We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive for the food quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Earl's - CLOSED

Earl's
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Canadian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the food quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Ordered 3 burgers for myself and the kids , had to order BBQ sauce to add any kind of flavor to the dish . Fries were not fresh made but similar to mcdonalds ones . My wife had the new salmon salad . Salmon completely dry and when we complained they brought us some form of butter sauce . Salad does have no flavor . We did complain and got it for free . Food seems to be getting worse too bad used to come here as a treat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Front101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food good beer hot waitresses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Earl's own beer is very good!
Waitresses are very good looking!
Ribs and chicken are amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bad Execution of a Good Formula”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I've eaten twice at Earl's in Abbotsford twice over the last year. Consistently, at the bar, the service is awful. On both visits, I was seated for more than 5 minutes before I received a menu and waiting more than 10 minutes before my first drink was delivered. The bar is extremely small, though the seating area around it is quite large. There is apparently no service bar as the bartender is almost always busy making drinks for tables.

The food is very good and simple but well-presented, though a bit pricey for its quality. On both visits, mistakes were made with my order that were resolved just at the same slow pace of the actual service

Other Earl's properties provide the same menu and aren't nearly as terrible for service and have even larger bars. It seems like this location is poorly executing the otherwise sound Earl's formula.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeBlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandahaines, Public Relations Manager at Earl's, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visits to Earls.

I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed by your experiences at our Abbotsford restaurant. I have forwarded your review to the location’s General Manager, John Perlinger. It would be greatly appreciated if you could send me your contact information so that John can address your concerns with you directly.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this review. Because of this you are allowing us the very valuable opportunity to improve our food and service standards and you are alerting us to an issue that we may not have been aware of.

We hope that we can rectify this situation for you and regain your trust and patronage. We appreciate your patience while you are contacted.

Sincerely,

Amanda Haines
Earls Restaurants Ltd.
(t) 604-716-5196
(e) ahaines@earls.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great food, kinda pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

Great food, kinda pricey

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl's also viewed

Abbotsford, British Columbia
Abbotsford, British Columbia
 
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Abbotsford, British Columbia
 
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Abbotsford, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing