We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and New”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in late June at the end of a trip. For us, Canmore wasn't the destination, but rather a convenient place to spend our last night on a vacation in the Rockies before catching our flight out of Calgary the next day.

If you're looking for a resort with shops, restaurants and amenities, then this place is not it. However, for what it is, Blackstone Mountain Lodge is excellent. If you're looking for a comfortable, clean and modern, self-catering style apartment, then this place fits nicely.

The bed was comfortable. The kitchen was beautiful. The in-room laundry, while we didn't need it, would be handy when staying for a longer time. And the price is great for what you get. Even the parking garage is bright and spacious.

When we checked in, the room was missing some key amenities, including toilet paper, but that was corrected with a few calls to the front desk.

I wouldn't choose this place as my destination for a vacation, but if I needed to be in Canmore again for any reason, then I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCH_in_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Hello DCH_in_Canada,

Thank you for finishing off your vacation with us at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I am sorry that there were some amenities missing on check in but I am happy to hear it was quickly remedied.

I hope that maybe in the future you might consider us as a destination resort. With the resort being located in Canmore, it is very easy to access all of the activities in the Canmore, Banff and Kananaskis area at the fraction of the price of Banff.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was the first time my wife & I decided to stay at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We typically stay at a different property in Canmore, but it was booked for the 3 nights that we were going to be in town, so we decided to look elsewhere. We decided on the Blackstone as it had fairly good reviews, and because there was also a stay for 3, pay for 2 deal available.

We were quite impressed with the property when we first pulled up, and the 1 bedroom suite in which we stayed was also quite nicely appointed. The full sized kitchen was very nice, including granite counter-tops with an eating bar. There were enough pots and pans available to cook a nice meal, and also to do bake some fresh muffins for breakfast. The king size bed was very comfortable and not lumpy. We did not have any problems falling asleep. Our 3rd floor suite was located on the highway-side of the lodge, and to our amazement, we could not hear any highway noise whatsoever. If the window or patio doors were open however, that is a different story. But the in-suite air conditioning kept the suite at a nice, comfortable temperature, so there was no need to keep any windows or patio doors open to cool the suite off.

We did however find a few things that were a little odd and out of place, such as the light fixture which I would expect to be over-top of the dining table, but instead it was in the middle of the room. Most would probably not really notice, however as I'm quite tall (6'6"), I hit my head on it more than once. We also didn't really like how the ice machine was located at the front desk, especially seeing as how the fridge had a ice maker built into the freezer, along with a water dispenser on the door of the fridge, neither of which worked. Seems a little odd to have a fridge with these options, yet they were not plumbed in so that they actually operated. The TV was also quite small, which other reviewers have commented on. This was not really a big deal for us though, however, it would have been nice if the TV in the seating area was a bit bigger than my computer monitor that I have at home. The TV in the bedroom however was quite a bit larger, however, it was of a CRT style TV, and took the whole space up on the top of the dresser.

Two other things that we found a little odd at the Blackstone was that of the amenities provided, such as shampoo, toilet paper, etc., and their business centre. "You will find starter amenities in your unit such as dish soap, shampoo, toilet paper and paper towels. Additional items may be purchased at one of the local grocery stores. Please contact the Front Desk for information regarding directions or hours of operation for these stores." This quote was taken directly from the details pamphlet which was given to us with our room keys. Seems a little odd that they only provide starter amenities. There was more than enough of these starter amenities for myself & my wife, but I kind of wonder if you had more than 2 people staying in the suite if there would be enough. Most places we've stayed at provide more upon request. This was the first time we've ever encountered this policy in which you would have to purchase more on your own. In regards to the business centre, what they don't tell you is that the computers are pay-for-use. There is however free wireless internet throughout the property, but it isn't all that fast as it is shared with everyone on the property.

All in all, we would consider staying at the Blackstone Mountain Lodge again in the future, but probably only while there's a deal available.

Room Tip: Look for a multiple night stay deal. Ask for a unit with an upgraded/larger TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Hi nuance,

Thank you for the kind words about how you enjoyed your time relaxing at our resort.

I do have to apologize for the water/ice dispenser not working in your suite. They are properly plumbed but they do stop working every once in a while due to the hose freezing. With regards to the light fixture, it would be greatly appreciated if you could email the guest service the room number to look into the placement of the furniture.

Blackstone Mountain Lodge offers resort style housekeeping service where we provide housekeeping every 4th day after your 3rd night of stay. During this service we do a full clean of the suite and replace all amenities. It is a different style of housekeeping service when comparing to a hotel resort instead of our condominium resort.

Thank you very much for the feedback and I hope that you have a great summer,

Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The staff at the blackstone are amazing we went up there for a family reunion and they did everything possible to make all 40 of us comfortable and although there was a wedding and a few other big groups that weekend they were so helpful! That was our second year out there and next year I'm sure it will be at the same place!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendraholman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Hi cadworks,

Thank you for staying with Blackstone Mountain Lodge. We take great pride in how clean our suites are and I am a big fan of being able to provide full condominium style accommodations.

We currently only have a couple pet friendly suites so if you have pet allergies, please do not worry. Pets are only allowed into pet friendly suites.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future when you are travelling for pleasure.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The facility and surrounding area are wonderful. This is a full apartment, bedroom kitchen and living room. Everything is provided, all you need are some groceries! Very clean. Just note this is a pet friendly facility. (If this is a problem for you).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cadworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KileyD, Front Office Manager at Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Hello cadworks,

Thank you for staying with us in June.

Our goal at the resort is to make it your home away from home and if all you need to do is bring your groceries. I think that we have reached the goal. As you noted, we do have some pet friendly but pets are only able to stay in pet friendly. If someone does have pet allergies, they only have to let us know and we can make sure they are not assigned a pet friendly suite.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night after a weekend in Calgary and visited Banff (about half an hour away) during the day. The spacious and modern suite would be perfect for a long-term stay. The open kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, utensils and appliances - even a dishwasher and in-suite laundry. Our room faced the highway but we didn't have any problems with noise. This would be a great home base if you're traveling in the area this summer!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shandyrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Hi shandyrc,

Being located between the National and Provincial Parks in the area, we are centrally located for any sort of summer adventure you might have planned. Thank you for recommending us to be a resort to be based out of to enjoy the mountains this summer. The suite are perfect for either long or short term stays because of the full kitchens and spacious living, dining and bedrooms.

I hope that we might be able to welcome you back during the summer months so that you are able to enjoy our pools complex.

Cheers,
Kiley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Since our usual accommodations were booked up in Banff & Canmore due to our last minute decision to travel, we decided to book directly on the website. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised with our spacious King Bedroom Suite; living room with fire place, kitchenett with bar seating or sit down dining table that seats 4ppl, laundry appliances, separate king bedroom and walk out balcony. Decor and furniture was typical modern condo style, only down fall was T.V's in living room and bed room-needs updating. This is a great condo style property but not suitable for people looking for restaurant/nightlife/entertainment. I also suggest booking spa appt in advance. Best part of all is that it was very peaceful and quiet especially while outside enjoying the hot tub. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Spacous King Bedroom Suite with kitchenette and living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineTravel403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Hello SunshineTravel403,

It is great that we were able to accommodate your last minute stay in June and smile always comes to my face whenever I hear that someone was pleasantly surprised by the size of suite and amenities at Blackstone Mountain Lodge. I hope that we are able to become your choice hotel for the Canmore/Banff area.

We are currently in the process to upgrade the TV's in the bedrooms and living rooms in the near future. We do agree they are a little outdated.

If in the future you are planning on coming back for restaurant/nightlife, please note that we are only a short fifteen minute walk or inexpensive cab ride to downtown Canmore where there is plenty of both to be enjoyed.

Cheers,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager

Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from Canada - our last stop being three days at Blackstone Lodge. We read the info on Tripadvisor before booking and studied the Lodge's website - and everything came up to expectations. Booked directly with the Lodge website which worked well. Our one bedroomed suite was excellent - modern, tastefully decorated and furnished, warm and comfortable with everything to hand, including comfy bathrobes. Our suite was a corner suite, overlooking the pool and Canadian Highway, but so well insulated we didnt have any problem with road noise. The desk staff were really friendly and helpful and on leaving checked our flight details for us without having to ask. Underground parking was very good system and secure. We did manage to walk into Main Street for morning coffee and window shopping, but took the car to the excellent food stores on Railway Avenue. Canmore is a lovely town with lots of boutique shops to wander around and lots of trails and walks within easy reach. Plenty of pleasant trails from areas around Canmore, although because of heavy rain some were affected by avalanche/rock slides, but pretty lakes and walks from the town. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Although we faced towards the main road, noise was no problem whatsoever, so cannot comment of which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wranglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Hi Wranglers,

It was our pleasure to be able welcome you during your stay in Canada. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy all aspects of our resort from the warm cozy quiet suite, underground secure parking and our helpful front desk. We always try to provide the best customer service possible and I am glad to hear that we did during your stay.

I believe that Canmore is a hidden little gem next to Banff with lots of uncrowded walking, hiking and bike trails at our door step. I hope that you are able to come back in the future when it is a rainy spring to enjoy everything else Canmore has to offer where there are no rock slides.

Thank you,
Kiley Dare

Guest Service Manager
Blackstone Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.2 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 29 in Canmore
603 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.6 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE

Address: 170 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#3 Family Hotel in Canmore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $116 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 20 minutes from Banff National Park in Canmore, Alberta, Blackstone Mountain Lodge adds a dash of urban polish to the untamed spirit of the Canadian Rockies. Behind our grand carriage house entrance an abundance of contemporary surprises awaits. Choose from a beautifully appointed hotel room with two queen beds or choose from luxuriously appointed one, two and three-bedroom suites. A luxuriously appointed 4 bedroom, 4 bathroom penthouse suite is also available, perfect for hosting small receptions or for discerning guests looking for some extra space. All suites feature gourmet kitchens, in suite laundry, flat screen televisions and slate fireplaces with daily housekeeping service. The Blackstone Mountain lodge features a year round outdoor heated pool with two outdoor hot tubs, state-of-the-art fitness center, heated underground parking, meeting and banquet space along with complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the resort. Delight in the unsurpassed comfort and sophistication of Canmore’s finest condo style hotel – an elegant getaway equally suited for family vacations, romantic escapes and group retreats. Find inspiration from your suite’s mountain views. Revel in all of the high-touch amenities you’d expect from a luxury resort. Cozy social areas throughout the lodge create the perfect setting for guests to savor every moment of their alpine-inspired retreat. Tucked into the mountains, our sun-drenched courtyard features hot tubs and BBQ pits with stunning views of the surrounding Rockies. A day at the lodge might consist of nothing more than a morning dip in the pool, a pampering massage in one of our private spa rooms and a stroll into Canmore to explore the charming restaurants, bistros, boutiques and microbreweries of Main Street. If you’re feeling more adventurous, the gates of Banff National Park - and world-class skiing, golf, hiking, biking and sightseeing - are just minutes away. For anything you might like to see or experience – from fly fishing lessons or a round of golf to a family dogsled adventure or whitewater rafting trip on the Kananaskis River – our helpful team of guest service agents are available 24 hours a day to help plan your next unforgettable rocky mountain adventure. For an unparalleled Rocky Mountain vacation, we welcome you to discover the award-winning Blackstone Mountain Lodge for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blackstone Mountain Lodge by CLIQUE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackstone Mountain Hotel Canmore
Blackstone Mountain Resort
Blackstone Mountain Lodge By CLIQUE Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing