We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a couples passion”

Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN YEAR ROUND Monday to Saturday. A world Class Miniature Wonderland Experience. 4000 sq ft. of family fun with up to 45 computer controlled trains traveling on 2 km (1 1/4 miles) of tracks weaving through mountains and towns. Discover the 18000 + hand-painted little people and animals in scale 1:87 (HO) placed in humorous and funny situations and scenes. You'll be impressed with the devotion to details and the charm and humor of the presentation. Watch with delight, the unique operational car system running through towns, stopping for gas and traffic lights. So much more than just Trains.When driving from downtown Osoyoos, take Hwy 3 towards Vancouver (about 3 km.) Turn left at the SECOND enterance into the Buena Vista Industrial Park onto 115th Street. Look for the yellow warehouse with the big signs out front.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a spot we visit at least once a year ever since the grandchildren arrived. Not only children love it but adults as wells. There are two large rooms of trains with villages and people. With computer it fades from day to night as the lights come on.It is really fun to look for the number of weddings or swimmers etc. There is a bit of humour for the adults. It also has helicopters that fly. It is not expensive and just fun.

Thank oliverBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

It is great to hear that you come on a regular basis to visit us here at the model train display. This summer in July 2013 we have been open 10 years for the public, and we have visitors, who have faithfully been coming every year with kids and grandkids, whom we have seen grow up. We are constantly changing things on the display, and we just finished putting in a Choppers Bike Shop. Especially the sign on the roof is something else to see at nighttime. We hope you and your grandkids will keep coming to visit us to discover new changes. Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 413 of 476 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The enthusiasm of this family for their miniature trains is immediately apparent when you enter the large upstairs display area. There were lots of unexpected vignettes that caused some laughs.

Thank KellyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

We are so glad that we could offer you some laughs as you went along our model railroad display. That’s the greatest incentive for us, that people get our sense of humour in creating little scenes within the big display. Thank you for coming to visit us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect but was amazed by what we saw. Definitely a labour of love and 1000's of hours put into this. I would even like to go back because you will NEVER see all there is to see.

Thank molson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you so much for coming to visit us here at the railroad. We are really glad that you liked our display and that you would like to come back. We keep changing and adding new things all the time. As a matter of fact we just added a police Smart car with flashing blue lights to our roadside police scene. It looks awesome, so come check it out. Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited the model railway with our grandson in November and were astounded at the scope,detail and love that had gone into building the railway and all the different layouts. It was a treat for all ages

Thank Bess-the-Departed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We would like to thank you for coming to see our model railroad display.We are just in the process of adding a worker who is lifting a man hole cover. Also there will be flashing light on a work truck as well, and I can't wait to see how it is all going to turn out. I just hope that the bus travelling in front will stay on the road all the time and not hit the poor worker, who will be lifting the cover all day long! Hope to see you again. Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

everything was amazing owners very friendly and informative. It was very inspiring to my husband to build his own . Great gift ideas.

Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for coming to visit our model railroad display.
I am so happy to hear that we have inspired your husband to build his own train display. All I can say is, that if he has half the fun we have had over the years creating ours, he will have a blast. Good luck with your new hobby and remember to just have fun with it.
Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad also viewed

Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing