interesting stores. As was typical for the area, they did not have air conditioning, but the windows were big and the fan in the room kept us moderately comfortable. If you don’t mind driving into Banff or you are just visiting Canmore, this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsehj4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for staying at Silver Creek during your vacation. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your suite and our staff!! Canmore is very eclectic and we do have great restaurants, so thank you for mentioning that in your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were in Canmore for 2 nights for a wedding and booked at this hotel because that is where the rest of the wedding party was staying. My Husband and I along with our 2 kids booked a one bedroom suite. What I liked most about this place was the easy underground parking and the fact it was QUIET! None of the usual hotel sounds such as slamming doors and people in the hallways. Because it was built originally as "condos" the rooms are well soundproofed.
Staff was pleasant and helpful. Had I known however, that the one bedroom suite were on the smaller side for 4 people we would have booked a 2 bedroom but of course that is not the fault of the hotel. We did not get the opportunity to eat at the restaurants or check out the hot tubs.

Room Tip: Floors 3 and 4 are best for views
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalypso18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Arrived 2am after a late flight into Calgary and stayed for a night. After reception hour check-in was hassle free as the security staff was at the lodge when we arrived. We stayed on the second floor facing the 3 sisters mountain side. The one bedroom suite impressed upon us once we got in. Spacious, zen and modernly furnished with full kitchen, laundry amenities, rain shower deep soaker tub and oversized balcony. We woke up amazed by the extraordinary views right from our bed. Views from the balcony is stupendous as well. This lodge has a very zen and spa feel..Overall a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floor facing the "3 sisters mountain" side
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the Silver Creek Lodge for 5 days at the beginning of June to celebrate his 40th birthday. When we opened the door to our one bedroom suite on the 4th floor, we were blown away by how nice the room was. Very spacious, beautiful modern decor and a view of the mountains to die for!!

The room had everything we needed and more. We chose to clean it ourselves daily so I can't comment on their service in this regard.

My fiancé enjoyed a one hour massage in their on-site spa. We used the outdoor hot tubs on several occasions and found them to be enjoyable.

After staying at the Silver Creek, we will NEVER get a room in Banff again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SamanthaChod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.5 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.4 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
5.9 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
1.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Address: 1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Canmore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $147 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Canmore
Silver Creek Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing