We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Creek Lodge
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Comox, Canada
2 reviews
“great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We just recently spent 2 weeks at Silver Creek Lodge and had a great time. We found the the staff very helpful and always very friendly. We had a great view of the mountains and the valley.We definetly would stay at Silver Creek lodge next time we are in Canmore.

Room Tip: If travelling with an eldery person be sure to ask for a suite with walk-in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvester011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you sylvester011 for staying with us on your 2 week vacation in Canmore!! I will be sure to let our staff know you appreciated them and we hope on your next vacation that you stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    132
    53
    23
    11
See reviews for
142
217
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec (ville), Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

A nice place to stay. There's an inside parking. Had no problem to get in even with my Jeep Wrangler. The room and bathroon were nice. The water coming from the ceiling is a cool concept but a little noisy at 1am when a neighbor decides to take a bath. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelB_QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you MelB_QC for staying at Silver Creek and sharing your comments!! We would be happy to have you back so we hope it's soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The location of this place is great. We really enjoyed having the convenience of a full kitchen, and ate breakfast and dinner on our balcony each day. There is a nice sitting area and pretty good views. It's a short drive to the park, but Canmore is MUCH less crowded.

As many other reviewers have stated - things LOOK really nice inside the rooms. But function is another story. The bathroom sink, while modern looking, is endlessly frustrating. Even turning the water on slightly, it hits the bottom of the sink, and runs up and out the front of the sink, and comes splashing out onto your feet, EVERY time. (or your shirt and pants if you are standing close) The "waterfall" in the tub is a joke, unless you like the feeling of getting punched in the head. Bring your flip flops - you won't want to walk barefoot on those rocky floors.
*But really, these were just minor annoyances to us, since we really didn't spend a whole lot of time indoors.

It's great value for the price, especially for this area, and would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust_417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Sarah417, thank you for staying with us!! Eating outside in the summer on your balcony is glorious as you pointed out so thank you for that. The waterfall effect isn't for everyone but it is a one of the different amenities we offer in our suites. We feel it is a great value for the price as you do and we are pleased to hear that you would return so thank you and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Newer facility and about 15 minute walk to downtown Canmore.
The only drawback was there was no temperature control in our room and the room was very hot.
The hallways were nice and cool but the room had no air conditioning (Why?). Consequently we had to open the window and that is when we found out the train tracks were nearby. We found a fan in the closet the next morning. Too little too late.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcarter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
dcarter40, thank you for staying at Silver Creek!! Unfortunately the way the adjoining suites were structured, the thermostats are in the one bedroom side and not both sides so it is understandable that it can get hot on the hotel suite side. Sorry to hear that you did not find your fan until the next day in the closet......if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at judy@waymarker.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here after our go to hotel in Canmore was booked up for the weekend. First impressions - the room is really nice, and well equipped with a beautiful bathroom and awesome views of the mountains. We were on the 2nd floor. One thing that turned us off - we were given an adjoining room (I have no idea why), but luckily, there was no one in the suite next door. We were worried about noise (as some previous reviewers have pointed out), but had no issues there. We did have some issues with neighbours leaving their doors open - and you can hear EVERYTHING. But, luckily, the doors were closed at night. Right when we walked in, we couldn't get any of the bathroom lights to work, and had to periodically hit the reset button throughout our stay since, for whatever reason, they would randomly stop working. A couple of the plugs in the kitchen also didn't work, and we couldn't figure out what half the switches were even for around the room. We initially liked the bedroom, but our bed was LOUD. Every time we moved, it creaked like something was wrong with it. The comfort was ok, but we are used to king sized beds in Canmore, so we were a bit disappointed. We are also used to a TV in the bedroom, and we were surprised that this room didn't have one. The living room couch is also like the bed - it looks nice, but the cushions are so squishy that it is really not that comfortable. There was hair between the cushions of the chairs, so we didn't really sit there. The front desk staff is nice, but the cleaning staff are really not. One night, we waited for the elevator, and the cleaning staff got on one floor above us, and came down to the basement, but didn't get off. The elevator was full with a laundry bin, and when the door opened, they both just STARED at us, and then proceeded to talk to each other in another language. My husband asked if they were going up and...nothing... no response. Why they decided to take the empty elevator and ride it down, and then stop us from getting on is beyond me. Finally - the hotel is on a very busy street, making it really difficult to enter and exit the parkade. A lot of people drive in the middle of the road, fast, so it's really hard to navigate to the hotel. And, google maps places it in the wrong place, so we couldn't find it, and had to call. One last thing - the internet SUCKS, especially at night. It is ridiculously slow, like dial up speed. We have never had internet this bad before, even on a recent trip overseas to a remote resort in Italy. We enjoyed our stay, but it didn't really live up to our expectations, so we probably won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiembone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
KatieMB-83, thank you for staying at Silver Creek. Thank you for pointing out the issues you had during your stay with us, I will be sure to pass this along to our maintenance team to look at right away!! (They are great at getting problems fixed promptly when reported to the front desk and then to them). I will be sure to let them know about the bed as well and being in the mountains it can be spotty for the wireless internet so I understand why it would be frustrating...I would like a chance to speak with you and if you are interested please do not hesitate to contact me at judy@waymarker.ca
Thank you again for your comments as we appreciate all comments that help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We lived in Silver creek twice during a recent vacation to Rocky mountain. The first time is a two nights stay. We got a one-bedroom on the second floor, facing mountain which is very nice. The room is equipped well and clean. It even has a receiver in living room near gas fireplace and speaker in every rooms, even bathroom. Except the washer lacks a knob for water amount selection (which I have leave it 'large' though I only had small amount of clothes for wash), and the dryer 'on' knob is loose and not working. And the front desk is very friendly as well.
However, our second stay which is a one night is horrible. First the reception of the front desk is not that nice (though he got better later). When we opened the sofa bed at late night we found it was not cleaned from last customer stay, the sheet was dirty! Since it was very late and we are all exhausted we didn't call front desk for fixing. Also for a same booking of one-bedroom, the time the room is much less nice as the first time. It is a different layout, and there is no TV in the bedroom.
About the service, this lodge has an underground parking which is pretty good, however, the room key card for entering the garage didn't work until I went back to front desk for re-scanning. It happened both times for our stay. And when you use it, you have to scan back and forth for several times to open the garage door.
Overall, I feel this lodge doesn't have a standard level of each unit, it all depends on your luck during your stay. Also be prepared, the sound proof is no good, I have to use ear plug at sleep. if you are looking for top service and quality accommodation in Canmore and willing to pay a bit more, skip this lodge.

Room Tip: Asking for higher floor, mountain view. The other side is facing highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summerday Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear summerday Q,

Thank you for staying twice and we are sorry to hear that your second stay was not as satisfying as your first. Thank you for pointing out some maintenance issues which I will direct to our maintenance department.....we are training new staff on the desk and in housekeeping so thank you for helping us make our new team better!! We have been having some complications with the garage door and have been trying to make it work all the time so thank you for that comment as well...sorry to hear that you would not join us again but if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.....judy@waymarker.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Booked into this hotel in July at the end of a holiday in Canada. Great choice - brilliant price. Our accommodation consisted of a kitchen/lounge bedroom and bathroom and balcony. The apartment was tasteful and modern, well thought out. All amenities you would need, flat screen tv, wifi, etc. Well equipped kitchen and separate laundry room, beautiful bathroom and lovely living room and bedroom. Enjoyed the luxury of hot tubs and steam room. A fantastic spa is also situated in the hotel. I had a pedicure while there - was first class. Balcony was added bonus. Very relaxing. Really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again! Good location - Canmore quieter than Banff, but not far from Banff either if you want to spend time there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you Coira thank you for visiting Canmore and enjoying our property.....we are glad to hear that you would come back and we hope it's soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.5 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
1.4 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
5.9 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
0.8 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Property: Silver Creek Lodge
Address: 1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#9 Family Hotel in Canmore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Canmore
Silver Creek Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing