We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like model railroads?”

Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN YEAR ROUND Monday to Saturday. A world Class Miniature Wonderland Experience. 4000 sq ft. of family fun with up to 45 computer controlled trains traveling on 2 km (1 1/4 miles) of tracks weaving through mountains and towns. Discover the 18000 + hand-painted little people and animals in scale 1:87 (HO) placed in humorous and funny situations and scenes. You'll be impressed with the devotion to details and the charm and humor of the presentation. Watch with delight, the unique operational car system running through towns, stopping for gas and traffic lights. So much more than just Trains.When driving from downtown Osoyoos, take Hwy 3 towards Vancouver (about 3 km.) Turn left at the SECOND enterance into the Buena Vista Industrial Park onto 115th Street. Look for the yellow warehouse with the big signs out front.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This has to be the best kept secret on model railroad layouts. A full warehouse laid out with great detail and numbers of trains running all at once. The detail is spectacular.

Thank WA-OK-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

We are so glad you came to visit us at our model railroad display and that you really liked it. Be sure to come again soon. Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"attention to detail"
in 49 reviews
"all ages"
in 48 reviews
"hand painted"
in 23 reviews
"amazing race"
in 16 reviews
"nude beach"
in 14 reviews
"miniature world"
in 13 reviews
"amazing display"
in 13 reviews
"square feet"
in 8 reviews
"could spend hours"
in 10 reviews
"rainy day"
in 15 reviews
"train layout"
in 5 reviews
"room lights"
in 6 reviews
"mind boggling"
in 8 reviews
"hard work"
in 10 reviews
"per adult"
in 5 reviews
"labor of love"
in 5 reviews
"industrial area"
in 5 reviews
Filter

442 - 446 of 503 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

The layout consists of several interconnected themed layouts. Each layout can be magical, historical, or modern. The detail is extraordinary throughout. And, the layout is constantly undergoing some redecorating. The cycle between daylight and nighttime viewing is most dramatic.

1  Thank MikeInMtVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Almost everyone who comes here is fascinated with the change between day and night. When the lights are dimmed you are transported into another experience because the thousands of lights really show at that time. You can really appreciate the forest fire as the mountain is awash with red and yellow lights and you can discover nighttime skiing as well. Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again. Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We hadn't intended to spend much time here but we were there for nearly 2 hours! Amazing work has gone in to building the remarkable railway scenes. Everywhere you look is something unusual or boasts of minute attention to detail. You can take pictures and we certainly did. They owners are always working on the scenes and creating new ones. I think we could go every year and still not notice all the scenes. It would be great to take anyone, particularly a model railway,train or plane buff.

1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for coming to visit us and spending the time here getting to see all the wonderful details and the trains showing our fantasy world of places in Europe. It is so surprising to people that we are so much more than trains. As you discovered you are more than welcome to take as many photos as you like and to video as well. We look forward to seeing you again. Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Take every body we can when in town. It changes constantly.Would be great place to bring kids.Nice people run it as well good price.Don't pass it by.

1  Thank weinner2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We are so glad to have people like you visiting our model railroad again and again and still being amazed at the display. We are committed to making it affordable for everyone visiting for that very reason. Come back again next time you visit Osoyoos please. Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wow we were totally amazed at the model railroad. The owners were so friendly and pointed out lots of stuff that we miss. You could spend the whole day there and still miss seing some things
Family run and built they also tell you history of . Go see it well worth

2  Thank sky_angel_59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odrm, Owner at Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful impression of our model railroad display and of us as well. We love when people leave with a big smile on their faces after visiting us. Please come see us again. Ulla Pedersen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad also viewed

 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Osoyoos Desert Model Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing