We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing two bedroom condo and patio experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Sk
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing two bedroom condo and patio experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family recently visited Blackstone Mountain Lodge and had an excellent stay. The Condo was very spacious, it was complete with a fully stocked kitchen, comfortable king beds, washer, dryer, and gas fire place. The patio was accessible from both bedrooms as well as the main living area. The room was clean.

The patio, pool and hot tubs were very nice. The 3 or 4 barbeques are Vermont castings which are very nice. Unfortunately there was a pile of dog feces in the corner of the cooking area which did leave some concern about hotel cleanliness.

When we arrived the room was not ready which was unfortunate as we arrived an hour check in time. The hotel did call us when it was ready an hour later and the hotel was sold out so it is understandable that not all rooms were ready.

Also on check out I learned the management company was changing for the lodge so I am not sure what to expect from the new company.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skfandbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear skfandbtraveler,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review for the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I apologise for the unpleasant sight that you experienced in the outdoor patio area and can assure you that, as we are now a pet- free hotel this problem should not happen again. Clique Hotels and Resorts has begun managing the Blackstone Mountain Lodge, and will bring with it many of the industry leading practices that make our resorts award winning. We are addressing any and all previous guest issues and putting our best practices in place so that can exceed our guest’s expectations with every visit. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again, so that we may show you a wonderful stay! Thank you, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    212
    51
    17
    16
See reviews for
351
281
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rawdon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are a family of five members, three kids from ten to fifteen. We were at Blackstone in july 2012. We had a three weeks vacations in the canadian rockies going from one hotel to the other and BlackStone was our favorite! The hotel is super clean and the rooms are hudge! We had a king size bed in a closed bedroom, a living room and a complete kitchen (with a fridge, oven and dishwasher) a personnal terrasse with a view on the pool and magnicifients mountains. Also four barbecues were availables for clients, which was top!! Pool was very clean and the spa too. There was also a free indoor garage, I suppose if you go there in winter for skiing, that a big plus!! We were there for three nights and when I saw the hotel that was so gorgeous I thought I made a mistake and mixte up the price of three nights for one..but that was not the case! The price was very honnest for what you get. You are also near Banff and Lake Louise. The village of Canmore is a nice quiet place.

Room Tip: Ask for the big bedroom on the top!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Julie G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete this review. We are very pleased to hear that when you returned, we are still exceeding your expectations! We are constantly striving to ensure we are providing professional, and friendly service for each and every one of our guests. On your next visit please enjoy our new LCD flat screens TVs and soon to come Luxury linens. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Thank you, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend. We got a 2 bedroom suite as we were sharing it with another couple. It was a nice hotel, easy access and the staff were wonderful to help with any requests. It was a quick walk to main street - about 10 mins where all the shops and restaurants are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KikiMira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear KikiMira,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to complete this review! We are continually working towards exceeding all guests’ expectations. I am very happy that our team assisted you with your requests! Please return soon to see our new amenities, LCD Flat Screen TV's and Luxury Linens soon to come. We hope to welcome you back soon! Thank you, Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely accommodation, the best we have experienced in Canmore. Administration was extremely helpful, even welcoming us via. email shortly before our arrival, asking if they could be of assistance in any way. We requested a non-smoking, two bedroom suite, in a quiet location, also a portable crib for sleeping the baby. All requests were granted. Loved everything about the accommodation, that had gorgeous views of the mountains from every window. It was a really spacious two bedroom suite, that had a computer room with a desk, that we wasn't expecting. Two full bathrooms, with deep soaker tubs, one of which had two door entrances, one from the bedroom, the other from the hallway. This proved to be useful for the two children, who slept in that bedroom. My daughter was delighted to be able to use the suite's washing machine and drier, as she's a person who likes to keep on top of her washing. Kitchen was wonderful with everything we could possibly need for preparing our own food. Our family loved the outdoor pool and hot tubs. Some family members even used the work out area. Found the staff to be helpful and polite, even allowing us to park our second vehicle in the underground parking lot because the parking lot wasn't full. Loved the fact that there was a recycling programme in the hotel. Our eldest and middle granddaughter were sad to leave the hotel and yesterday whilst babysitting them, our three year old granddaughter, asked if she could please go back to the mountains and stay in the holiday home. Thank you to the administration for a wonderful stay at your facility. We hope to return for our traditional Thanksgiving family trip to Canmore. Highly recommend this facility.

Room Tip: We stayed at the far end of the hallway in room 407 on top floor, which was situated away from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bullzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear bullzi,

Thank you for choosing Bellstar Hotels & Resorts for your family stay. What a wonderful review! It's always great to hear when everyone can take full advantage of all the amenities in the rooms as well as on the resort. We pride our self on service excellence and standards. We look forward to hosting you and your family on one of our properties for your traditional Thanksgiving. What a great holiday to spend in such a beautiful area such as Canmore especially with family. Please don't forget to let us know that you are a loyal guest so we can extend our loyalty guest discounts during your stays with us at any of our Bellstar Hotel & Resort properties.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went for a romantic getaway to the Mountains and stayed at this condo style hotel for 2 nights. We stayed in the one room suite. The bed was very comfortable and our room was cozy and quiet despite there being a big hockey tournament with a lot of families staying. Although we did not make use of it, the kitchen seemed handy. The beds and towels are not changed every day but we kept ours clean so it was no big deal. There is a pool, but not really much to do in the hotel and no restaurant or cafe. But we knew this going in so not a real problem. Underground parking was also free and nice to have with the snow. Overall the stay was great and I would recommend it for a weekend getaway or family stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crsmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear crsmithy,

Thank you for your review and staying with us at a Bellstar Hotel & Resort property. It's always nice to hear when guests enjoy their time away and can relax in the comfort of their room. The town of Canmore as well as the Bow Valley has so many exciting venues and adventures to take part in, winter or summer, from dog sledding to river rafting and of course the beautiful hiking trails all around the area. During your next stay with us please let the Guest Service Agents know that you would like daily service and we would be happy to provide that for you. Looking forward to your next stay with us, and please don't forget to take advantage of our Bellstar repeat guest program for discounts at all of our Bellstar Hotels & Resorts.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our 2 bedroom suite was comfortable for 5 adults. The hide-a-bed in the living room was comfortable. The suite was quiet and relaxing. We did not use the hot tub or gym due to the number of 6 year old hockey players who held domain in those areas. The Lodge was within a 30 minute walk of all the best restaurants in Canmore. We enjoyed our stay. The staff were responsive and helpful. We also appreciated the dog-friendly option. The only issue we had was one that was typical of most places - the room was hot and we needed to sleep with the window open. This was not a problem for us but might be concerning for others. We were able to cook a wonderful meal and had all the pots, pans and knives we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear AnnMarie D,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. It's nice to read that you enjoyed the room and got to experience the downtown of Canmore. It's great to have the option of the excellent dining option in Canmore as well as be able to make a home cooked meal for friends and family (pet included). We would like to welcome you back to one of Bellstar Hotels & Resorts so you can enjoy the amenities we offer on all of our properties as well as take advantage of our repeat guest discount. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The room was clean and offered a nice view of the mountains. The staff were friendly and always helpful. The two hot tubs were hot and clean and very relaxing with a nice pool to swim in. The underground parking was easy to get to and all stalls were close to the elevators. A quick and cheap cab ride was our way go downtown and experience the local shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, General Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Lance M.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Bellstar Hotels & Resorts. I'm glad to read that you had a great stay with us and that you made use of our amenities on property and enjoyed them. We would love to welcome you back! Please let us know that you have been a guest of ours so you can take advantage of our repeat guest discounts at all of our Bellstar Hotels & Resorts.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.2 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
0.3 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#10 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Property: Blackstone Mountain Lodge
Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#4 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing