We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great on the surface, but serious customer service and maintenance issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed with a group of friends over the July long weekend. Room was big enough and certainly looked nice, but found things to be lacking. One of the towels had spots on it, and when we called the front desk at 10am we were told that no towels would be available until 5:30 that afternoon. Some other cleanliness issues in the room.

Some of the furniture was not in the correct spot (lamp in front of a picture on the wall) and Sheets for the pull out bed were not where they were supposed to be. Front Desk and bell staff were very rude about having to bring us sheets (yes it was 12:00, but you are on the night shift at a hotel & our room didn't have what it needed to begin with). Front Desk staff in the evening was very rude.

At 11:00am on the first morning we received a note indicating they wouldn't be making up our room for the day, as we were still in it (despite the fact that we were gone 30 minutes later).

The Location was great, but it's really the little things that make a difference. Blackstone looks nice on the surface, but there are some serious issues that need to be addressed before I'd consider staying again.

Note: During our stay a boil water order was in effect for Canmore due to the recent floods. We called the hotel to inquire about any issues before we arrived and were told it was business as usual. We were advised to bring our own water, and to not wash dishes in the dishwasher. At no point were we advised that the boil water or flood issues would have any additional impact on our stay.

Room Tip: Pick one of the resorts in the same area. If you real want to stay here get a room along the front o...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Greg N.
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us following the great flood of 2013. All things considered, I am very proud of our team and the work they did while ensuring that our guests stay was a close to normal as possible given the circumstances. I have addressed the situation you had with one of our guest service agents and can assure you that our goal is to always provide the highest levels of service, cleanliness and maintenance. Please contact me directly at 403-609-8098 as I appreciate the opportunity to ensure your satisfaction and would love to welcome you back to the Blackstone Mountain Lodge on your next stay in beautiful Canmore. Thank you, Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 951 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Booked a one bedroom suite for 3 nights. Two adults, 9, 6 and 1 year old. Location is good, a short walk from downtown and a close to all amenities. Our suite was equipped with a full kitchen, Queen bed and sofa pull-out.

Upon check-in we had an issue with one of the front desk reps. This was taken up with the manager. The attitude of the front desk rep was poor and unwelcoming. So, as not to paint the entire staff as unprofessional, it is important to note we were treated well by all other employees we dealt with.

The room was very clean, large and outfitted with modern decor. The bathroom was small but suited us just as well. A large balcony with table and chairs was a nice touch. The bedroom and living room had televisions. The living room had a dvd player, which came in handy when we learned there were dvd's to borrow for free at the front desk. Appliances: stove, oven, dishwasher, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, kettle. Room was quiet - we didn't hear anyone/anything around us throughout our stay.

The housekeeping staff come in daily to empty garbage and replenish soap, towels, etc. Unfortunately, we were left calling the desk several times for things such as: towels, dish cloths, tea towels, toilet paper, hand soap, dish soap, frying pan, cookie sheet. We understood ahead of time this wasn't a full maid service but having to call repeatedly for hotel room fundamentals is not acceptable. Not only is it inconvenient for us, it's inefficient for the hotel. Having said all of this, the staff were prompt in delivering the missing items.

The hotel pool is outdoor and quite nice. There are two hot tubs and a good size swimming pool with chairs laid out around it. A BBQ area next to the pool was really convenient. Four large natural gas BBQs were available for guest use. A large table is also available outside next to the BBQs.

Parking is underground. We didn't use it because our vehicle was higher than the clearance (2 meters). Parking on the street is very limited.

The resort has WiFi but it is basically useless. Signal is very poor and non-existent half the time. In this day and age, there is no excuse for failing in this department.

The fitness facility is weak. Carpet on the floors and no air circulation. I used this every morning. It's not a busy "gym" but if there were four people in there, it would be tight. Some dumbbells, one treadmill, one elliptical machine, bike, small universal and a couple mats. Probably the worst gym in a hotel for this price range I have seen.

Overall value is average. Not sure if we'd stay here again. I'd have a look at some other places first.

Room Tip: Corner suite is roomy and we were told they are bigger than most others.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KOA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I am pleased to learn that you and your family found the resort to be well maintained and very clean overall. I do recall our conversation on the Saturday night within an hour of your email being sent. I also appreciate that you provided us with the opportunity to address the issue you had with one of our team members who was personally affected by the local state of emergency. Our goal is to ensure 100% satisfaction while providing our valued guests with the highest levels of service. We are in the process of upgrading many aspects of the resort and hope to have another opportunity to extend our hospitality to you and your family the next time you are in majestic Canmore. Thank you, Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights on a mother/daughter trip to visit Banff. Very spacious 2 bedroom unit with comfortable bedding. Kitchen was beautiful with granite, large appliances, and plenty of counter space. I was able to comfortably adjust the temperature. The only thing that I was a little disappointed about was that the carpet could have been cleaner. I walked around the first day in my socks and when I took them off before showering, they were black on the bottom. The carpets were brown so it would be hard to tell how clean they were. Also there were no measuring spoons or cups making it hard to measure coffee or make recipes. All in all, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank esa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Good day esa86,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here! As you experienced, our suites all have full size refrigerators, a washer and dryer, and a dishwasher to ensure a comfortable guest experience every time. I apologize for the carpets, and would love to speak with you directly regarding this if possible. It is our standard, that our team clean the carpets each and every day, as well, a deep clean process that involves a thorough steam cleaning at timed intervals. We would be pleased to get measuring cups and spoons for your next stay with us. Please let our front desk staff know, and we would be glad to assist you! We look forward to having you stay with us again in beautiful Canmore soon! Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, midweek. Very nice accommodation, great parking, nice amenities. Excellent scenery from top floor deck. The staff were friendly and helpful. Banff National Park is a short drive and I found commuting to Banff and Lake Louise to see the sights was not to far at all. In fact I would sooner stay here as opposed to Banff which I found to be overly crowded. The pool was refreshing, and it was clean and well maintained. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Good day Peter S,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge with other TripAdvisor travellers. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery, nearby National Parks, complimentary underground parking, room amenities, and the rooms themselves! I would love to hear from you regarding the 4 rating as opposed to 5, to see what we could do for your next visit to ensure a perfect guest experience! Please contact me directly at the hotel, and I would love to discuss this. We hope to have you back soon! Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I would highly recommend this accomodation - particularly for family groups. We are a well travelled family of 6 (4 children from 10-15) and are currently staying at the resort. The room is a 2 bedroom suite and as others have said there are spectacular views from both the bedrooms, lounge and verandah areas. The room itself is spacious and has a modern kitchen with full cooking facilities and a full size refrigerator - this was great because after a while on the road it allowed us to enjoy the cheaper option of a home cooked meal and to prepare our own breakfast each morning. The beds are spacious and comfortable and the there are 2 new flat screen TVs and a DVD player (with free movies available at reception) The common areas are well maintained and the staff are great. I overheard the manager tell one of the front of house staff to buy 3-4 boxes of ice creams to hand out to any kids they see around because it was predicted to be a hot weekend - unnecessary but these little things make a difference and will keep people coming back. Canmore itslef seems to be a beutiful little town which is close to Banff and Lake Louise etc - I cannot fault the place at this time and the new management seem to be well on top of things - Well done to all. Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Silverfox2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Silverfox2204,
We are always happy to hear that the little ones enjoyed their stay, as we know that makes the parents vacation as well! We thought it would be a great surprise for this very hot weekend to be able to provide our guests with Ice cold refreshing treats to help cool them down! (And a few for our staff as well). Our outdoor pool definitely assisted with this as well! We love to hear great reviews like this, and continue working diligently to ensure our team is top notch! We look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit to Canmore, Alberta. Andrew S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Friendly staff. Our room was not ready at 5:30 when we arrived and we had to wait for an hour. They were short staffed and I suppose this can happen, but there did not seem to be a manager looking after the issues they were having that day. The room was not as clean as I would expect of hotel of this price and calibre.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rootsnharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear rootsnharmony,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this TripAdvisor response in regards to your recent stay at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I do apologize for your room not being ready for our check in time. I hope that this allowed you some time to enjoy a stroll around beautiful Canmore. I am perturbed to hear that the room was not what you were expecting. Please contact me directly so that I may follow up with our team in regards to these issues. I hope that you will have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again, so that we may exceed your expectations! Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff was super friendly. We thought that Canmore was much more scenic than Banff. They have a heated, underground parking area for cars. Our room and balcony overlooked the pool and the mountains. The location is a very short walk to the “Oh Canada Eh” show, which was entertaining. No breakfast, but there is a Tim Horton’s as you leave town towards Banff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

A great review from a senior TripAdvisor Reviewer! Thank you for taking the time to put your kind words here. We love to hear positive feedback from our valued guests. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites, and gorgeous room views! We hope that you had the chance to enjoy our two outdoor hot tubs and swimming pool while you were with us! There are as you found, many food and beverage establishments within minutes of the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you again soon ! Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
544 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $126 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge By CLIQUE Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing