We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a closer look!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silver Creek Lodge
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take a closer look!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband & I were returning home from a convention on Vancouver Island & after a long day in the car found ourselves in Canmore needing a room. I checked the Net and Silver Creek Lodge came up so we went there & were told they had one room left. We took a quick look & decided it would be suitable. We went back to the room to settle in & found crumbs all over the floor by the kitchenette area. A closer look revealed heavy dust "everywhere". We asked Lisa at the front desk to have housekeeping come up to clean. No housekeeper was available so Lisa did it herself. No towels were available at the pool & no extras were available in the room. An inquiry at the front desk revealed that no extras were available from anywhere on the premises If I had read the reviews on this site I would not have stayed there. I will check this site in future. All of the negatives from other reviewers could have been written up in his review, however that would be too repetitive. The bed was comfortable & the hot pool was enjoyable. I will not return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskgizzmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    136
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
144
221
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The decor is new and modern which is great, however the room was not very clean and had not been vacciumed in awhile. The sink in the bathroom is pretty but doent leave much counter space and be careful if you use the tub faucets. The water comes from the ceiling and will scare the bejeesus out of you. The coffee provided is really terrible but the aveda bath products are a bonus. The spa was nice and reasonaby priced. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertachickCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerscl, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments!! We appreciate you taking the time. We are glad that you enjoyed our guest service and the spa. Yes our tub faucet is a little different but it is spa/zen inspired. It does throw off people when they are not expecting the water to come down from the ceiling. We would love to see you come back or stay at one of our other properties. If you would like to discuss this please feel free to contact me at your convenience. Thank you again for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was a very strange hotel! On the one hand it is a beautiful hotel that is nicely decorated and comes with a great view of the mountains. Even though it wasn't far from the Trans Canada highway and the railroad tracks we were never bothered by the noise. On the other hand, the service was strange. We arrived shortly after 8 pm and the front desk had closed until morning. There was 2 guys also waiting to check in and we had to call a number and wait 10 or 15 minutes for a security guard to come and check us all in. The same thing happened when we checked out. We left before 8 a.m. and again there was no one working at the front desk so we weren't able to check our bill before we left and had to phone back to make sure what was going through our credit card they had on file was what we expected. Their housekeeping was also not up to par. There was 2 of us staying in the room and after using the same towels for 2 days I left the wet towels and facecloth on the floor expecting that housekeeping would take that as a signal to pick them up and leave us fresh towels. Housekeeping just left the wet towels on the floor and only left 1 clean towel so I had to pick up one of the wet towels off the floor and hang it to dry overnight so I could use it again in the morning. They also never left us any coffee after the first morning but we weren't sure if we were supposed to supply the coffee ourselves after we used theirs since we did have a small kitchenette in the room. They never informed us if that was the case so we ended up running to McDonald's for coffee 2 mornings in a row. We also found the temperature very hot in the room and we couldn't seem to get it cooled off. We were there for 3 nights and we left the window wide open all 3 nights and the room never cooled off and it was pretty cool out overnight. We had to run the fan provided to be able to sleep. Although we left the hotel not sure if we would recommend it to our friends or stay there again, the room and hot tubs were very clean and the hotel was beautiful. Overall.... it was a very strange hotel experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerscl, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. we are sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay with us. We would love for you to come back and experience all that we have to offer!!!
Please contact me directly so we can discuss these further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Decided to get out of the city for the long weekend and opted for the Silver Creek Lodge. First impressions were positive. The lobby is welcoming and nicely decorated. The water feature on the left wall is beautiful and really helps to create the spa-like atmosphere. The front desk agent was polite and attentive. We were not able to check-in right away because our room was not yet ready, but we were early, so no fault of the hotel.

When we returned later that evening to check-in it was the same young lady who recognized us from earlier in the day and the process was efficient and friendly.

We arrived to our room around 8pm and it was outwardly nice. Kitchen section was nicely decorated and the living space and guestroom looked cozy.

After getting more settled we started to find things which rang alarm bells for me.

1) dishwasher was not emptied. The dishes themselves were clean, but I don't go on holiday to put away the dishes. Housekeeping should have done that.

2) lack of towels - for two people in the room there was only one bath towel and a couple hand towels. When we went to front desk, there was no one there and the message said their hours finished at 8pm. Luxury ??? Service ending at 8pm???

3) The bath has a feature that sees it fill from the ceiling - a really neat detail that you see in the top luxury hotels, however this time it was full of water spots/stains that shows the room attendants have not been cleaning it for a while

4) floor towel was essentially a rag. The edges were all frayed and this towel should have been destined for dusting duty and not in a guestroom

5) The previous guest must have gone shopping because they left the "large" sticker like you would find on a new shirt, stuck on the door for us to discover. This was probably the worst thing because it was clearly at eye level and should not have been missed by the cleaner. If they missed that, what else was not cleaned properly!!!!

I could go on, but I think you get the point. Will not stay here again, no matter the value.

Room Tip: high floor away from the hot tubs (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awright1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerscl, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay and that you have chosen not to come back. We would really like to make up for this so if you could contact me at your convenience I would love to discuss this further. I look forward to hearing from you. judy@waymarker.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Enough cant be said about this amazing place. Been here 4 times now and going back twice before the year end. silvercreek is comfy, cozy, modern and just all around perfect. the staff are by far the best i have ever encountered. Micheal, Kaitlin and Lisa are beyond fabulous and are always there to help you or just offer a smile and a hello. The views are breathtaking and refreshing. I have stayed in both 1 and 2 bedroom suites and both are very well appointed, clean, spacious and functional. the hot tubs are great and clean. havent tried the spa because the prices are way more then anywhere else. there is a firepit outside of the restaurant in which you can roast marshmellows over while having a drink and some great japanese dishes. if your looking for a good breakfast place go to craigs but if your looking for a GREAT breakfast place go to Chez Francois. Food in canmore is amazing almost everywhere but the best is Murrietas and The woods both have awesome food great service and stunning views. if you are contimplating staying here, dont think anymore just book it. you will not be dissapointed. thanks again silvercreek for an amazing long weekend. see you soon

Room Tip: no tip needed the rooms are all amzing and the beds are very very comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerscl, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We would like to thank you for your fabulous and encouraging review!!!! It is so importnat to us that our guests have a wonderful, relaxing stay at SIlver Creek!!! We look forward to seeing you again!!! Thanks again and I hope you have a wonderful day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Have just returned from this lovely place in Canmore, the Silver Creek Lodge was exactly as the photos appear on the website, we stayed in a two bedroom suite on the second floor at the front of the hotel and had no problems with the noise from the Highway, which was very near to us, the room was kept clean and had all the things that we required, there was a starter pack in the room of coffee, tea, milk,sugar, tea towels and a small washing up liquid were part of the kit, which is always a welcome site after a long journey, there was underground parking which was very useful.
Canmore itself has an array of shops, also a large Safeway supermarket, all within walking distance from the Hotel. Numerous eating places are also nearby from fast food outlets, to some very nice restaurants.Petrol Station is also situated near to the Hotel, All the staff seemed very willing to help with advice and directions. There was a health spa on site although I found this a little over priced as the same treatments in other hotels I have stayed in were not as high.
The hot tubs were very good a swipe of the room key and the fitness room and hot tubs were available, the hotel provided fluffy bathrobes and encourages you to use these and the towels from your room when using this facility, which is just as well as there were lockers but you had to take your own padlock down to be able to lock them. When we stayed there only one of the tubs were in operation as it was still a little early in the season, but it was such bliss to be warm and cosy outside while looking at the reflection of the snow covered mountains. The area had a screen surrounding it so although other people staying at the hotel could look down from the balconies, it still remained a private area. We found that 7.15pm seemed to be the quiet time for the tubs this was not a problem for us.
As for the surrounding areas what can be said they are all such a breathtaking sight, although a word of caution Banff and Jasper are expensive! Also if you stay out of the boudaries of any of the National Parks as we did, there is a charge to be paid ours was nearly $20 a day per car this does give you access for 24hrs to all the parks but was still a surprise which we could not seem to find in any of local info, be warned this is a small price to pay if you try to avoid paying there are park wardens operating and they will fine you $500 this we witnessed on several occasions in numerous car parks.
Lake Louise was still snow covered when we visited, but still retained charm and photo opportunities, Large Memory cards are recommended. The Banff Gondola was again expensive but gave you stunning views and a skywalk towards the top, the Glacier at the Columbia Icefield is a must, again expensive although you can buy a ticket for the two attractions, but check on the time span in which the two attrations have to be visited, it is a considerable drive from one to the other and to give them the time needed to appreciate the scenery of both if they need to be used on the same day it is no easy task, we thankfully chose to view these separately and saw Bears, Deer, Elk, Goats ,Chipmunks and ground squirrels whilst we were on our holiday! We also visited the Wolves at the Northern Lights Center near Golden British Columbia they were lovely.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor in a two bedroom suite outside noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mushroom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerscl, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with the Trip Advisor world!!! we appreciate all our guest's feedback and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Our room was gorgeous with modern interior including granite and stone inlay. The view of the mountains were beautiful to wake up to. Staff were very helpful whenever needed with great recommendations for local restaurants, etc. We will definitely be going back again for some R&R!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michlear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerscl, Director of Sales at Silver Creek Lodge, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
We would like to thank you very much for your kind review!!! We appreciate all of our guest's feedback!!! We hope to see you again in the future and are hoping your are enjoying your day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.5 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
5.9 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.8 mi away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Creek Lodge

Property: Silver Creek Lodge
Address: 1818 Mountain Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#9 Family Hotel in Canmore
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Creek Hotel Canmore
Silver Creek Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing