We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the story of Canmore's mountains and people”

Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre
Ranked #19 of 57 things to do in Canmore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre is dedicated to celebrating the unique mountain history of the Canmore area. Our mission is to share the stories of our mountains and our communities.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Canmore, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Experience the story of Canmore's mountains and people”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This charming little museum is dedicated to the history of Canmore and the geology underlying it. Regular The friendly staff is more than willing to give background on the exhibits and fill in a bit more information. Kids of all ages will enjoy the Dr. G.O. Morph video at the back. And don't miss the huge petrified tree root. A great place to spend an afternoon.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Izmircanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very well done review of local history and geography”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I went with my husband and son (age 21). We found the mining history very interesting and well done. There is good stuff for younger children so a great family attraction. Quite small, but interesting.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DSF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

really liked this museum lot to see exihbits displayed from around area gives very good history of the canmore region

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice little museum giving an overview of the geology in the area”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We enjoyed this small museum, learning about the coal mining history of the area. We appreciated the videos showing the geological formations. There was small admission fee, which was reasonable.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent if small museum on the local geology and mining history”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The museum, although not large, does an excellent job of descibing the local history, as well as the cycle of exploration and mining that swept through the region in the last 150 years or so. We easily spent 4- minutes there (and we did not watch the movies which are more oriented to children). Only $5 for adults. Friendly and knowledgable staff.
The museum is part of the chamber of commerce building, a very attractive piece of architecture cery close to the center of town. Several good pubs/coffee shops/restaurants nereby, especially the Grizzly Paw, Luna Blue and the Flatbread Company.
Also not far from the museum is the original NWMP quarters, worth a few minutes to see while you are there.
The museum also runs part and full day activities for different aged kids, both at the museum and the nearby NWMP historic building.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RIDPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Canmore Museum & Geoscience Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing