We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst sleep in years” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Langley City
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst sleep in years”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have stayed here a few times per year for the past few years. I usually rate this hotel highly for its many strengths. It is always neat and tidy, clean and modern, and the staff have been generally helpful. The breakfast is above-average, and the pool area is nice.

What ruined my stay this time was the bonehead who wired the HVAC unit in the room to a motion sensor and timer. The heating, AC, or fan will remain on so long as people are moving in the room. Approximately 60-90 minutes after sensing no movement in the room, it will shut itself off. As a result, after setting the room to comfortable conditions and crawling into bed, you will likely wake up later in the night to find the room uncomfortably hot, cold, or stagnant. I had to get out of bed repeatedly through the night and walk in front of the motion sensor in order the get the HVAC running again. While I realize this was likely installed as an energy-saving feature, I seriously question the intellectual capacity of the person who decided to have this installed in such a way. It boggles my mind. As a result, I spent most of the night trying to get back to sleep. The first night I thought it was just my wife turning it off, but realized part way through the second night what was going on. I was too tired to bring it up with the staff before leaving, as I had a long drive home and wanted to get there before falling asleep.

Another thing I found tacky was they way they do not honor the BC Gov't Employee rates as negotiated by the province of BC. I have always had them book the room as such, only to find they bill $3-$10 above the negotiated rate. I have brought this to their attention in the past, and even brought in the rate schedule to show them, but they seem surprised to see this. They have eventually agreed to bill at the proper price. However, I have finally gotten tired of having to haggle for the correct rate and just payed it. For a hotel that seems to take pride in its attention to detail, I find it hard to believe this is merely an accident. I find it distasteful and tacky. Minor, but perhaps telling.

Finally, I found the beds hard and springy, though this may just come down to a matter of personal preference.

I left my 2 night stay feeling exhausted, and will consider other hotels in the area next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLGCA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your detailed and candid feedback, and for your continued patronage as a return customer. Your recognition of our strengths is also genuinely appreciated.
Your comments regarding the energy saving feature of the A/C system will be closely examined and studied by our management team. The system, as you have mentioned, has been in place for years with satisfactory results, however it does not mean that we cannot seek ways to more efficiently regulate airflow while saving energy with better technologies that may be available nowadays. With that said, we might have been able to come up with a more immediate workaround for you prior to your departure, should be able to share your dissatisfaction with us during your stay.

It was not our intention to confuse or not honor our customer with the BC government rate which we have been proudly offering for more than a decade, and it does fluctuate season to season and year to year. There could have been some inadvertent programming gaps which have caused the confusion. In light of this, we have since reviewed and recalibrated all our systems with the official government procurement directory to ensure that everything is accurately synchronized and displayed. I can assure you that similar confusion will not happen again in the future.

On behalf of the team, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay and express our appreciation for your constructive feedback. In addition, I would like to personally discuss your comments with you in finer details and hope to invite you back in the near future. Please email myself at jleung@hielangley.com at your convenience.

Regards,

Jeff Leung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    71
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
53
31
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel seemed newer, but also seemed run down for its age. We stayed here for one night. It is a convenient location. The room was clean. The décor was cheaply selected. There was no King size beds (left?) so we stayed in 2 queens. The beds were ok. I'm picky when it comes to hotels and this did the job for the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenLoverinAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear GoldenLoverinAB,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I've stayed here a few times for business over the last couple months. I would say the things I like about it are: Very reasonable price. Location is just off the hwy which is great, lots of restaurants near by. Fast internet. Good complimentary breakfast. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. What I would like is if it had a restaurant attached for room service and silencers installed on the ice machines(or just a room further away). A great option in Langley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have always had excellent experiences at Holiday Inn Express hotels and this was no exception. Clean, friendly and well maintained. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the spacious bathroom was a nice feature. Would defintely return to this property on future visits to the Lower Mainland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the entrance side of the hotel. Being on the freeway side is a little noisier if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyndall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We've stayed at this property on a number of occasions. They provided a welcome bag on arrival. Staff were accommodating. Rooms pretty new & nice. Serve complementary breakfast, moderate number of choices by standard "free breakfast" type food. Prices were not great. We ended up trying out some other properties in the area (there are quite a few), because we found the price on this one a bit high.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sixstoriesBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very clean and comfortable! Great location, easy to get to and very close to US border, White Rock, and Ferry to Vancouver Island. Staff are helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast included! We always stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank burdenbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel location is right near the highway but also has quick access to several local restaurants as well as the Colossus Theatre. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is quite clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner rooms next to the very noisy ice machines. Less of an issue unless you like your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scbcme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Langley City hotels
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Langley
Days Inn & Suites - Langley
#1 of 12 in Langley City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Langley Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Langley Inn
#2 of 12 in Langley City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Langley Hotel
Sandman Signature Langley Hotel
#7 of 12 in Langley City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel - Langley
Sandman Hotel - Langley
#8 of 12 in Langley City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Langley City
Travelodge Langley City
#5 of 12 in Langley City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
8.6 mi away
Super 8 Langley/Aldergrove
Super 8 Langley/Aldergrove
#6 of 12 in Langley City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley
Address: 8750 204 St, Langley City, British Columbia V1M 2Y5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Langley > Langley City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Langley City
#5 Business Hotel in Langley City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Stay You" at our newly renovated, 4 green key rated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley, with complimentary HOT breakfast buffet and high speed internet access, as well as various on-site amenities such as pool, steam room, sauna, fitness centre, and 24 hour coffee served in our cozy Great Room, and wonderfully appointed guest rooms and suites that would exceed all your expectations no matter if you are traveling for business or pleasure. Stay rewarded with us and earn industry leading Priority Club Rewards points or airline mileage points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Langley
Holiday Inn Langley City
Langley City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley Langley City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing