We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pizza with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gus' Pizza Place

Gus' Pizza Place
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Hinton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza with great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We tried this restaurant from a friendly hiker that we met at Lake Meligne. We went there after doing the Miette hot spring. We tried dried ribs and Gus Special Pizza. Both dishes were delicious and the pizza was stuffed with thick fillings. Our kids were full to the max. The tables were decorated with white lining cloth and glasswares. Highly recommended for gourmet pizza meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wedgiesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    44
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving....”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

After reading the reviews on this site we decided to try it out and we extremely impressed. The food was fantastic with a great family atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JPR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good family atmosphere”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On the way back from Jasper we stayed at Holiday Inn in Hinton. We found out about this restaurant in TripAdvisor, and decided to check it out. We were not disappointed! We ordered pizza and chicken souvlaki from their specials menu. I especially liked the salad with the feta cheese dressing that came with the chicken. The ingredients were fresh and the service was fast. It's worth a couple of miles drive from the city center.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food and Pizza”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have eaten here several times and also at their Jasper location for the past 40 years. The food is all fresh and delicious. Portions are reasonable and good value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were going to dine in during our one night stay in Hinton, but called ahead and the restaurant is not wheelchair accessible, so we ordered to our hotel room. The delivery was very quick. We ordered the Gus Special pizza and a caesar salad. The pizza was really hot and fresh and VERY loaded. It was good! The crust was nice and crisp, even with all the toppings. However, the salad was REALLY over dressed. The dressing was good, but there was just too much of it and the lettuce was soggy.

I would recommend you get pizza box liners for your delivery boxes, as our box was a soggy mess on the bottom by the time we finished up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus' Pizza Place also viewed

Hinton, Canadian Rockies
Hinton, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Gus' Pizza Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing