We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Hinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Hinton
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

OK, here's the straight bill of goods. Pulled up, went to front desk to check in, guy at the front desk looks to be in early 20's tells me he's the manager. No offence to young people, but in order to manage something you need experience. Just by his age, that would be impossible. We go to our room, looks decent enough but wake up in the morning with some kind of bugs crawling through the room. I catch one, put it in a folded piece of paper and bring it to the front desk. I show it to this manager who quickly responds that it is only a water beetle and it is because their hot water tank is leaking and hasn't been fixed. How long would it have to leak for bugs to form is the first thought that crosses my mind, and why haven't you fixed that already. Also, a quick internet check on my part verifies that this is no water beetle. That didn't make me feel any better, but I'm really not sure what they were, but at least it didn't seem to match the picture of bed bugs! Anyway he says he'll have his staff check it out while we are out for the day. We go from the front desk over to the breakfast area and the first bagel we put in the toaster just sits their because the toaster is broken. Now I'm really not impressed, but as I've prepaid with the no refund option, I feel I am stuck. We go out for a pleasant day and come back to a room that has been sprayed with Raid. All the windows are closed, no fan running, and a nice pungent smell of spray. We open all the windows and leave the fan running and go out for supper for a couple of hours to let the room air out. When we come back the smell is still present but much better. I could have asked for another room, but apparently everything that would accommodate 3 adults was booked. There's that trapped feeling again. The next day when we checked out we were not asked about our stay or if everything was OK, I guess they make sure anybody that has any problems doesn't get asked. I think some sort of adjustment on the billing would have been an effort or attempt at customer satisfaction and I really don't consider myself one who goes out of his way to complain, but now I get to write this review. It's hard to cover things up in this day and age, so I thought I would let others know of my experience. Try another place to stay. Good luck!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I'm sorry you were unhappy and what more can I say that you haven't already said. There is no excuse for shoddy management and house keeping but we have to work with what we have. We accommodate hundreds of rooms per month and try to provide quality accommodations at reasonable prices and sometimes we fall down. Unfortunately you were there during a lull in our service but rest assured the items you brought up have been addressed to the best of our ability. Again I'm sorry you were unhappy.
Ian W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    77
    73
    51
    36
See reviews for
104
89
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel you get what you pay for - our air conditioner was noisy all night, and the fridge made weird noises first thing in the morning. Service staff was friendly, bed ok, free continental breakfast. I'd only stay here again if I had to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry we did not come up to the standard you expected but we try and provide quality accommodation at reasonable rates and some time we fall short. Again I'm sorry you were not happy.
Ian W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Days Inn Hinton promised a non-smoking room. Our non-smoking room was on a smoking floor, next door and across from smoking rooms. The whole hotel smells like cigarette smoke. The manager had turned off the heat despite the fact that it was 5 C outside and told us that he was not turning it back on. The room we were supposed to stay in was less than 10 C and smoky. The desk clerk was helpful but this place was horrible. DO NOT RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are sorry you were unhappy with your room and in a perfect society with no smokers and warm days you would have no issues. But this is hardly a perfect society, there are still smokers and older properties such as ours have heat boilers that have to be shut during warm summer months or it would be impossible to cool the rooms. It is impossible just to flick a switch and have instant heat so we must put up with cool nights and warm days which effected your stay. I apologize but can do nothing about global warming.
Ian W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hinton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hinton hotels
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#1 of 17 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#5 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Hinton
Super 8 Hinton
#16 of 17 in Hinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.2 mi away
Twin Pine Motor Inn
Twin Pine Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hinton

Property: Days Inn Hinton
Address: 358 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hinton 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Days Inn
Days Inn Hinton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing