We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurant experiences I can recall!”
Review of BLAKE

BLAKE
Ranked #29 of 150 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Bustling & Modern In The Mountains, Contemporary Fusion Eats, Full Bar, Fun Cocktails, Late Night Drinks
Restaurant details
Description: Bustling & Modern In The Mountains, Contemporary Fusion Eats, Full Bar, Fun Cocktails, Late Night Drinks
Reviewed March 25, 2019

We went to Blake on our last night in Canmore for dinner with a large group of 3 families. I had never noticed the restaurant despite driving by multiple times, but I'm so glad we tried it.
The restaurant does a bunch of small things right that made such a huge difference in the overall dining experience pleasant and enjoyable. The restaurant is large and has an open layout. They were able to accommodate our large group of 14, including 8 kids, without a problem. Every restaurant has some token activities for kids to be occupied but Blake did this better than anyone with more adult-style but still kid-friendly coloring designs and colored pencils instead of junky crayons. Our kids aging from 4-12 loved this! The Kids Bento Box was perfect for a meal too, with multiple options and topped off with a small bag of gummy treats that motivated them to eat all their food. Ingenious!
With the kids occupied, it made it a lot easier for the adults to enjoy the experience, and Blake's menu did not disappoint. My wife loved the Crack Fries, and we all liked the dumplings too. I'm usually just "meh" towards tuna tartare, but the Tuna Poke was off the charts awesome! For main course, I throughly enjoyed sharing the Signature Fried Chicken, Korean BBQ Pork Ribs, but the Terimayo Bag was what really hit the spot with large and perfectly cooked pork belly slices in a steam bun with perfectly complementary flavored fillings. To top it off, the coconut ice cream was on point too. I didn't even mention how pleasant and attentive our server was the whole evening.
All in all, I'm not a foodie or a restaurant critic, but I was so happy with our experience and would highly recommend this hidden jewel in Canmore to anyone who ventures to Banff or Canmore. I can't wait to come back.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sibymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

The food here is great and our kids loved it too! They provide complimentary popcorn and crayons which was a hit with our kids. The food was prepared quickly and was delicious. The restaurant design is pretty neat with the bay doors and warehouse type feel. The wood burning fire pit on the patio is great!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Albertantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant was adjacent to where we were staying so we thought we would give it a try. We were seated quickly by friendly staff. Our waitress was fantastic, recommending appetizers and offering suggestions for entrees. We started off with the Pork Belly Poutine and the Chicken & Vegetable Dumplings. Both were fresh and mouth watering. Entrees ordered were the Maple Cider Yam Salad and the Green Curry Noodle Bowl. Both had generous portions and were fresh, tasty. We were not rushed to order and wait staff was content to let us sit and catch up rather than expecting us to leave after the meal was complete.
Would highly recommend this restaurant for not only the food but the atmosphere as well!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 71Kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

We came here for a late night snack. Our server was fantastic. The complimentary popcorn was very different with the "forager's spices". We did not care very much for the popcorn, but it was nice it was free. We shared the 12 pieces of pork, beef, and chicken dumplings, signature fried chicken (so good), rainbow carrots, and the crispy beets. Very cool place. Would like to come here for dinner and check out the full menu.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveltheworld461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

Had a great meal here with the kids. We had been stuck in a 3.5 hour traffic jam so missed the Calgary flames game we were on our way to see. These guys put the game on the TV and gave us a table with a great view of the TV.
Staff were friendly and the food was fantastic.
Will eat here again.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BLAKE also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to BLAKE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing