We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to drive!”

Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours, the famous forerunners in sled dog touring and racing in the Bow Valley, created the first dog sledding tours over a quarter of a century ago. With over 30 years of experience and expertise in touring, racing and conservation; we are extremely proud of our Canadian and Albertan roots and look forward to sharing our exceptional experiences with you!Our mission is to educate, entertain and provide our guests with a “once in a lifetime experience!” We employ the most qualified instructors, the friendliest and most beautiful, authentic touring huskies who all receive the best possible dog care. We provide guests with the safest tour offerings, all while ensuring the utmost comfort and superior attention to customer service and detail. Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours excels in its commitment to offer the most genuine dog sledding experience in the Canadian Rockies
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You have to drive!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I took my 13 yr old niece today and we had a blast. Top notch operation. They take good care of their dogs and their customers. Highly recommend and don't be afraid to drive!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank baldrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    26
    4
    1
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very great experience”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

it's a once in a lifetime adventure that I would recommend everyone try at least once! husky's were great people were nice, we drove our own sled, now that was a trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I went on a dogsledding tour with Snowy Owl. We paid to have our own dog team instead of going with an instructor. Well worth the extra money!!! It was great to see parts of the mountains that you wouldn't see otherwise. The staff were fantastic and helpful. It was great to see how well they treated the dogs and how well they were taken care of. Great experience all in all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky9533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer, null, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing and special experience”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

picked up in the hotel by a most friendly driver which during the ride told us interesting information about what we're seeing on the way - just because he used to be a tourist guide.

we've got very good equipment in rent.

the whole experience was amazing - a wonderful guide and cute dogs.

i did the 4 hours tour - the view was amazing, cool lunch and the time fly!

v-e-r-y recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must do in Banff”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

From being picked up by Peter the tour driver to meeting Bill and the rest of the instructors and their beautiful four legged friends, this was a wonderful day out and a wonderful experience. I'd whole heartily recommend this to anyone, young or old. The instructors ensured that we were well prepared and informed for the trip and the dogs where marked with different colour bandanas so that we knew which dogs we could approach and which dogs preferred to be left alone. The scenery was breathtaking and there were plenty of stops to take in the view and take pictures; we were lucky enough to see a moose (from a safe distance). If your in Banff give this a go. I can't imagine that you'd be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Den C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing