We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Find!”

Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN YEAR ROUND Monday to Saturday. A world Class Miniature Wonderland Experience. 4000 sq ft. of family fun with up to 45 computer controlled trains traveling on 2 km (1 1/4 miles) of tracks weaving through mountains and towns. Discover the 18000 + hand-painted little people and animals in scale 1:87 (HO) placed in humorous and funny situations and scenes. You'll be impressed with the devotion to details and the charm and humor of the presentation. Watch with delight, the unique operational car system running through towns, stopping for gas and traffic lights. So much more than just Trains.When driving from downtown Osoyoos, take Hwy 3 towards Vancouver (about 3 km.) Turn left at the SECOND enterance into the Buena Vista Industrial Park onto 115th Street. Look for the yellow warehouse with the big signs out front.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

WOW! Such detail! So intricate and well done. Reasonably priced too. We loved it! Highly recommend it to all visitors and locals in the Valley – definitely worth the trip to Osoyoos! Loved the carnival with the Ferris wheel, especially at “night”, the working gondola on the ski hill, the wedding and funeral displays, the soccer games and swim meets and the forest fire on the mountain. Three items of note – there is a brothel/streetwalker area (but we blew right by and never even noticed it!), a nude beach (but the figurines are so small, I’d hardly call it offensive) and a sex shop with a thong-clad figure on the roof (hard not to notice this one). If you have kids with you and are leery of these areas, ask the owner to point them out for you ahead of time.

Thank WestbankJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsoyoosRailroad, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your rave review of our model railroad and we sure do appreciate your high recommendation.
You are certainly mentioning a lot of the highlights, which people respond to and remember from their visit to us.
Yes, we do have a nude beach and it is tucked away behind a bridge, so you really have to look for it. We do get many visitors and the very first thing they ask for upon entering the train room, is indeed the nude beach, so it is a very popular and much talked about feature.
We have created our own little fantasy world by copying as much from real life as we could possible think of and the fun and challenging part is always to do it as realistic as we have been able to. For instance in the underwater scene we have a sunken ship with treasures, a sub-marine with light (built from scrap pieces as no kit exists) and scuba divers around and there is also a little Mermaid with scuba divers around her. See if you can spot her next time.
Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"attention to detail"
in 54 reviews
"hand painted"
in 28 reviews
"all ages"
in 51 reviews
"amazing race"
in 17 reviews
"miniature world"
in 14 reviews
"amazing display"
in 13 reviews
"nude beach"
in 13 reviews
"trains running"
in 12 reviews
"square feet"
in 8 reviews
"could spend hours"
in 10 reviews
"rainy day"
in 15 reviews
"room lights"
in 6 reviews
"this place is amazing"
in 8 reviews
"hard work"
in 10 reviews
"little details"
in 6 reviews
"two hours"
in 15 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 12 reviews
Filter

467 - 471 of 551 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The effort that has gone into this is amazing. There is an impressive amount of detail in all the scenes. Look for the hippies in the sunflower garden.

Thank LN152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsoyoosRailroad, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for visiting us here at the model railroad and your kind review of our place. The hippies sure bring a lot of smiles to peoples faces and that’s what we are all about.
We hope to see you again.
Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As a model railroader myself this a completely biased review! This place is a great stop & I couldn't help but smile the whole way though my visit. Younger kids should love this place. Well worth the modest fees. It' s in the industrial section of town but well worth finding. Pay it a visit!

Thank Clwyd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsoyoosRailroad, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

It is always our pleasure when we get fellow model railroaders to come view our display, as they always bring a different perception. A lot of the model railroaders ask a lot of detailed questions about how the various scenes were created, so it is always nice to talk to them. I am glad that you find our admission prices modest, as we try to keep it very affordable for a family to come visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Thanks a lot for sharing. It was just great to see and I know that we missed some thing. We will be back with family and friend. It is very amazing to see. Thanks for sharing.

Thank Solange E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsoyoosRailroad, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

There are a lot of little details to discover on our model railroad display, and when you come around for another visit, you will even see things that you missed the first time around in areas, that you thought you have already done. So please bring your family and friends and then you can impress them with your knowledge and point out details for them to see. We look forward to seeing you again.
Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Who would have expected a world-class model railroad in Osoyoos, British Columbia, Canada? I've seen many, many layouts and the only one that compares to this can be found in San Diego. It's that good. And here's the twist - it's a German model railroad. The trains, buildings, and businesses are the type you'd find in Bavaria. Containing everything from 2 ski slopes (with working ski-lifts), beer halls, soccer fields, even a sex shop (well, it is Europe). The detail is incredible. The layout includes 20,000 tiny hand-painted human figures doing everything from building houses to demolishing factories.

Here's another twist: Every five minutes or so, the lights dim to simulate sunset and then, eventually, total darkness (except for the shop, street, and train lights). After a minute or so, "dawn" occurs and the lights slowly brighten again to full power.

This place appears to be a labour of love. It's run by some German-Canadian folks (I'm guessing most of them are family) and the admission charge of $7 for adults and $4 for kids is well, well worth it. If you're anywhere near the area, add it to your list of things to do.

Thank HeyNow-Hank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsoyoosRailroad, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Wow, what an excellent review you submitted about our model railroad. We like to think that it is world class, so it is good to get that confirmed.
The reason we have a German theme Is simply because all our trains are German Marklin trains in HO, and we can get the most accessories from that country regarding all the houses, factories etc. Also they have the very best quality of everything we need and especially the little people, which I hand-paint.
The dimming of the light is a favorite with most people, although we do have a few smaller kids, who do not enjoy the darkness of the room. If that’s the case just tell the guys operating the trains and they will keep it to a minimum.
Yes, it is a labour of love for all of us and no, we are not German. We are actually Danish, but to create scenes from Denmark would be very boring for us, as we do not have any mountains at all in our home country. It is a family run business.
Our admission charge is actually $7.50 for adults and $4.50 for kids between 2-12 years and the tax is included in the price, just to clear that up.
We hope to see you again here at the railroad.
Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad also viewed

 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing