We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 was super choice”
Review of Super 8 Hinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Hinton
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We chose to stay in Hinton while visiting Jasper National Park because the hotel prices in this small town compare favourably to those in the park itself. Super 8, Hinton has well appointed rooms with all the amenities you expect, and we loved the non smoking policy. The pool was a real bonus in a hotel of this type, as well as the free computer use with internet, and we also took advantage of the hotel discount of 10-15% at local restaurants. Hinton's restaurants are both more plentiful and more reasonably priced than those in the parks. The full continental breakfast in the hotel lounge was a great way to start our day. The only thing that's a little strange here is the positioning of the hotel on the far end of Hinton. We thought we were out of Hinton altogether by the time we reached it. However if you have a vehicle, you won't mind being a few minutes out of the centre of the town. If we're ever back in Hinton, we will certainly stay here again.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Bozo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 388 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2008

It seemed OK in the evening, if overpriced. When we checked under the beds before leaving in the morning, we noticed a large quantity of used tissues under there from previous guests -- one can only guess what was in them. Not only that, but I and my partner have contracted a skin disease since. My doctor told me that it was "highly likely" that I got it from the hotel room, given the timing of when we were there. The place looked clean on first inspection, but finding those tissues really made me reconsider that opinion.

Lousy breakfast. Nowhere to sit to eat it. The muffins were OK though. We attempted to get some toast, but there was no butter and once that was provided, there was a lack of knives. We had to stand and eat and eventually went to our room. The counter staff seemed polite enough, but had a 8 or 9 year old child running around trying to do work (and unable to reach countertops), which was cute, but just wasn't working. Especially as she seemed to be attempting to do the breakfast work and wasn't being spoken to all that nicely.

Lousy and overpriced. Jasper was great but the hotel wasn't.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Archane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

As it was a holiday weekend and almost all rooms in Jasper were booked, we decided to stay overnight in Hinton. Based partly on TripAdvisor reviews, we chose the Super 8 as it had a pool which appealed to our children. What they failed to mention, was that the pool wasn't heated - at least not on the night we stayed there. It was ice cold!

After our "polar plunge", we headed back to our room - exhausted after a day of skiing at Marmot Basin (great conditions!). The room was clean and contained a fridge and microwave. Unfortunately, the sleep didn't go any better than the swim. Whenever the fridge cycled on, it was so loud that it woke me up. The toilet in this room and the next shook the walls when flushed.

The next morning, the kids' excitement over the included breakfast was quickly squelched when they saw the offering. The choices included white bread, greasy store-bought muffins, and cereal. This was Feb 19 and they were still serving the red and green Christmas Rice Krispies!

Overall, the rooms were clean, the staff was pleasant, but the pool, room noise, and breakfast were disappointing. If the room was $89, I could forgive some of the shortcomings, but for $139, this stay was far overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Vegman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Stayed overnight on way through to Jasper National Park. Absolutely standard - nothing wrong with it except the price but I guess that relates to its position right next to Jasper and the park. Room clean. Incredibly noisy heater - we left it on for a few minutes and then turned it off, otherwise we would have got no sleep at all. Breakfast fine - all edible but not much choice. However, reception recommended the nearby Rancher's Restaurant next to the Esso Fuel Station. Very definitely a mistake. Slow service, very poor food - one chicken 'cordon bleu' inedible because not properly cooked - when taken away, returned in exactly the same condition. Servers among the dumbest I came across in Canada. Definitely a place to avoid.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BucksWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Typical Super 8 location. Nice place, cheaper price than other local hotels, lousy breakfast. East of town a bit. Way overpriced compared to other Super 8 locations.

Avoid the Smitty's pancake house/coffee shoppe in town; I left after waiting 45 minutes for two fried eggs and four sausages. The cook wasn't comfortable making breakfast items in the evening, whatever that means.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

We were truly impressed with Super 8 Motel in Hinton, Alberta. We were planning on staying in Jasper on our drive south through the Ice Fields Parkway to Banff. But none of the hotels in Jasper impressed me. Almost all of the hotels in Jasper are not worth the high price you pay. So I looked on the map and realized that Hinton is a 1/1.5 hour drive north of Jasper. All we wanted to do was to sleep the night and then go on with our adventure through the rockies.

I am the kind of person who always stays at 5 star hotels and I was hesitant about staying at a motel. But I was pleasantly suprised with Super 8 Motel in Hinton. The room was got was very spacious. There was a small stove, fridge, and microwave in our room. Thr bathroom was large and clean. We had cable tv in the room and the decor was in many ways better than 5 star hotels in Europe. The motel building is pretty new. There is a complimentary parking lot in front of the motel. For the amount of money you are paying, this motel gives all hotels in Jasper a run for the money.

I recommend reserving through Super 8 website directly. A 'breakfast' is complimentary with the motel. Just the basics: toast, jam, muffins, juice, and coffee. Only four tables in the dining area...so you might have to wait to eat.

The staff were friendly as well. The town of Hinton is fine if you are staying for only 1 or 2 nights. More than that you will find it is like some 'heck town' in the mid western US.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sohrevardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
12
Reviewed April 23, 2006

The staff were amazing, the rooms were actually clean, and the free breakfast was great! I will visit again for sure, now that i know there is actually a motel out there that is clean! best stay ever! highl recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hinton hotels
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#5 of 17 in Hinton
179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Hinton
Days Inn Hinton
#11 of 17 in Hinton
310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#6 of 17 in Hinton
284 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hinton

Address: 284 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: $69 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hinton 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 in Hinton, recipient of the 2008 Housekeeping Award from Alberta Tourism, Parks, Recreation and Culture, is conveniently located near beautiful Jasper. We offer our guests a rich list of amenities that includes a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet Access, Indoor Pool and Whirlpool, Movie Channel, Executive Suites, Premium Rooms, Kitchen Units, In-Room Coffee, Fridge, Microwave, Hair Dryer, and Alarm Clock. Pets are Allowed with Permission. See you along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Hinton
Hinton Super 8
Hinton Super Eight
Super 8 Hinton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing