We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of privacy but well kept”
Review of KOA Hinton/Jasper

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KOA Hinton/Jasper
manitoba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lack of privacy but well kept”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were looking for a campground away from hwy noise with some site privacy. When checking in, the hostess did not give a welcoming impression, but the grounds are well kept and the firepit was novel to us. My biggest complaint is that the sites are so small - as other reviewers have stated - the neighbour's sewer hose was right out our door! I would never stay here again for that reason!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gibetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
31
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a gorgeous campsite. Very nicely laid out sites, full hookup with a 50 AMP option, clean, and a really nice kids playground. There was a nicely stocked store, but you're pretty close to Hinton which has a few stores that stay open late. I really liked the idea of a communal fireplace, and the views were gorgeous. Did I mention it's super quiet? As soon as the sound curfew came in I didn't hear anything..not even a dog bark. Looking forward to being able to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Its41day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
210 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I booked at the Jasper/Hinton KOA for 6 nights in a Camper Cabin. I've stayed in the Cabins at other KOA locations and have always been satisfied. Jasper/Hinton KOA was no exception. The KOA is located about 14 miles outside the Jasper entrance and only about 2 miles outside of Hinton. So convenience is there regarding the Park entrance and the services in Hinton.

The staff was very friendly on arrival and helpful throughout my stay. They had great suggestions for wildlife viewing both inside and outside the Park. Whenever I would go to the office, they were always friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The 1-room Cabin is pretty standard compared to other KOAs except this one actually had a small TV with satellite service. That was a first. The Cabin also had a wall mounted heater that was very efficient and a small fridge. There was no desk, but that was the trade off I suppose for the fridge and TV. A good trade off and worth it.

One addition in the campground was a cooking pavilion as cooking is not allowed in the Cabins. The area has multiple sinks and stovetop sections with dual electric burners. This was very helpful and saved breaking out the camp stove for breakfast every morning.

There were only 2 things that would qualify as negatives. First, both shower areas had a common entrance to the bathroom areas between Men and Women. A little more privacy between the two would have been nice. Maybe just a door on each restroom entrance section. The showers were nice enough and both shower/bathroom facilities seemed relatively new and in good condition.

The only other possible negative was a desire for the staff to go around at night and make sure that quiet hours were being observed. For 2 nights, there was a large group in the Cabins next to me that would come in around 11pm. There were a number of adults and a lot of kids. As they were getting in late, it took them a while to settle down and they didn't have much concern about yelling to other group members across the area at midnight. A staff member making rounds on the golf cart to remind my neighbors that others were trying to sleep would have been appreciated. Once the large group left, there were no noise issue.

One thing to keep in mind is that there is a gate at the entrance that is closed from 11:30pm-6:00am. With sunrise this time of year around 5:15am and sunset close to 10:30 or 11pm, the gate hours make it tough to get out in the park for either sunrise or sunset. I didn't ask, but the staff may be willing to meet you at the gate for an early departure or late arrival. They were very helpful with everything else and I probably should have asked.

The grounds are well kept, the facilities clean and well maintained and the service is fantastic. Only a couple minor drawbacks, but not enough to keep me from returning on my next trip to Jasper National Park.

Room Tip: Cabin #10 is close to the restrooms and cooking pavilion and offers great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This campground was beautiful and clean. It had awesome views of the mountains. It is close to shopping in Hinton. It also had a playground and arcade for the kids. Dog walking area and an enclosed dog park that was clean with a dog agility area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jcmbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle Shore, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our main requirement when camping is that it is clean and this campground gets five starts for that. It is a bit open ( no trees) but sites are quite large that you don`t feel crowded. Friendly and helpful. Price a bit too high to do laundry but lots of machines , very clean. washrooms above standard. Down side...advertise wifi but there is none except at office and it was not working also no campfires allowed. Have a fenced in dog part but we had small dogs and it is not fenced for this size, could crawl out any where. Would stay again as a over night stay. We were travelling in travel trailer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katee5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fantastic options and amenities. They have an abundance of cabins...with and without bathrooms. Not only that, they have a pavilion accommodation with electric stove top burners, and sinks and counters and picnic tables. They also have a firepit pavilion, a children's play area...outside and one inside, a pet playground, pristine bathrooms and showers (cleaner than many hotels), games room/building, and the original cabins have fridges and a TV!! There is a camp store with regular stock as well as gift ideas...service is wonderful and accommodating...

Best KOA we have ever been to...Best campground that we have experienced.

Linda

Room Tip: Even if you do not camp, the cabins are worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbrackell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island BC Canada eh.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a fabulous night staying at Hinton's Koa.
Below is the summary!

Pros:
-Exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable front desk person checked us in. She was a younger girl and she gave my mom and I some helpful information about the Beaver Boardwalk as well as some good eats in town. (She even showed us some photos of bats she had on her cell phone!) Super friendly, made us feel very welcome.
-escorted to our cabin by a staff member on a cart who pointed out the camp cook area as well as the washrooms etc.
-clean hot showers. FREE clean hot showers! Nice clean bathrooms.
-excellent value for the cabin we rented which included a queen bed as well as two bunk beds (no washroom). Also included a TV with cable! (what can i say, we really roughed it! haha)
They were able to accommodate us in a cabin as we originally booked a campsite which the previous Koa in Clearwater was not able to do.
- nice little store area with hot coffee in the morning.
-provided us with a great little map of Hinton including a 10% off coupon for one of the local restaurants!
-affordable!!!

Cons:
-a bit of a drive from Jasper but just a few km's outside of Hinton.
- not very "campy" for those who like a more secluded forest kind of campsite. Very open meadow and no trees or anything that could block the wind if it were to be blustery out.
- no breakfast/restaurant on site (but it IS a campsite!)

Room Tip: I'd spend the extra money and rent a camping cabin rather than a regular camp site. Comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hinton hotels
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#5 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
6.3 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#1 of 17 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.3 mi away
Twin Pine Motor Inn
Twin Pine Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Hinton/Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Hinton/Jasper

Property: KOA Hinton/Jasper
Address: Box 5052 | Hinton, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1X3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Hinton
Also Known As:
Koa Hinton/Jasper Hotel Hinton
KOA Hinton/Jasper Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing