We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for the Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Hinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Hinton
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
EDMONTON
1 review
“Good Value for the Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is good if you are looking for a place to stay for the night. If you are expecting something high-end then this is probably not the place for you. The beds are starting to become well-worn although they are still fine for a rest. And the swimming pool deck is very slippery when it is wet. But if you are looking for a decent place to stay at a reasonable rate this hotel gives you good value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shiv b, General Manager at Super 8 Hinton, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
we appreciate your review about to stay at super8 hinton is good value for money. And yes we have all the new beds & we add boiled egg and waffle in our superstart continental breakfast menu. we would try to maintain our standard high-end to see you here again. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    75
    97
    80
    61
See reviews for
158
72
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan,England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A standard Super 8.Room was clean and comfortable.Indian owners very helpful.Early morning noise from truckers starting their engines and leaving them running for ages to warm up.Reported this to the early morning receptionist but nothing was done about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWigan_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just outside Banff so its cheaper than staying in the park but over priced and dirty. Its your standard Super 8 but not maintained as well as it could be. Pubic hair on toilet and in bathtub, makes me wonder if the room was cleaned before we arrived. Dim lit halls and a damp odor to the hotel. Nice pool for the kids. If you want to eat the continental breakfast show up early because there are few tables and the dining room is smaller than my livingroom. For a place this size, maybe they should provide more seating for people to eat. Beds kind of worn out but could have been worse. To sum it up; I chose to stay at that hotel and Super 8 should make you feel good for choosing them, not make you feel like you settled for them

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Place is well off remain so little noise. There is a pool. Breakfast is the most basic possible. Room cleanliness is not the best. Found money on the floor, a lip balm and around the bed was very dusty. Sheets were clean and no bed bugs at least!
Would not go back and will have to be stuck before so called Super 8 gets me again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank danoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hinton hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was a terrible experience. There were dead moths in the hotel, the room was dirty and smelled terrible. There were rotting pieces of food stuck in the air conditioning unit. The beds were very old and quite uncomfortable. The fridge in the room was SO noisy you could barely sleep. The only reasonable thing is the pool, which is small but decent.

The staff was very unhelpful - when asking for a pillow, for example, we were told "The number of pillows in each room is a Super 8 standard". They also charge a lot more than the quoted rate you see online, so beware!! We ended up paying almost $200 for a single room for four people (taxes included).

Finally, their breakfast was terrible. The juices were almost completely watered down, and they had a very limited selection (e.g. only one type of tea). Worst of all, a lot of their bagels were growing mould on them.

All in all, the experience was not worth the quoted rate - let alone the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lobby side of the hotel (e.g. room numbers below 15) smell a lot less than rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my 2nd stay here (last visit was 3 years ago) and I was impressed again.

The hotel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful. The breakfast is decent and there's lots of room to enjoy your meal. The pool is well-kept and fun for all ages.

One complaint - I booked on Wyndham's website, and was promised a room that would sleep 5 persons. When I got there, I was told I'd need a cot for 5 persons as there was only 2 queen beds in the room. The cot cost me $15.99 extra, which is unfair when I took care to book a room for 5 and was quoted a specific rate.

Location is not great for Hinton (on the extreme east end of town), but that's no issue. It's right on the Highway and only 45 minutes from jasper, so location is just fine thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blyoungsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

When I did a little research where I wanted to spend the night in Hinton, this place got good reviews and it was affordable via the advertised rate. I thought I was getting a good deal and opted out of camping in the cold, mucky and rainy weather.

Even though this place got good reviews, I found it to be the opposite. The professionalism of the staff was lacking and the cleaners were not doing their jobs. The walls were marked up and dirty. Parts of the bathroom floor was filthy and quite built up in some areas.

I found stuff from previous guests lying around on the floor.

1 out of the 4 bathroom lights were not working. The tub had a very slow drain and there was no alarm clock in my room.

The advertised price of the room was $60 - $109. We were charged $153.00 - including taxes. (We had some special trip money saved up and we decided to splurge on something more than a motel, just for a treat.) I have some regrets after the money I paid to stay here and it was not worth what I paid for. I would have been better off at a mom and pop motel than to stay there.

I will stick with and support the mom and pop motels! At least with them I get what I pay for and I am not disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank db03242014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hinton hotels
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#6 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#1 of 17 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hinton

Property: Super 8 Hinton
Address: 284 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hinton 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 in Hinton, recipient of the 2008 Housekeeping Award from Alberta Tourism, Parks, Recreation and Culture, is conveniently located near beautiful Jasper. We offer our guests a rich list of amenities that includes a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet Access, Indoor Pool and Whirlpool, Movie Channel, Executive Suites, Premium Rooms, Kitchen Units, In-Room Coffee, Fridge, Microwave, Hair Dryer, and Alarm Clock. Pets are Allowed with Permission. See you along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Hinton
Hinton Super 8
Hinton Super Eight
Super 8 Hinton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing