We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel was average for the price. The suite wasn't as grande as pictured on there website and the shower was awful. The staff was friendly and helpful, however, I won't stay here again next time i'm in canmore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Rob W, I can see that this is your first post on tripadvisor and thank you for commenting that our staff were friendly and Helpful. With regards to your suite not looking like the picture on the website, we have many different suites available, many with premium mountain views or larger living spaces, and various configurations. All of the pictures that we publish are taken from our property. With regards to the shower, please give me a phone call so that I can investigate this further. It saddens me that you will not be staying with us again, but if you do reconsider please contact me directly so that I can arrange your stay personally. Thank you, Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 951 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed three nights for New Years Eve and we had a fantastic time in this lodge. Spacious room, well equipped kitchen, washer and dryer in the room; staff was very helpful and friendly even in the busiest season (the lodge was full).

Only minor issue, our room was done at 4:30pm the first day and 6pm the second day (we turned this one down as we were having dinner). A bit off time to do housekeeping, but I understand, as I said, the lodge was full.

Will definitely come back when we need to stay in the mountains.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tri_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Tri_YYC, Happy New Year and thank you for staying with us during this very festive time. I am Glad to see that you "had a fantastic time" in our lodge. I thank you for your understanding and empathy into the issue of Housekeeping running slightly behind when the resort is Full, and would like to say it is usually not like us during normal times. It is refreshing when guests are as considerate as you have been in this situation. We really do value your business and hope that you return soon to our lodge so that you can visit Canmore once again. On your next visit please contact me directly so that I can arrange your room for you as a preferred Guest. Thank you, Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel has a great, quiet location, very close to downtown, but away from all the busy spots. Beautiful mountain views. We were facing away from the highway and I am sure that helps with any noise. The heated garage is a nice bonus. Everything was clean and well organized in the rooms. I have to say that the housekeeping staff was excellent, always got to the room very quickly if we ever needed anything. Big props to them for all the positive attitude, even though they were working right through the Christmas days.
We had a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen, which saves you some money if you are willing to do some cooking. As someone pointed out already, the shower water pressure is quite low, so you cannot rush that process. But if you are on a vacation, you should not be rushing anyway. A great place in Canmore and we will be back.

Room Tip: Face away from the highway if you can, you will also have a fabulous view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Lucie V. The housekeeping staff are elated that you singled them out in a review to let everyone know that their hard work does not go unnoticed. With Christmas an extremely busy time in Canmore, I can tell that you are a very intelligent and insightful person by your understanding that comments like these are very well received at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge, especially during this time period. Please let us know when you will be returning as you would qualify for a preferred guest rate, which could include an upgrade to a Premium Mountain View if available. Thank you again, and Best of the Season to you. Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I love the Blackstone!

Over the years I've stayed here numerous times (over 4 times), and always have had a great experience.

The rooms are always clean (I'm surprised how well they clean the larger suites, with the total area I'm sure it's quite the task), the staff is great, and it's just an overall pleasant experience.

The suite's are a steal of a deal especially considering the price difference from a standard room to a suite. Last weekend I booked a 3 bedroom suite for 5 people and it was great. Super cozy and plenty of room to relax, even enough room to entertain 5-10 people comfortably. Second last time stayed in a 2 bed room suite which was absolutely massive!

It's always nice when a staff member recognizes you after a year since your last visit.

Thanks for taking care of us!

And PS. I'm not sure if this is listed, but if it helps anyone the clearance on the parkade is 6'5. Two hot tubs, and a pool!

Room Tip: Spend a couple extra bucks and get a suite... It's worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Stephen W, Thank you for your Patronage at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge, as it is very much appreciated. As you are a preferred returning customer your are able to take advantage of a Great rate every time you stay. We really do value Guests such as yourself who take the time to list the great things that we have to offer in the lodge, especially the large rooms and Great outdoor pool and hot tubs. Hope to see you again soon, and thank you very much for the review. Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Blackstone Mountain Lodge is awesome. From the time I checked in, to my check out, all the staff were friendly, courteous, professional, and efficient. They truly understand what guest satisfaction is all about.

The room is spacious, well appointed, and clean upon my arrival, and during my stay. What are important about any hotel accommodation are the cleanliness of the accommodation, and the quality/comfort of the bed. If there is something defective in the room, engineering resolves the issue immediately. Blackstone is outstanding. This is a clear reflection of the new hotel management company for Blackstone that became effective on 1 April 2013. Congratulations to all the Blackstone personnel for an excellent job.

Blackstone is more like an apartment hotel with a full kitchen, at least my room was. It is considered a one bedroom suite with all the amenities of an apartment, from a fully equipped kitchen, to a washer and dryer. This is a benefit for those who prefer dining in. There is not an onsite dining room. But downtown Canmore is so close, and within walking distance, who really cares. There are so many eateries in Canmore. But on the other hand, it’s so wonderful to just eat in and save lots of money. My only complaint about this property is the water pressure leaves something to be desired. Plan on an extra ten (10) minutes in the shower. It takes so long to rinse one’s hair and body. Blackstone’s rates include heated underground parking with a car wash bay, as well as ethernet and wifi. And for those who enjoy hot tubs and outdoor swimming pools, Blackstone has both that are opened year round. For my part, I have never used either since I only enjoy the ocean.

I can only recommend this property to anyone who will be visiting the Bow Valley - Banff, Canmore, and Lake Louise. I have to rate this property as a 9.9 recurring on a scale of 10. Rest assured you definitely will be pleased and not disappointed.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is ideal for a single traveller.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FozIguacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Fozlguacu, Thank you very much for your most flattering review and for highlighting many of our properties great points that we have to offer for our guests. You are correct that Blackstone is indeed under New Management and we have implemented many changes that all of our valued guests are raving about during their visits. I will post your review for all of our staff to view as well, as reviews such as this are extremely important for all of us to see. Please let us know when you will be returning to the area as we will be happy to welcome you back to our Lodge. Thank you, Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Blackstone is a perfect property for our travel style. Televisions in each room, Wifi, soft fluffy cotton bath linens, comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchen and oh the view! You could almost touch the Rocky Mountains out your private deck. Love it. The back fireplace lobby and pool, hot tub, BBQ areas are fantastic, surrounded by beautiful stone walls totally in keeping with the mountain cabin feel. We were impressed to find that each and every staff person passed in the hallway or met at the front desk immediately acknowledged us in a friendly manner. The only suggestion for change I would make is to remove that funky life size stuffed bear and the miniature mock-up of the Blackstone property in the main entrance as they don't at all convey the warm, mountain cabin welcome upon first entry to this otherwise lovely property.

Room Tip: Bring or stop at the local grocery and purchase your own breakfast food so you can sleep in and enjo...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIM1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Sim1957, What a pleasure it is to see a comment such as yours complimenting the Lodge on many different levels. I will post this for all of the staff to see so that they can realize how far a "good morning" goes to our customers. Thank you for your wonderful and descriptive comments of the amenities that we provide and we have already removed the architectural model from the lobby to make way for our Holiday Decorations, but Berrick the Funky Bear has to stay. I would have too many angry children (and some adults) that would miss our dear mascot for their next photo opportunity. Please let us know when you next visit to our lodge will be as we love to impress our preferred, returning guests. Thank you, Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Get away from the big brand names and reap the rewards here!
Wow! These accommodations are obviously designed for the ski crowd but the regular traveller won't be disappointed. Blackstone and "sister" hotel Falcon Crest, (we also looked at Falcon's rooms) are excellent choices even if you are just passing through. Helpful staff, especially Chris at Falcon Crest. Very large and very clean suites give some of the best value I have seen in a long while, especially in high priced Alberta. We have paid over four times more at other big name, 4 star hotels to get essentially what we had here!
Our mountains view 1 bedroom suite/apartment was very large with a full size, well equipped, modern kitchen with 4 stainless steel appliances, a real coffee maker, granite counter-tops and tile back-splash. Laundry machines are tucked in next to foyer. Living room has a fireplace and a pull-out sofa. There is a dining room area, a large deck and a private office nook. Secure underground parking and wi-fi included! Movies to lend. Great pub/restaurant next door. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are a longer walk, of course, but well worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucsonGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

TucsonGrant, Thank you for your very detailed review and for letting us know that one of our sister properties staff members did such an excellent job. I will be sure to contact the manager of that resort to pass on the praise. We do have a lot of extra amenities designed for the ski crowd but we do cater to all in all four seasons. I hope your drive home was safe and that your drive back to the mountains will be soon. Stay with us again to qualify for a preferred rate and let your mountain experience start again. Thank you, Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $126 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge By CLIQUE Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing