We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crummy”
Review of Super 8 Hinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Hinton
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I used to stay at this Super 8 all the time as it has a pool. The last 3 visits have been lousy to say the least. As a result, I have started staying at the Days Inn, but thought that I would give it another try. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are so sorry to hear your stay was not as expected. I would have loved to hear from you to see what your concerns were.
We are presently undergoing renovations in the motel to update may things. We do hope to see you back in the near future.
Have a super day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Hinton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 377 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just a regular, good price motel with standard breakfast. No fireworks whatsoever, but a tidy and cosy place to spend couple nights. We spent there one night, arrived late, left early. Bed was comfortable and that's what we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank for your comment. It is always a pleasure hearing from our valued guests.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Have a supper day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen L, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Friendly staff, though room was very warm 1st nite and cold 2nd nite, very cold in hallway.
Biggest problem, hot tub ruined my daughter's $60 bathing suit, totally faded the part that was immersed in water. Hard on eyes for everyone in pool area and hard to breath for 2 of my children after out of pool. Spoke about this to manager and she said levels are automated, and have been checked and checked, I know she was baffled by this and was doing what she could, and she shut down hot tub as other guests were having problems too. I had to mention my reimbursement 3 times to diff staff and mentioned it at check-out when she knew nothing about it and made a phone call & did reimburse me in the end. Staff did want to help me but was not efficient at communicating the reimbursement.
Also as we are a family of 5 we needed a cot, which we paid an extra $15 for. My son did not use it as you could totally feel the springs in it. He just slept on the floor which he claimed was better.
The good things are that the pool was nice and warm and the baking was a nice touch. And the staff was concerned and wanted to help us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It is always a pleasure hearing from our valued guests so we can make improvements in order to accommodate our guest much better.
I am happy to tell you, I had people in to check the entire system and as I thought, everything was running as should have been.
Levels for a chemicals were definitely at acceptable levels.
As for the bathing suit, I do apologize. My staff is not authorized to give refunds without my consent. Upon my return they did contact me and I gave them permission to do so.
I noticed the cot frame in the hallway and figured the mattress was just placed on the floor. Cots are not the most comfortable type of bed to sleep on, that is true.
I am glad to hear my staff was helpful to you and your family.
Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Have a SUPER DAY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Lyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen L, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen L, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We checked in and the gal who took care of us was very polite. However, we did not receive a receipt even after 2 requests. The room was NOT clean. The coffee maker had grounds and water in it, spilled all over. The fold out baed had no bedding. The bathroom was noticeably dirty. There was hair in the bed. No remote for the television either. The decor was very shabby. My 14 yr. old son was not comfortable in the room. We were booked to stay for 2 nights and found new and fabulous accommodation elsewhere for a cheaper rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Taija Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear your check in went good. We do not provide a receipt until check out. At that time the staff would be more than happy to provide you with one.
We do not make up our hide a beds until it is requested. This ensures fresh linens are provided at time of check in.
I am sorry to hear there were problems in your room. If you had brought this to our attention immediately I could have dealt with the situation at that moment. There is no excuse for things to be left undone. I will definitely look into the problem and bring it to the staff's attention.
Again, thank you for the comment and you have a Super Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hinton hotels
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#5 of 17 in Hinton
175 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#6 of 17 in Hinton
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#2 of 17 in Hinton
191 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hinton

Address: 284 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: $72 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hinton 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 in Hinton, recipient of the 2008 Housekeeping Award from Alberta Tourism, Parks, Recreation and Culture, is conveniently located near beautiful Jasper. We offer our guests a rich list of amenities that includes a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet Access, Indoor Pool and Whirlpool, Movie Channel, Executive Suites, Premium Rooms, Kitchen Units, In-Room Coffee, Fridge, Microwave, Hair Dryer, and Alarm Clock. Pets are Allowed with Permission. See you along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Hinton
Hinton Super Eight
Hinton Super 8
Super 8 Hinton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing