We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed with this Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavaria Restaurant

Bavaria Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 320 Restaurants in Abbotsford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed with this Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband took me to Bavaria for my birthday dinner.... this was the second time we had eaten at this restaurant. We were seated quickly and given menus. We had to wait at least ten minutes before a server asked if we wanted anything to drink. Our server was more interested in chatting with her friends that were sitting at the bar then attending to her tables. One of the other servers tried to tend to our table as much as she could. We ordered steak and it was not great. We will not eat there again, mainly because of the service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
381 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great food ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We are fortunate to live within half a mile of this great restaurant. How lucky can you get?
The Bavaria specializes in schnitzels, but every other dish we have ever tried has been excellent. The portion are generous, hot, and the service is attentive but not overpowering. Every entree order comes with a complimentary bowl of the house goulasch soup. This is seriously good! The soups is also available for "take home", a 4 litre bucket is only $16.00 ... you can't beat this deal on a cold winter day! The restaurant is located on a side street in a commercial area. It is always busy, even mid-week. Reservations are definitely recommended for weekends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
“Great night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went to Bavaria with 5 other friends last Saturday.Place was so busy.Service was very good,food delicious.We really enjoyed our evening!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
“You can change the menu but you cant change horrible food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

First went to bavaria awhile ago and it took forever to get seated even though we had a reservation we finally got seated without menus then had to track down the waitress to get menus then we had to wait 30 minutes to even order a drink and appetizer then another hour to recieve our meal wich was gross steak was well done and like rubber when it was supposed to be medium ..... Second time at Bavaria we thought we would give it another chance only to be sadly mistaken Slow service well pretty much no service and even worse food the lobster was cheap caribbean lobster and the steak clearly had some kind of mass or tumor on the meat and when we sent it back with one of the girls wandering around not our waitress cause shes no were to be found our waitress came back 20 minutes later not even asking if we want something else asked what was wrong we told her and she just walked away we stood up and asked for the bill got the bill and they charged us for 75% of the steak that we sent back when we asked about it the waitress she gave us attitude while walking away saying the owner told me to do it ... sad way to operate a business Bad food and horrible service if any at all .....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miamisunset99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was good, service wasn't”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently took my daughter and her fiance to this restaurant wanting to try something new in town. The service was very slow and we had to ask for refills of water. They charged for each glass of pop which most restaurants don't. Then one of us had a steak that about 1/4 of was bad. When we let the waitress know she didn't appear to care, but said she'd get us another one. We declined as that would be too much to eat, but she didn't offer to give us a discount or anything. We waited quite awhile to get the check which was a bit annoying. You also had to climb a steep set of stairs which would make it hard for anyone with a disability to get to. I didn't see any elevator. While most of the food was good I don't know that I'd bother going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dani4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavaria Restaurant also viewed

Abbotsford, British Columbia
Abbotsford, British Columbia
 
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Abbotsford, British Columbia
 

Been to Bavaria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing