We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting restaurant with good food”
Review of Choo Choo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Choo Choo's Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Douglas
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant with good food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went here for lunch last week for the very first time with friends and our little girl of almost 3 years old. I think she must have been in train heaven. She loved the fact that she could grab some trains at the entrance to play with at the table. She loves Thomas the train & Friends and there were quite some of these characters to play with. There is also a train that goes around a track through the restaurant close to the ceiling. It really is a great place for children and I must say that it was very quiet in the restaurant even though there were quite a few kids there...it must have been all those train toys and the train decor.

Okay, now on to the food. We ordered the chicken tenders with 2 different dips and we had the mac'n cheese stix (macaroni and cheese breaded and deep fried) with 2 different dips as well. Both of these starters were very tasty. Our daughter loved the chicken tenders. As a main course we had the clubhouse sandwich and the roast beef sandwich (this one was the special of the day, I believe). Both were delicious and served with yummy french fries...almost as good as the ones I am used to from Belgium! ;)

The service was great and we enjoyed our lunch very much. Definitely a place where I'd love go for a meal again in the future.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnInBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dinner in peace...”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was the first dinner in a very long time that we have taken our two young children and still had an enjoyable meal. Between the trains that they loan you, the train that runs around the restaurant ceiling and the restaurant decor it was hit! The menu is extensive and I was told that almost all of the items on the menu are made from scratch. My hamburger and soup were both very good (homemade buns - yum). All staff were warm, friendly, helpful and prompt. We are looking forward to returning for a Breakfast with Santa in December.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camehometosnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Three of us seniors recently had an evening meal at Choo Choo’s. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and were quickly seated. Two of us ordered one of the specials, which was a pasta dish and a caesar salad side. The third ordered a quarter chicken. The server was pleasant and the meals arrived in a reasonable time. The chicken/baked potato meal was delicious, and the pasta was very tasty. Portions were a reasonable size for seniors, although the caesar salad portion was skimpy. Choo Choo’s offers a free desert to patrons celebrating a birthday, which was the case for two of us. Deserts were chosen fro a desert tray. We shared a carmel-topped cheesecake which was nice and light, and the other was a gigantic layered chocolate cake - with seven different types of chocolate. This tasted fantastic, and the portion was so gigantic that we could’t finish it, but took the leftover home. Would eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prairiehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I eat here at least once a week”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fresh made. The best things are the potatoe soup -yummy full of bacon. The macaroni sticks appetizer. The pizza. The ribs the music and the wonderful decor. If you like old stuff and also trains you have to spend time here. Finish the visit off with a delicious peice of Big Bad Bob! This is the best place in Langley and the owners and staff are the best - like a family. Bring the kids to play with the many toy trains at the table.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank canadian-moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Child friendly dining”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My kids enjoy going here for the train and the decor. We play " I spy" to pass the time.
Can't say the menu is great, it's rather dull & the service is slow but its somewhere to grab a bite with the kids.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choo Choo's Restaurant also viewed

Langley City, Langley
Langley City, Langley
 
Langley City, Langley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing