We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blackstone Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blackstone Rocks”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Booked a 3-bed suite at Blackstone after reading the rave reviews on Trip Advisor.

The rooms themselves are excellent - spacious, modern, clean and well appointed, its a home away from home which was a god sent with two small children. The pool is nice and has two hot tubs. Don't expect hotel levels of service, it's run more like an apartment complex than a hotel, they did give us new towels and emptied the garbage on a daily basis though. There is a little games room which had a Wii and Table Football which my son enjoyed.

The hotel is twenty minutes drive from Banff and about one hour from Calgary, its also very close to Hwy 1 which meant there was a lot of road noise if you opened the window, the views from the apartment were stunning though.

Canmore itself is a great town, you can walk from the apartment to the various supermarkets, bars and restaurants.

I would definately go back to Blackstone and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    225
    53
    18
    16
See reviews for
374
294
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johnsona0
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My wife and I went for the weekend to Banff and stayed at the Blackstone Lodge, we picked it after reading all the reviews. It was a very nice place, took our pet with us and our experience staying here with our dog was great.

Stayed in the hotel room which was a good size with two queens. Had a fridge and coffee maker. This is a condo complex so no restaurants on site. It is very nicely situated and we slept well.

Blackstone is recommended for anyone looked for a condo style hotel with limited amenities but close to the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsona0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

This is the PERFECT hotel! Perfect location, great views. BEST hotel I've ever stayed at for families - 4 massive BBQs on the patio with fully stocked kitchen and utensils (for the units without kitchenettes), AMAZING saltwater pool and hot tubs, kids nights with movies, sundae contests and hot dogs (extra fees), family events like walking tours, hikes etc, yoga/morning power walks for grownups, Games room with a Wii and fooseball, Aveda body products, fridges in each room, GREAT bedding, NICE decor, free internet..I could go on, but I'm gushing. ;)

Only (minor) beef is there is no daily full housekeeping. I *like* that there is nobody shlepping through my room every day and I can use towels 2 days in a row, but it would have been nice to have a vacuum run over the room. They did stop by and ask if we needed fresh towels or toiletries, so it worked fine.

AMAZING hotel - we are looking at going back in a few months for a wedding and we know where we'll stay!

It was cheaper than a hotel room back home and with our travel Ab card, we got an additional 20%. We will TOTALLY be back

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Make sure to use the BBQ area by the pool , enjoy the Massage Service and the Great Outdoor Trails around the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Nice place, but understaffed and not very attentive service. They don't make the beds or clean the rooms at all (which is only vaguely suggested on the website) unless you pay extra, but the maid will still take the tip! This was supposed to be mentioned by the person who checked us in (after we waited 10 minutes for her to take a reservation by phone) and of course she did not mention anything. Given all the great places out there to stay in the Rockies, I would not come back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkcannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We chose Blackstone as it is top-rated, and the resort has a "Pets Can Stay" policy which it highlights on its home page. They were true to their word, and our dog Cindy was made to feel really welcome as a guest and not an intrusion.

Check in and check out was efficient and very friendly. Staff always had time to chat. Recommended great walks and pizza places.

There is a lot of construction going on in the area of the hotel. The area itself is very built up, and all in nouveau-chalet style. We had no mountain view, but having said that, we were very impressed with the view we did have. Our unit overlooked the pool area which is amazingly beautiful. So beautiful and we had a separate balcony off the master bedroom.

Keep in mind that this is condo style accomodation. There is no mini-bar, and no restaurant onsite, so make sure to stop somewhere for groceries. There are vending machines on the parking floor. We ended up stuck on a Sunday night visiting with family and ended up going for fast food at midnight because we forgot to go grocery shopping. The shopping district with a Safeway is just a 5 minute drive away.

The kitchen is fully equipped with every necessity. Bed and linens are basic but comfy. The couch folds out for extra sleeping space. As another poster mentioned, we also had problems with the toilets. It must be a problem throughout the resort. We called for someone with a plunger twice to our unit, and we had to wait the second time as the employee was busy plunging somewhere else! Unfortunately if this is going to be an ongoing issue, all the units should be equipped with plungers. It's the only bad note to a very good stay, and the only reason I give the rooms a 4 instead of a 5.

Units are for sale, but absolutely no pressure, even suggestion, just signs up and about. If you ask, someone will talk to you about it.

A great stay overall. Beautiful property. Everything you will need. Bring your dog!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montmagny, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

First time in this area. We were very pleased with the full equipped 2 bedroom condo (more than we expected). Good thing our condo was not just over the pool / BBQ area as it gets noisy at night. Our condo was facing the Trans Canada Highway, we slept with the patio door open and did not get disturbed at night. We certainly recommand Blackstone Mountain Lodge and will come back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE

Property: Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge By CLIQUE Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing