We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They don't make the beds and service is not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They don't make the beds and service is not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

Nice place, but understaffed and not very attentive service. They don't make the beds or clean the rooms at all (which is only vaguely suggested on the website) unless you pay extra, but the maid will still take the tip! This was supposed to be mentioned by the person who checked us in (after we waited 10 minutes for her to take a reservation by phone) and of course she did not mention anything. Given all the great places out there to stay in the Rockies, I would not come back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkcannuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    224
    52
    17
    16
See reviews for
366
290
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We chose Blackstone as it is top-rated, and the resort has a "Pets Can Stay" policy which it highlights on its home page. They were true to their word, and our dog Cindy was made to feel really welcome as a guest and not an intrusion.

Check in and check out was efficient and very friendly. Staff always had time to chat. Recommended great walks and pizza places.

There is a lot of construction going on in the area of the hotel. The area itself is very built up, and all in nouveau-chalet style. We had no mountain view, but having said that, we were very impressed with the view we did have. Our unit overlooked the pool area which is amazingly beautiful. So beautiful and we had a separate balcony off the master bedroom.

Keep in mind that this is condo style accomodation. There is no mini-bar, and no restaurant onsite, so make sure to stop somewhere for groceries. There are vending machines on the parking floor. We ended up stuck on a Sunday night visiting with family and ended up going for fast food at midnight because we forgot to go grocery shopping. The shopping district with a Safeway is just a 5 minute drive away.

The kitchen is fully equipped with every necessity. Bed and linens are basic but comfy. The couch folds out for extra sleeping space. As another poster mentioned, we also had problems with the toilets. It must be a problem throughout the resort. We called for someone with a plunger twice to our unit, and we had to wait the second time as the employee was busy plunging somewhere else! Unfortunately if this is going to be an ongoing issue, all the units should be equipped with plungers. It's the only bad note to a very good stay, and the only reason I give the rooms a 4 instead of a 5.

Units are for sale, but absolutely no pressure, even suggestion, just signs up and about. If you ask, someone will talk to you about it.

A great stay overall. Beautiful property. Everything you will need. Bring your dog!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montmagny, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

First time in this area. We were very pleased with the full equipped 2 bedroom condo (more than we expected). Good thing our condo was not just over the pool / BBQ area as it gets noisy at night. Our condo was facing the Trans Canada Highway, we slept with the patio door open and did not get disturbed at night. We certainly recommand Blackstone Mountain Lodge and will come back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Washington State
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We had a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen - very large and comfortable for the 4 of us. Hotel was very quiet, we never heard any other guests from our room - a defiinite plus. Good spot for sleeping in and eating breakfast there too. This was the nicest place on our 2-week trip, but - one of the toilets was clogged when we arrived and it took 36-40 hours after we reported it before it was fixed. That was a downer - also they'd come and work on it while we were out, but there was no communication about their progress - we had to call the desk to find out if we could flush or not!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayorchim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

While looking for a romantic weekend alone, my girlfriend and I headed up to Canmore to take in the fresh mountain air. Let me tell you we were both more than pleased with what we found at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. The room was spacious, elegantly modern, and had everything you could imagine for a weekend away. Our room was equipped with a washer/dryer, stove, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, granite countertops, TV in the main room above the fireplace (yes thats right I said fireplace) and TV in the bedroom. Just a little note we found out on our second night... They have movie rentals for free downstairs by the front desk and quite a decent selection if your just looking for a little entertainment. The hot tubs and pool are amazing and make the ending of the day perfect. There are BBQ''s on site that you can use which they provide you with all the proper equipment to get the job done right. The whole stay was unbelievable and breathtaking from the moment you arrive. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodtimefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

This resort certainly deserves all the good reviews that I had read prior to booking. From check-in to check-out could not fault it. The young fellow checked in us quite early which was great as it was quite a cool day. The 2 bedroom condo was fully equipped, nothing to want for. The furnishings were excellent and the outlook very pleasant. Although we did not use the pool and spa, they were in very good condition, amenities around the pool area were good. The beds were very comfortable and the condo was very clean.
Recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh,scotland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

Travelling with friends from Regina to BC and this was a excellant stop.

After a long 600 mile drive and wanting an apartment with 2 beds and 2 bath rather than 2 hotel rooms, Blackstone was an excellant choice.

The set out of the apartment was strange as expected 2 en suite bathromms but the was one bathroom for the 2 bedrooms with the other at the entrance!

Full kitchen was what we wanted and what we got as after long drive we did not want to go out to restaurant . . . theonly thing was that the dishwasher had not been emptied and some of the pots were still dirty.

Not what we expected from a hotel of this standard . . they made up for this the next morning when we mentioned this by a refund of part of the cost of the room.

When travelling with friends, much better to share a 2 bed condo rather than 2 small hotel rooms.

Has outside BBQ hot tubs etc which unfortuneatly we did noy have time for

Recommended

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#11 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE

Property: Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge By CLIQUE Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing