We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to enjoy the Canadian Rockies”

Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours, the famous forerunners in sled dog touring and racing in the Bow Valley, created the first dog sledding tours over a quarter of a century ago. With over 30 years of experience and expertise in touring, racing and conservation; we are extremely proud of our Canadian and Albertan roots and look forward to sharing our exceptional experiences with you!Our mission is to educate, entertain and provide our guests with a “once in a lifetime experience!” We employ the most qualified instructors, the friendliest and most beautiful, authentic touring huskies who all receive the best possible dog care. We provide guests with the safest tour offerings, all while ensuring the utmost comfort and superior attention to customer service and detail. Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours excels in its commitment to offer the most genuine dog sledding experience in the Canadian Rockies
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great way to enjoy the Canadian Rockies”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Was in the Banff area only for two days, this was definitely the highlight. Our guide was friendly, informative, and fun. He even borrowed me a pair of warm gloves when mine weren't enough. The dogs aren't what you expect but are still friendly and beautiful. Make sure to dress warm and bring a camera that takes video of your ride!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulrs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    26
    4
    1
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun in the snow!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We did the 2 hour dog sled tour in the afternoon. We were blessed with warm weather. We were transferred up to the site from their office in Canmore via a large van. Upon arrival, the beautiful dogs were busy chowing down and replenishing their energy stores for our tour. The staff was super knowledgeable and went through all the commands. You have the option of doing the tour with or without a guide on your sled. There was 1 guided sled for every three sleds, so someone is close by if need be.

On the ride out to the lake, two people sit in the cozy sled and one person drives. On the way back, one person sits in the sled, and two people drive together. Riding the trails is fun, and winding through turns and over little hills. You get a bit of exercise running up the hills beside the sled. If you don't hop off and run alongside, one of the wheel dogs will look back at you and give you the glare, or maybe they're just checking on you. Either way, the dogs are very well behaved and an absolute delight. The view once you enter out onto the frozen lake is magnificent. The dogs have a short break here while you have time to take photos, and switch positions in the sled. Then you're off back to the starting point again.

Once arriving back at the base, hot apple cider and cookies were available for everyone, as well as some great pictures from the trip. A highlight for us was getting to pet and hold one of the puppies, Kimber. Our tour was great, we hope to do a longer one next time. We highly recommend Snowy Owl tours. The company has been family owned and operated for years and they do a terrific job! The dogs are treated with respect and loved it as much as we did!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lenalisicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincher Creek
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Oh what a thrill!!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

If your looking for a truly awesome winter experience take the dogsled!!! Our Alberta family of 5 (2.5 year old included) wanted a outdoor experience and we got it. If you can afford it try to book a 4 hour tour as this will give you a much better time frame to really get the hang of driving the sled.There is a 2 hour tour also. Yes, you are able to drive the sled on your own or tandem if you wish. It will cost about $100 an hour but the experience is worth it and the scenery is priceless. Snowy Owl guides were friendly, and encouraging and were very attuned to the dogs!!
Easy booking, dont worry if you dont have boots,etc they have them for rent if needed. They have warmer things along if you get cold, I also brought some hand and toe warmers.
Thank you Snowy Owl!!! You will see us back next year!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4hfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime!!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Let me paint the picture here, 8 travel agents on a famil of the Banff & Lake Louise area. We had checked out alot of hotels in the area and were lucky enough to experience alot of the sightseeing options also in our Itinerary. One thing that wasn't included was dog sledding and it's something we get asked for alot back in Australia. We heard about Snowy Owl through our guide at Banff Explorer. She couldn't speak more highly of the company so on our last day we squeezed it in. From simply meeting the dogs to sledding through the countryside, there is no better way to see the Canadian Rockies. It's an absolute must if you are in the area. I will be recommending it to all my clients. Huge thank you to Ryan our guide and my gorgeous dogs Mackey, Kaos, Almond, Shira, Optimus Prime & MEGATRON!!!! Oh and of course little Tika!!! What a day. One I'll never forget :-)

Helpful?
3 Thank SDFFConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An awesome 4 hours dog sledding time!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing/unforgettable dog sledding ride with a breathtaking view, an energetic/experienced team, cute/hardworking dogs, and so much more. Will definitely come back for more....

Helpful?
2 Thank cheripeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Snowy Owl Sled Dog Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing