We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours, the famous forerunners in sled dog touring and racing in the Bow Valley, created the first dog sledding tours over a quarter of a century ago. With over 30 years of experience and expertise in touring, racing and conservation; we are extremely proud of our Canadian and Albertan roots and look forward to sharing our exceptional experiences with you!Our mission is to educate, entertain and provide our guests with a “once in a lifetime experience!” We employ the most qualified instructors, the friendliest and most beautiful, authentic touring huskies who all receive the best possible dog care. We provide guests with the safest tour offerings, all while ensuring the utmost comfort and superior attention to customer service and detail. Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours excels in its commitment to offer the most genuine dog sledding experience in the Canadian Rockies
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant experience, very well organised and loved meeting the dogs. All the staff were great particularly our guide Nicole. A highlight of my trip and would love to go again

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    26
    4
    1
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome experience for the whole family”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

If I'm being honest, I wasn't looking forward to it, the thought of sitting there benignly looking at dogs butts wasn't thrilling me. How I got it wrong! My wife and two little kids (18months and 4 yr old) and me turned up way in the mountains running late as usual. When we got to the site we were warmly greeted by the snowy owl staff and they helped get the kids ready for the sledding. I still didn't know what to expect, but at the briefing I started to get an inkling that this was not going to be a sit down ride. The guy doing the briefing was a bit of a comedian and talked a lot about "brown rays of sunshine" and how the dogs will know if you're not doing your bit to help. And also that they can run for miles with an empty sled - golden rule number one, never ever let go of the sled... So, with wife and kids safely packed into the sled we set of to lots of yowling and growling on a 9k trail over a frozen lake with me as musher at the back of the sled and the kids shouting "hike" and "good doggies" at the top of their lungs. It was just an amazing experience. When we got to the end of the trail, we got to spend some time with the dogs which was lovely. They work so hard but enjoy it so much. The kids cuddled them and fed them and the dogs were wonderful with them, even to the point of clearing my sons nose for him! Gross, but effective. There were hot drinks at the end including superb brownies and a fire to warm us up. The photos at the end are not cheap, but you know what, they were worth it - the kids were showing more teeth than the dogs and that's all you could ask for.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible!!!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our first dog sled tour and it is a MUST DO if you are visiting the beautiful town of Canmore. We went on Sunday April 13th for the 2 hr Powder Hound Express tour and absolutely loved it! The company is family owned and they are extremely friendly and humorous and are obviously very devoted to their dogs. We enjoyed learning how to drive our own dog sled team and playing with their friendly four legged furry friends. The mountain view on the tour was spectacular! This is an absolute must especially if you're a dog lover and an outdoor enthusiast! I would recommend this to everyone, we'll be back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadianlady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing exhilarating experience never to be forgotten”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time back at Snowy Owl ,I love the staff they are so committed to their dogs and making sure you have a great time,I've done 4 trips this week and never tire of the scenery,the enthusiasm by dogs and staff .the dogs love to run.Carlin,Jeremy and the whole team have made this holiday a time to remember,nothing is to much trouble and they go above and beyond what is required to ensure a great time is had by all.the love and care shown by the guides to their dogs is very touching,they know each and everyone of them.thank you thank you thank you from the bottom of my heart for making me smile and able to enjoy mushing in the snow :) which I am unable to do in Perth Australia

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Anyone wanting to experience a Dog Sled ride, you must go with Snowy Owl tours, I researched all the others, what made these guys different was their expertise, their respect for their dogs and the attention to the customers needs, this was better than winning the lottery, the hilarious instruction just before running your own Dog Sled team was absolutely hilarious, the instructions given by the guides was second to none and the experience well, you must check it out for yourselves, you will not be disappointed. I would like to thank all the team members at Snowy Owl dog sled tours a big thank you for a wonderful experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing