We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Major cleaning and upgrade.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rundle Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rundle Mountain Lodge
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Major cleaning and upgrade.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location but it needs some reno. It's great for budget trippers because we tried a few places in town and it's more than Banff would charge. WHY?

The bed sheets were dirty. I just wonder if they change them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    33
    37
    42
See reviews for
51
60
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Friendly staff, clean room, same as it was 30 years ago. Property needs some serious upgrades Too many years of just getting by. I would stay again as price was great. Restaurant (Craigs) 100 yds from hotel was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel unless there is no where else to stay. We stayed in an old room. It was dark, dirty and run down. The windows don't open and close very well, there was a tea bag lodged in the bathroom sink. We complained but they didn't do anything. They had to light the pilot for heat. There was not enough p,ug ins to run the old swag lamp and coffee pot at the same time. The mini fridge was rotten. Smelled like something dide in it. We had to clean it to use it. the pillows were flat and lumpy but nothing compared to the bed. That was the worse bed I ever slept in. Very hard! Actually I didn't sleep cause you could hear everything that was going on in the room next door! I mean everything. My husband and I had one towel to share! The carpet was dirty. Something, not sure what it was, stuck to my foot when I was going to the washroom! Spend the extra moneyfolks and stay somewhere else! We will never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you are on a budget and looking for somewhere to stay in the Canmore area, then the Rundle Mountain Lodge will meet that purpose.
If you are looking for any kind of comfort and can afford it, book elsewhere.
There is no AC in the rooms, and furnishings are all extremely old and dated.
Cigarette butts were found strewn outside our door on the second floor exterior hallway.
The only way that the heat was bearable in the room (and it wasn't that hot out!) was to open the windows and curtains, but then we had to deal with people walking by and looking into the room.
Like I said, if you need to stay somewhere on a budget, then go for it. Otherwise you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

the room was really hot, the lock on the door was broken, the wifi did not work, the window frame was broken in the bathroom - kleenex was stuffed in the frame. The shower knob was broken. Found it cheap on line - I guess I know why.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank dave h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I agree with what other reviewers have shared. The room is hot, no airflow, one fan helps, keeping door open helps. It did cool down by bedtime. Sat out on the walkway until it cooled off. In making the bed, noticed the mattress pad had stains. On registering, the clerk had a could care less attitude that was surprising for this little town. On asking for an ice bucket, got one that was cracked and asked for a bucket cover and she said you don't need one. Just poor cleanliness and lack of care all around. The lodge is located well, nice mountain views, and we reserved ahead of time so price was budget. But come-on -- no excuses for service and cleanliness. The hot tub is not filled to use, after a long hike we went over to use it and were sorely disappointed. I would not recommend this place to stay...and will not return.

Room Tip: Choose a different lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilesback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stopped by and stayed here because it advertised as pet-friendly. That was unfortunately the only positive. Nothing had been updated in this hotel in decades. From the website you would never know bc they've updated the outside of the office entrance and have pctures of that, but no pictures of ANY of the insides of their rooms!
The fridge/stove combo in our room was (without exaggerating) from the 60's and barely kept anything cold (see under photos). The air conditioning was broken and the fan they provided was a nice gesture... except that it was broken too! The room overall needed a complete rehaul and felt dirty; carpets, linens and all.

I stay in Canmore often, including peak season. The cost of this room was comparable to any of the newer hotels that i've stayed at during peak season. Base on the rooms and ammenites, this place should cost HALF of what the newer hotels are charging for their much cleaner, much newer rooms.

In a nutshell, this is my first and only visit to canmore where I felt the money for the hotel was a complete waste. Would not stay here or recommend. Spend the exact same amount of money at many of the newer or older-but-updated hotels on the same street.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missd2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.4 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.7 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#14 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rundle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rundle Mountain Lodge

Property: Rundle Mountain Lodge
Address: 1723 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rundle Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Rundle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rundle Mountain Hotel Canmore
Rundle Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing