We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ta-ke Sushi Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ta-ke Sushi Buffet
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I think this is the worst sushi buffet I've been to so far. I knew this place was crappy, but I didn't realize it would be THIS bad. Other than the look of the place (kind of, not really), everything else is just HORRIBLE.
First of all, the service was just bad. We were greeted by a waiter as soon as we walked in. No wait, not greeted, she just told us there would be extra charge $5, if you waste food. She also said we only have 2 hours stay…., Not even a hi. No tea No water.
The prices are too high. Not worth the money $53/2 person Sunday lunch.
I will never come back here.
If you want to throw away your money.. by all means, eat at this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank qpzm1619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Sucked. We wanted to dine and dash but am too honest. Overpriced, lousy food and service. Tried to complain but hostess played no understand card.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like it's called buffet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Arrived on a tues evening excited for the all you can eat sushi for twenty dollars. We got to ta-ke about seven o'clock. There were four other people in this restaurant. This place will not be here long. How can they do a buffet when they are not getting the people. There was four pieces of tampura so we asked if they would make some more with prawns. They said yes and brought out four more pieces and no prawns. Other dish s were cold and not much of it. Sushi was ok nothing great. We we re the only four people in the restaurant by seven thirty. Maybe they should only be open for the weekends. Poor location for them don't know how many people they would get in there for lunch during the week. Won't go back we all said that it was horrible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Promises a lot but under delivers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were excited to dine here as it's a lovely venue and we miss the Mexican that was previously there. Initial impressions were positive, there were more people there than we were used to seeing. We were quickly shown to our table by attentive staff - a hall mark of the evening, the staff were ALWAYS attentive and helpful. Asked if we wanted green tea or water we opted for the tea. We were then presented with the bill (<$60 for two) and told to help ourselves.

We did a quick reconnaisance around all there was on offer then for pass 1 we went for soup (Miso for me) and sushi. The sushi was not as elegantly constructed as we've seen in other places. The salmon for example tailed off the rice as tho' unfinished. The sashimi just didn't seem to have been cut "expertly" and the temperature was a little higher than I would have liked, (See later). The rolls were "OK".

For the 2nd stab we went for the Chinese/Korean buffet. There was a preponderance of grease. The dim sum was good but prettty much everything else (including the tempura) was too greasy. The yam fries for the (cold) fish and chips glistened. The crab SEEMED to be deep fried rather than pan fried (this is subjective but..).

There was no drinks menu though the person on the table next to us was drinking beer. We don't know it he brought his own or whether there was an undocumented alcohol option.

We left disappointed. Service was good - at one stage seeing how much green tea we were drinking we were given our own teapot to serve ourselves - but the food ultimately disappointed. And about 2 hours after dining I took to the smallest room and remained there for some time. I'd eaten nothing else that day so whilst I cannot claim a definite casual relationship I'd hesitate to eat there again. :(.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Decker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta-ke Sushi Buffet also viewed

 
Langley City, Langley
Langley City, Langley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing