We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An Apartment for the Price of a Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An Apartment for the Price of a Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff was super friendly. We thought that Canmore was much more scenic than Banff. They have a heated, underground parking area for cars. Our room and balcony overlooked the pool and the mountains. The location is a very short walk to the “Oh Canada Eh” show, which was entertaining. No breakfast, but there is a Tim Horton’s as you leave town towards Banff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
A great review from a senior TripAdvisor Reviewer! Thank you for taking the time to put your kind words here. We love to hear positive feedback from our valued guests. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our spacious suites, and gorgeous room views! We hope that you had the chance to enjoy our two outdoor hot tubs and swimming pool while you were with us! There are as you found, many food and beverage establishments within minutes of the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you again soon ! Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    200
    49
    17
    16
See reviews for
331
261
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had been advised prior to our arrival that the operator of Blackstone had recently changed to Clique. This had obviously raised some concerns as we have been regular guests at Blackstone in recent years, but we were pleased to find some major improvements. One of the key areas being that the 24hr reception is back (on the last trip we had arrived late and this was was very inconvenient). The the overall cleanliness particularly in the communal areas was noticeable. The suite was clean and inviting and had evidently been refreshed. Unlike previous stays we also had daily housekeeping. My husband thought the Wifi was faster ( he had some work to do). We were delighted that during our stay the front desk asked if they could replace the TV in our unit with a new LED replacing the old CRT unit which was well overdue. We had a good conversation with the new Manager, Andrew, who informed us that the TV was part of a number of upgrades that are to be undertaken in the coming weeks.
We had our best ever stay, we enjoyed the pool and hot tubs, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheshireLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear CheshireLady,
We are very happy to hear that your expectations were exceeded during your most recent stay at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge! Our team is working very hard to ensure that we are exceeding all guest expectations when you stay with us. The new TV’s are being placed in each guest room, and living area over the next few weeks. We are constantly working to ensure the units feel fresh, and new! Keep an eye out over the coming weeks for our brand new linen as well. This will also ensure the rooms have a nice clean, crisp feeling to them. Our housekeeping team does provide daily housekeeping service as well to ensure all of our guests are well taken care of throughout their stay! We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Blackstone Mountain Lodge soon! Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge for one night. It's about a 4 minute drive from the main street and I think about a 20 minute walk. It was very peacul there. Our room was quiet and we were on the main floor close to reception. There are 2 hot tubs that seat 9 as well as a pool. The hot tubs looked a bit older judging by the wearing, but were very clean, which is most important. The people at reception were nice and very efficient. We didn't need to wait long to check in or check out. If you are looking for a night or two in Canmore this is a good place to stay. The only issue we had was finding breakfast in the morning. I recommend you bring some snacks in case you end up in our shoes. There are BBQs there but no restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Princessa77,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge and sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We do have a large, lovely outdoor patio which includes a patio area, four barbecues, two outdoor hot tubs, and a large outdoor pool! What better way to stay cool in the Rockies than take a dip in our pool! We are always working to ensure our guests feel comfortable, safe, and sound. We are glad that you had a nice relaxing experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hadn't been to Canmore for quite some time so not too sure of where to stay. This was a good choice. Reasonable rates, nice clean room. Good lighting for reading. Lots of underground parking, free Wi-fi. Front desk staff so-so.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonbon41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Good day bonbon41,
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review for the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We truly do appreciate, and value your feedback. This will assist us with ensuring our team are meeting our expectations of going beyond great service. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities of our suites here and that you were able to find the time to have a good read. I will share your comments with our front desk staff so that we can exceed your expectations on your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My mother, sister, and I along with my daughter (3 yrs) and my sister's daughter (1 yr) decided on a weekend Mother's Day getaway to Canmore. After doing a lot of research on a number of properties in Canmore, we decided on Blackstone Mountain Lodge. It seemed to get good reviews, was affordable and could accommodate all of us in a comfortable condo-style 2 bdrm unit. Check-in was quick and friendly. Our unit on the 4th floor at the end of the hall was in good condition, but starting to show signs of wear, and although at first glance everything looked clean, a closer look revealed some oversight by cleaning staff - the patio furniture was very dusty, and there were still old coffee grinds in the coffee maker. We aren't too picky so it didn't bother us, but still worth noting.

We made a simple meal at the condo and found the kitchen well stocked - there is salt, pepper and sugar for seasoning, and other necessities I'm always pleased to find, such as dishwasher tablets, dish soap, dish sponge, extra garbage bags, and a package of laundry detergent. They did not have any jay cloths, dish cloths or tea towels, which I would have liked to have on hand. As well, I would have liked to have a broom and dustpan or push-vac to clean up with.

Bathrooms were very nice, water pressure/temperature was great, and beds were clean and comfortable - we all slept very well!

TV's were very old - there were still tube TV's in the bedroom. And the flatscreen in the living room did not have a HDMI plug-in - we had wanted to hook up my laptop in order to watch movies. However, the front desk has a collection of DVD's that we were able to borrow for no cost.

I believe the hotel is now part of Clique hotel and resorts, and because of that, I think they are either trying to cut down on costs or standardize everything among all their hotels, because my sister and mom had stayed at this resort last year and they said they used to provide fancy tea in a tin (now it it Red Rose) and use to have Aveda bath products (bath products now have the Clique branding, which I did not use because there was no list of ingredients so I had no idea what was in them).

We did not use the outdoor pool/sauna, so cannot comment on those amenities. There is no restaurant or spa on site, but there are a number of hotels within a few minutes walk that could accommodate you for either.

We enjoyed our stay, and loved being so close to Banff, where we had the most amazing Mother's Day brunch at the Banff Springs hotel!

Would we return to this hotel? For the right price, I think so! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayofsunshine8892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good day rayofsunshine8892,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I am happy to see that you take your travelling seriously and take the time to investigate the properties and management companies that you stay with. You are correct that Clique Hotels and Resorts is now the management company for the beautiful Blackstone Mountain Lodge. As we just recently assumed the management of this premier resort in the Rockies, we have started the process of bringing this property up to the clique standard of cleanliness that we have won many awards for. As you pointed out in your email the TVs are quite old and have already been replaced with brand new HD LCD screens as of June 6th, with of course an HDMI jack. I ensure you that we have followed up with our housekeeping team to ensure that the issues mentioned have been addressed. I apologize for the oversight, and ensure you that this is not our standard.
For any future stays, please contact the front desk to inquire about extra items such as brooms, dustpans, or vacuums, and we would be pleased to assist you. Alternatively, we can have our housekeeping team assist you with any clean up items at any time. In regards to the washroom amenities, we would be pleased to get a list of ingredients used in the products to ensure you are able to use them comfortably. For other room amenities, we will be using standardized Clique Hotels and Resorts amenities to ensure quality products are being delivered across the board. Thank you, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great stay. Wonderful heated outdoor pool & hot tub. Perfect underground parking. Pub/Lounge right next door at the Rundle Stone. Vietnamese Restaurant a block away. Spend an extra $20 for a wonderful Resort feel. Comfortable beds. Granite counter tops in the 1 bdr suite.

Our only complaint was that we had to leave. :)

Room Tip: If you are a family or sharing with another couple just upgrade to a 1 bedroom deluxe suite. Well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Good day Roger F,
Thank you very much for providing us with your incredibly valuable feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please stay tuned to our new website coming which will show you all of the new amenities such as LCD TVs, Luxury bed Linens and many more items soon to be added. At Clique Hotels and Resorts, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the beautiful Mountains of Canmore, Alberta. Thank you, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Blackstone for a ski trip on the Family Day weekend. Due to a late booking we had a room with two queen beds and a granite counter with a microwave, sink, bar fridge and coffee maker instead of a full condo. It was a very busy weekend at the lodge and it was fully booked. One elevator was out of service and it meant taking the stairs or waiting to go up or down with your gear. Our room faced the pool area and people were using it until quite late in the night and kept me awake when I was trying to sleep. Being a "condo" facility we had no room cleaning in our two night stay (even though we pretty much had a hotel room) but were not made explicitly clear when we checked in. We were able to use the coffee maker and the counter for our quick breakfast before heading out to ski for the day.

Underground parking is included and convenient for winter travel. Pool and hot tub were in great shape and appreciated after a day skiing.

We have stayed at nicer condo hotels in Canmore.

Room Tip: If you do not like noise when you are falling asleep ask for a room that does not face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aemvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StoneRidge_Resort, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Aemvk,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. Readers should know that effective April 2, 2013 the Blackstone Mountain Lodge is managed by Clique Hotels and Resorts. Our goal is to ensure the standards are brought to the same level as the other top three rated properties on Trip Advisor, which are also under the Clique Hotels and Resorts umbrella.
Readers should be advised that the pool hours are from 10:00AM until 10:00PM daily and that the Blackstone Mountain Lodge provides daily housekeeping service to all guests. Keep posted for news on our planned upgrades, including new LED televisions, luxurious bedding and linens and more!
In hospitality,
Edward A. Keenan | Interim General Manager
1-888-830-8883
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#12 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Property: Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing