We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very interesting”

Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre
Ranked #22 of 55 things to do in Canmore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre is dedicated to celebrating the unique mountain history of the Canmore area. Our mission is to share the stories of our mountains and our communities.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but very interesting”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This museum is not large but is very interesting it explains how Canmore got it start and the mining industry. Very worthwhile.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stitchann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed, but we're into into geology and science.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you don't care about how the area of Canmore developed or about rocks, etc., you might get bored in here. We liked it quite a bit and took awhile to get through this small museum. Another couple was going through when we were and I noticed they were gone fairly quickly. It's cheap with a free booklet at the end. I liked seeing what the coal miners wore and had to endure, my daughter enjoyed all the various rocks and our other daughter enjoyed seeing pictures of Canmore in the early 1900's compared to now. If you have young kids, you can view the museum while they play on interactive computers. I notice that they offer half day camps for kids all the way up to 12. If you're in the area, it looks like it would be a neat thing to sign up for. They take kids on site for digs, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank turks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice area to walk around”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice little museum located within the downtown Civic Center with lots of nice area to walk around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank djohnson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very intresting”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

i liked it all the most fasinating was all the history how it grew and what it was like all them years ago

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank berenice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Pretty Average Museum, but A for effort”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is more of a "community" museum than a real life tourist attraction. There is really not much here of general interest. The people are super nice, however, and if it is pouring rain, you could spend a worse 30 minutes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing