We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for what you get.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Choo Choo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Choo Choo's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Douglas
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant has been around forever - hasn't changed much. Still too expensive for lunch and only o.k. food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pizzadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and atmosphere, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Recently dined here for a family birthday dinner and we had a lovely meal. The food was fantastic and the service was just awesome! The girl looking after us (a young lady from Mexico) was so friendly and personable and absolutely nailed every meal and every drink (for a group of 16), I was sure she must have been working here for ages but was informed at the end of our meal that it was only her 2nd shift! She is a true gem, hang on to her Choo Choos! The food was delicious, great home made buns, just nice, real, fresh food and very nice beer selection as well. The trains and decor made for a very happy and entertained 2 year old birthday girl.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TH604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best schnitzel in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my third visit to Choo Choo's restaurant in the last month, so this tells you how popular it is. One visit was with 20 women and everything went very smoothly with everyone getting their orders on time and excellent quality. Their schnitzel is to die for but not for the picky eater as it is a very large portion and cooked to perfection. The pizza looked amazing, as well as the chicken, salads, and of course, the deserts are out of this world. Terry is a wonderful host and his family helps with the ordering and serving, etc. It is not cheap, but you can get a coupon for $11. off for your birthday and it is definitely worth the visit. Kids adore the trains that continually circle the rooms the whole time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hidden Beer Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have been going to Choo Choo's off and on for over five years. There was never anything spectacular about the food, it was good and the service has always been outstanding. Last week I was there and discovered that they have what is probably the largest selection of Craft Beer on tap and in the bottle in Langley. I was amazed at the selection of beer and the knowledge of the staff. Talked with the bartender for a while and she does know her beer very well. For anyone who likes a good beer, weather you like an IPA or a Ported or a good Lager head on over to Choo Choo's for some good food and great beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went here for lunch last week for the very first time with friends and our little girl of almost 3 years old. I think she must have been in train heaven. She loved the fact that she could grab some trains at the entrance to play with at the table. She loves Thomas the train & Friends and there were quite some of these characters to play with. There is also a train that goes around a track through the restaurant close to the ceiling. It really is a great place for children and I must say that it was very quiet in the restaurant even though there were quite a few kids there...it must have been all those train toys and the train decor.

Okay, now on to the food. We ordered the chicken tenders with 2 different dips and we had the mac'n cheese stix (macaroni and cheese breaded and deep fried) with 2 different dips as well. Both of these starters were very tasty. Our daughter loved the chicken tenders. As a main course we had the clubhouse sandwich and the roast beef sandwich (this one was the special of the day, I believe). Both were delicious and served with yummy french fries...almost as good as the ones I am used to from Belgium! ;)

The service was great and we enjoyed our lunch very much. Definitely a place where I'd love go for a meal again in the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnInBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choo Choo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Langley City, Langley
Langley City, Langley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing