We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the top attractions in the Province of British Columbia”

Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN YEAR ROUND Monday to Saturday. A world Class Miniature Wonderland Experience. 4000 sq ft. of family fun with up to 45 computer controlled trains traveling on 2 km (1 1/4 miles) of tracks weaving through mountains and towns. Discover the 18000 + hand-painted little people and animals in scale 1:87 (HO) placed in humorous and funny situations and scenes. You'll be impressed with the devotion to details and the charm and humor of the presentation. Watch with delight, the unique operational car system running through towns, stopping for gas and traffic lights. So much more than just Trains.When driving from downtown Osoyoos, take Hwy 3 towards Vancouver (about 3 km.) Turn left at the SECOND enterance into the Buena Vista Industrial Park onto 115th Street. Look for the yellow warehouse with the big signs out front.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the top attractions in the Province of British Columbia”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Desert Model Railroad should be on the itinerary of anybody travelling to or through the south Okanagan. I can't describe it any better than all of the other writers here, but I will say that I haven't been to the railroad in four years... and in that time, they've changed some of the layouts and added new and better things.

Also have a look at the posts below. The owner responds to every one of them. When was the last time you saw that happen on Trip Advisor. It shows that they care what their guests think and indicates to me again that the railroad is a true labour of love.

It took my wife and I and two young daughters two hours to see everything - and I'm not even sure we saw every great detail, in-joke or Easter egg. If you visit, watch for the speed trap at the road tunnel entrance, all of the weddings and funerals, the Porsche dealership, the derailment clean-up and the monks strolling in the courtyard.

This is truly a tell-your-friends kind of place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 67vistacruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your rave review of our model railroad display. When we meet and talk to people like yourself it gives all of us such pleasure and added joy in our every day life.
It gives me great insight and pleasure to answer people’s comments both good and bad about their experience visiting us.
I am so glad that you found some of all the little funny details, which is there for people to discover all over the display and I am even more impressed that you can still remember them.
We hope to see you again here at the railroad.
Ulla Pedersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    63
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like model railroads?”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This has to be the best kept secret on model railroad layouts. A full warehouse laid out with great detail and numbers of trains running all at once. The detail is spectacular.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WA-OK-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We are so glad you came to visit us at our model railroad display and that you really liked it. Be sure to come again soon. Ulla Pedersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Model European Railway.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The layout consists of several interconnected themed layouts. Each layout can be magical, historical, or modern. The detail is extraordinary throughout. And, the layout is constantly undergoing some redecorating. The cycle between daylight and nighttime viewing is most dramatic.

Helpful?
1 Thank MikeInMtVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Almost everyone who comes here is fascinated with the change between day and night. When the lights are dimmed you are transported into another experience because the thousands of lights really show at that time. You can really appreciate the forest fire as the mountain is awash with red and yellow lights and you can discover nighttime skiing as well. Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again. Ulla Pedersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Transport yourself to Europe while in Osoyoos”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We hadn't intended to spend much time here but we were there for nearly 2 hours! Amazing work has gone in to building the remarkable railway scenes. Everywhere you look is something unusual or boasts of minute attention to detail. You can take pictures and we certainly did. They owners are always working on the scenes and creating new ones. I think we could go every year and still not notice all the scenes. It would be great to take anyone, particularly a model railway,train or plane buff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for coming to visit us and spending the time here getting to see all the wonderful details and the trains showing our fantasy world of places in Europe. It is so surprising to people that we are so much more than trains. As you discovered you are more than welcome to take as many photos as you like and to video as well. We look forward to seeing you again. Ulla Pedersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This place id amazing.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Take every body we can when in town. It changes constantly.Would be great place to bring kids.Nice people run it as well good price.Don't pass it by.

Helpful?
1 Thank weinner2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are so glad to have people like you visiting our model railroad again and again and still being amazed at the display. We are committed to making it affordable for everyone visiting for that very reason. Come back again next time you visit Osoyoos please. Ulla Pedersen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad also viewed

Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing