We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth your money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Hinton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Hinton
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not worth your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was a terrible experience. There were dead moths in the hotel, the room was dirty and smelled terrible. There were rotting pieces of food stuck in the air conditioning unit. The beds were very old and quite uncomfortable. The fridge in the room was SO noisy you could barely sleep. The only reasonable thing is the pool, which is small but decent.

The staff was very unhelpful - when asking for a pillow, for example, we were told "The number of pillows in each room is a Super 8 standard". They also charge a lot more than the quoted rate you see online, so beware!! We ended up paying almost $200 for a single room for four people (taxes included).

Finally, their breakfast was terrible. The juices were almost completely watered down, and they had a very limited selection (e.g. only one type of tea). Worst of all, a lot of their bagels were growing mould on them.

All in all, the experience was not worth the quoted rate - let alone the price we paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lobby side of the hotel (e.g. room numbers below 15) smell a lot less than rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    75
    97
    80
    61
See reviews for
158
72
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my 2nd stay here (last visit was 3 years ago) and I was impressed again.

The hotel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful. The breakfast is decent and there's lots of room to enjoy your meal. The pool is well-kept and fun for all ages.

One complaint - I booked on Wyndham's website, and was promised a room that would sleep 5 persons. When I got there, I was told I'd need a cot for 5 persons as there was only 2 queen beds in the room. The cot cost me $15.99 extra, which is unfair when I took care to book a room for 5 and was quoted a specific rate.

Location is not great for Hinton (on the extreme east end of town), but that's no issue. It's right on the Highway and only 45 minutes from jasper, so location is just fine thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blyoungsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

When I did a little research where I wanted to spend the night in Hinton, this place got good reviews and it was affordable via the advertised rate. I thought I was getting a good deal and opted out of camping in the cold, mucky and rainy weather.

Even though this place got good reviews, I found it to be the opposite. The professionalism of the staff was lacking and the cleaners were not doing their jobs. The walls were marked up and dirty. Parts of the bathroom floor was filthy and quite built up in some areas.

I found stuff from previous guests lying around on the floor.

1 out of the 4 bathroom lights were not working. The tub had a very slow drain and there was no alarm clock in my room.

The advertised price of the room was $60 - $109. We were charged $153.00 - including taxes. (We had some special trip money saved up and we decided to splurge on something more than a motel, just for a treat.) I have some regrets after the money I paid to stay here and it was not worth what I paid for. I would have been better off at a mom and pop motel than to stay there.

I will stick with and support the mom and pop motels! At least with them I get what I pay for and I am not disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank db03242014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hinton hotels

Blackfalds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This has been our 2nd stay at this location now, and we will be back again and again when in the area!! Such friendly staff, very clean, the accept dogs, the pool is nice & the hot tub even better....The complimentary breakfast is a bit lacking, all they offer is cereal, toast, bagels, juice & coffee, oh but the muffins they have are amazing though!! But we don't go for the free breakfast, it's a good price, and if you book on line more than 7 days in advance through Wyndam Rewards, you can get a good deal......I highly recommend this location!!

Room Tip: The only thing about this location is that it is located on the east end of town, kind of out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The staff are very nice, the hotel is clean....but a little older. I did find that the furniture in my room was old, and stained (but clean). There is no elevator to the second floor, but that was just fine with me. The breakfast was very basic, just toast, cereal, muffins, coffee and juice. I booked a coperate rate, but realized after I checked out that they charged me the rack rate - and five different rates, over ten nights for the same room. I would stay there again, but would make sure they charged the booked coperate rate, not the rack rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhschatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Dirtiest hotel ever stayed in... Never coming back... Dust everywhere... Coffe maker Pot still has water on it left by the last guest & so dusty... Shower curtains are old & stained... A misplaced pen on top of the microwave... Thin pillows w/ stinky duvet... Fridge is making a sound... Carpet floor sticky... horrible!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2stepsforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a very clean hotel and the serivce is great. However, that does not justify the rate of 159$/night. I was able to deal them down to 119$/night and they were very good about it. The rooms are very basic and the walls are paper thin but, very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hinton hotels
3.1 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#5 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#1 of 17 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hinton

Property: Super 8 Hinton
Address: 284 Smith St, Hinton, Alberta T7V 2A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hinton 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 in Hinton, recipient of the 2008 Housekeeping Award from Alberta Tourism, Parks, Recreation and Culture, is conveniently located near beautiful Jasper. We offer our guests a rich list of amenities that includes a Complimentary Continental Breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet Access, Indoor Pool and Whirlpool, Movie Channel, Executive Suites, Premium Rooms, Kitchen Units, In-Room Coffee, Fridge, Microwave, Hair Dryer, and Alarm Clock. Pets are Allowed with Permission. See you along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Hinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Hinton
Hinton Super 8
Hinton Super Eight
Super 8 Hinton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing