We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was cheap”
Review of Days Inn Hinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Hinton
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Well that that pretty much said it all. It's cheap.
I was a bit disgusted by the blanket and ended up bringing my own from my car.
Breakfast was poor and I skipped that. All I saw was a Rubbermaid Box with some bagels.

Definitely will not return.

But, it was cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abrose001, General Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

We are sorry to learn your trip to Days Inn Hinton was not a good one. We appreciate your comments and are making many changes to make our guest feel comfortable. We are working on improving our breakfast area! to make it more appealing and interesting for our guest.

Again Thank You for your comments.

Rose Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 314 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here as a family as we were passing through on a family vacation. We requested a non-smoking room and it reeked like smoke. We tried to get another room but none were available. I found out that when the demand for smoking/non-smoking rooms is high they "convert" rooms as necessary. The desk claimed that the cleaning staff said they couldn't smell the smoke because they smoke. Garbage! My husband and I both smoke outside and the smell in the room was overpowering. The sheets have so much bleach in them that I smelled it on my clothes after two runs through the washing machine. The carpet was dirty, the window vent was dirty, and can't even imagine what other corners were cut. We would have stayed elsewhere if there was vacancy. I will definitely NOT return to this location. The only bright side is the man who worked evenings was very helpful. The daystaff... not so much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Sorry for the issues you experienced with your stay last august and want to ensure you that the
problems you brought up have long been addressed. The staff you dealt with are no longer with us, renovations have been completed,with new carpets and designated smoking rooms. We invite you to give us another chance and hope to see you in the future.
Ian Wilson - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank SANDRA B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian W, General Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Days Inn Hinton AB is undergoing renovations, that did not show on their web sight. Man on the front desk very friendly and helpful. Very quiet with only one other guest staying but a pee wee hockey team has reserved rooms. Room very big, nice and clean. No elevator. Would not stay again because of our pet, we want a room with an outside door.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W, General Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We Thank You for your interest in Days Inn..

We are sorry we couldn't accommodate you with an outside door; But we where pleased to have you stay with us..
With thanks for your response

Ian Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We book this hotel through priceline and had asked for jasper. Didn't know until it was done that we were not in Jasper. That was the first issue and then when we got there they were doing construction.We thought that was probably a good thing. Our room was clean but there were two chair in the room that were massage chairs and they were so close to the ground that you could hardly get out of them. When we went to bed that night it was really hot in the room so we turned on the air. It was so noisy that every time it came on it would wake you up and keep you awake. After two nights of this we complained to the woman at the desk. She said if it wasn't fixed by the time we came back in the evening she would change us to the executive suite. When we returned there was a young man at the desk and she had told him nothing about it. He said it could not have been fixed because the guy who fixes it was on holiday and he did not move us. My husband took the cover off the air conditioner and that helped a little but it was still very noisy.. When we checked out the next morning there was a different person on the desk and he wrote everything down and seem at least interested and sympathetic, also the maintenance man was standing there and said he knew nothing about the problem. We have heard nothing from the hotel about this issue even though two weeks have past.
Also the breakfast was terrible, very sparse and stale. The internet was also bad at the end of the hotel we were in and they said it had been a problem for quite a while, When we complain about that the fellow at the desk said he could fix it but they wouldn't let him touch it. And they were having trouble getting an IT guy because they were on holiday as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abrose001, General Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Pam:

I would like to take this opportunity to apoogize for your unpleasant stay at Days Inn Hinton; We appreciate hearing about your concerns; and would like you to know the issues you brought up are taken very seriously.
We have spoken to all the staff in question and explained how important it is to pass information on to the next clerk.
The air cond. in question has since been replaced.
Again please accept our sincere apology on behalf of the staff and myself.

Rose Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stay one night only, Cancelled the second night. Requested to change room because it smelled fuel or diesel in the room.
The electronic key was not working, every time we had to go top the room had to ask the front desk clerk to open the door. Breakfast I have seen better.
The rooms need a little painting and change the carpets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abrose001, General Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Sir!
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of the issues you encountered at Days Inn Hinton;
We sincerely apologize , and would like you to know that the key card machine has been replaced and is now working great.. We are now in the process of painting and replacing carpets/
We hope you will come see our new look in the spring.

Again thank you for your concerns.
Rose Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel was just fine. Clean and spacious room and desk staff let us check out 2 hours late. There is no elevator, and guest laundry was out of order due to renos. The worst was the breakfast - presided over by a sloppy kid, and the fare was sparse and stale.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrskthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abrose001, General Manager at Days Inn Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your response! We appreciate your concerns and have since applied new standards for our breakfast room.
We are presently doing renovations and the guest laundry will be up and running once again.
With thanks
Rose Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hinton hotels
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
199 reviews
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#6 of 17 in Hinton
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Hinton
Super 8 Hinton
#14 of 17 in Hinton
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Hinton
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
0 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#2 of 17 in Hinton
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hinton

Address: 358 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: $70 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hinton 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Days Inn
Days Inn Hinton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing