We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, Fantastic food”
Review of Tapas Restaurant

Tapas Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tapas Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Ave
Description: Oted most Romantic Restaurant in the Rockies, we are tucked off Main Street Canmore in a charming character house. Tapas offers the lively fusion of Spanish and Old World flavours created by our kitchen team. We have designed a menu of specialty dishes that are prepared to order from the freshest ingredients available. All stocks, sauces and desserts are made by our Chef Dan Purvis in house. Our menu offers gluten free and vegetarian options. Share several plates amongst friends in the intimate dining room with Spanish style murals and high back leather chairs. We also have an eclectic attic with slanted ceilings and low windows which is great for small parties. Don't forget to visit us in the summer where you can enjoy tapas on our Mediterranean- style deck with lovely al fresco ambiance. And most importantly, be sure to try our house made Sangria (white or red) or choose a lovely Spanish Cava or wine from our Wine Menu. Want to bring your own wine, we offer a $25 corkage fee as well.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent service, Fantastic food”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Went here for the first time on a Friday night, the excellent service began before we even got to the restaurant. While making the reservation, it was explained to us to perhaps accept a later dining time, not because they could not accomodate us, but because then they could offer us a better table. We were glad we took the advice.
The excellent service continued through the entire evening, not only did the entire service staff make us feel special, but they offered honest and informative feedback on item choices and wine selections. It was wonderful to see such informative and conciencious service.
The food and wine selections were fantastic. Every item we tried was well balanced and thourally enjoyable. Best creme brule I have tried in years! Also note, there are some excellent vegetarian choices here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    125
    37
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, wonderful service, good value.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We just returned from Tapas and it was the best meal we've had in a very long time. As each dish arrived, I thought there'd be something that we didn't enjoy, but each dish was amazing. We started with the tostadas, then moved on to a stuffed squid, next was mussels, and we finished with lamb Popsicles. It was just my husband and I, and we found those four dishes were plenty. The food was so good that we almost ordered another dish because the previous dishes were so delicious, but we settled on sharing a citrus marscapone cheesecake with a white chocolate dipping sauce, a fabulous rich desert to complete the experience. The best part was our bill was only 105$, which we thought was incredible for the meal we had. Included in that price was a 1/2 litre of sangria and a Caesar, you wouldn't be able to have a meal and drinks for that price even at a chain restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarlaDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“WOW, quality food, original, tasty!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I went there for the Job Christmas party. I think it may not be the best option in large group as sharing all these tapas can be complicated, but it was so good!!

Fresh ingredients, all tapas were so creative and original, my favourite restaurant in Canmore so far.

Helpful?
Thank Chrisgblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Must Eat At Restaurant. ”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here once before and did not disappoint. Fabulous meal. The steak was done perfectly, the salmon was amazing and the Caesar salad should not be missed.

Service was great, staff are very knowledgable and friendly. Definite 5 in my books!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“you gotta eat here !!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Let me start by saying I truly think this was the best meal I ever had eating out !!
It was our last dinner while in Canmore and a lady at an art gallery suggested we try it out as it was her favorite place.
Tapas I guess means small plates or something like that you buy the items and share them
It is a small intimate place we had a great waiter "Shay" who was on top of everything made great suggestions all of which were fabulous.
He looked after the whole place and was quick and friendly to everyone he never stopped
They couldn't find a more efficient and knowledgeable waiter anywhere
The chef was fantastic obviously too they made a great pear
I would surely come back here if we were in Canmore again or even close to Canmore.

you can't go wrong with this place

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paperguyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Restaurant also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing