We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously?!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Hinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Hinton
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Seriously?!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I'm sorry to say that this property failed to live up to the reduced standards of a free reward stay. My kitchenette suite had a sad, dated air to it, and it's clear that the unit had seen better days. While the bedroom was clean enough, the bathroom sink was partially plugged by chips or cheesies(!) -- not something that I wanted to see, and certainly nothing that I wanted to handle!

I also booked a room for my father and his partner, and they reported the next day that the unit did not have a bathroom door(!). This is outrageous -- how could ANYONE rent out a room that didn't have a bathroom door in it? Aren't there regulations for this??

I did feel sorry for the front counter staff, who did their best to deal with a bad situation. Still, we couldn't even check in at 3 p.m. as promised -- we had to return at 6:00 p.m., and the cleaning staff were still busy at that time. I certainly sympathise with anyone who had to pay to stay at this dump.

Room Tip: Check to see that the bathroom has a door on it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidcalgary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiv b, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

We are so very sorry that your stay with Super 8 was not meeting your needs.

I have spoken to all departments regarding your concerns and in the future we hope that your next stay with us will be Super.

Debra

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    76
    97
    80
    61
See reviews for
161
73
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way back home, and there had been a fatal accident on the highway, so was closed, so we found ourselves needing a hotel for the night, super 8 in Hinton, the hotel was very nice, the bed was beautiful we had a great sleep, we declined on the breakfast because it was full of people, probably some of them same reason as us for staying there, but the the staff was awesome, and the hotel was very good, will recommend to my family when they visit from the UK,thanks super 8 Hinton.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughdillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiv b, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your comment.

It makes all of us at Super8 in Hinton very pleased that your stay with us was pleasant.

Debra

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

An okay hotel for one night but would not stay there again. Breakfast was very basic ... no yogurt. Room was very big. Fridge was not plugged in so had to figure that one out. Front desk was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L, Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I am very sorry to hear your stay with us was not what you expected. I have spoken to staff regarding the fridge not being plugged back in. When regular defrosting is required it is for safety reasons they are unplugged.
I do hope we will see you again next time you are back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hinton hotels
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#5 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#1 of 17 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Hinton
Days Inn Hinton
#14 of 17 in Hinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hinton

Property: Super 8 Hinton
Address: 284 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hinton 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 in Hinton, recipient of the 2008 Housekeeping Award from Alberta Tourism, Parks, Recreation and Culture, is conveniently located near beautiful Jasper. We offer our guests a rich list of amenities that includes a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet Access, Indoor Pool and Whirlpool, Movie Channel, Executive Suites, Premium Rooms, Kitchen Units, In-Room Coffee, Fridge, Microwave, Hair Dryer, and Alarm Clock. Pets are Allowed with Permission. See you along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Hinton
Hinton Super 8
Hinton Super Eight
Super 8 Hinton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing