We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extra special B&B experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 17 Osoyoos B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our recent overnight stay with Jack & Alice was a memorable experience. Our room, as with the other two guest rooms, opened out to a jaw dropping view of the town of Osoyoos and the Okanagan valley far below. The room opened out to a common patio area with nice furniture on which to relax and enjoy the view. Our room was very nicely decorated and appointed with a queen-sized bed, large flat screen TV, small fridge, and ensuite bathroom. The night we stayed there was a Stanley Cup ice hockey playoff game, and Jack & Alice very generously invited us to watch the game in their fabulous home theatre equipped with a 10' HD screen and 12 large and very comfortable lazyboy style lounge chairs. After the game all the guests were invited up to their observatory where Jack gave us a very informative talk on the various stars, galaxies and planets we were able to observe that night. His passion and enthusiasm for astronomy is infectious and leaves you in awe of the vastness of the universe in which we live.
In the morning we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast by Alice and more very interesting discussion on astronomy with Jack. Overall our stay at the Observatory B&B was an experience we won't soon forget and one which we will share and highly recommend to all our friends and family. Thanks again Jack & Alice for your very kind and generous hospitality.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nhecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Observatory Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 87 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

This B & B promises the Sun, Moon and Stars (and they do deliver). Jack & Alice are very gracious hosts who go the extra mile to accommodate you. The view is breathtaking, rooms are very cosy and tastefully decorated. Jack's tutorial and viewing of the planets and night sky was an awesome and unforgettable experience. We booked May 5th to view the Supermoon and Jack certainly delivered! Alice served a delicious breakfast with O.J. and a bottomless cup of coffee while we took in the view of the valley and Osoyoos Lake. Alice's extra special touches are everywhere. We would definitely recommend staying at the Observatory B & B if you are looking for something extraordinary. Thanks for opening up the heavens!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Davrose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Every time I have travelled through Osoyoos,the white building
With its dome had caught my eye and my imagination.
Now that I have actually spent a night there in a unique room perched high above
Osoyoos ,my mind keeps going back to the beauty of the setting and to Alice and Jack,the
Warm and genuine hosts who welcome their guests with an invitation to
Become astronomers for memorable moments and whose enthusiasm for seeing far beyond our own world makes their B&B so much more than the building that first filled me with curiosity.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Wilfried W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Ever since we read about Jack & Alice and the Observatory B&B (2004 article in Travel & Leisure Magazine), we've wanted to make the trip. But we never got around to it until this week (May, 2012). One word decribes it -- WOW!!! Other reviews describe the beautiful and comfortable home, how Jack & Alice make you feel like family, and the amazing experience of celestial viewing. We enjoy traveling for relaxation, hiking close to nature, learning new things, and (yes) wine tasting. In all of our travels, this is the first trip that overflowed with all of these!! The landscape is stunning, the local wine is world-class, and Jack's ability to expand your understanding of the universe is, well, mind-blowing! Our only regret is that we waited 8 years to actually stay there! We won't make that mistake again -- plans for our next visit are already in the works!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave98023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My wife and I returned home safe and sound with only one regret. We wanted
to stay and do more star gazing. On the way down their driveway my wife already
started complaining. She wanted to turn back and stay another night.
Unfortunately I had already checked and they were booked :(

We had a wonderful time and Jack and Alice Newton are such graceful and personable
hosts we will surely be back. We have already told lots of friends and
neighbours of our wonderful experience. Unfortunately thinking of this now I
think we may want to reconsider spreading the word as this might make it
even harder to book. (LOL)

The following two days, Wednesday and Thursday were such sunny days I e-mailed Jack and Alice to please tell me that it clouded over at night, the star gazing was awful and we missed nothing. ;)

We will treasure the time we had with Jack and Alice and relive the experience over and
over. This is one experience you just can't get anywhere else. My pictures
of Jack and Alice are in my famous people folder. We consider ourselves very fortunate
and privileged to be able to say; we stayed in the home of Jack and Alice
Newton, we had breakfast with them, talked about many things, star gazed and
took pictures through their telescope and with their equipment.

This is a one of a kind experience.

Regards,
Ron & Kerry Ann

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Well if you're an amateur Astronomer no introduction is needed to the owners of this B&B, Mr 'Supernova hunter' Jack Newton, and his wife Alice. A custom built home/B&B/Observatory high on the hills with a jaw dropping view of Osoyoos and the lake.The rooms are very well equipped, comfortable, and thankfully air conditioned given the desert location. The amount of astronomy related household objects is amazing, even right down to the light switch covers! Jack and Alice welcome you as family and have breakfast with you in the morning. In the evening (and morning as well) Jack takes you up into his observatory for viewing sessions both on his large scope and his solar scope (for viewing the sun). Aimed mainly at beginners the sessions are a great introduction to the night sky, which is stunning in this dark desert location. The B&B rooms are on the lower floor with a shared veranda and BBQ. Overall a great stay, location, and experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stressedtechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a sitting room & kitchenette, lots of room for our family of 4. Very quiet, although the other rooms were full we didn't hear them. Stepping out of the room onto the patio there is the stunning view of the whole lake & town, with the added bonus of a cooling breeze. In the evening Jack took us on a tour of the sky with his telescopes & interesting talk - even our 8 & 11 year olds were fascinated. My geeky hubby thought he'd died & gone to heaven! Next morning, after a nice communal breakfast we saw stars in daylight too. Alice made sure the kids felt very welcome (my son wanted to adopt Jack & Alice as an extra set of grandparents!) This b&b has the best of both worlds - peace, quiet & views but only a few minutes drive into town.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leedslass89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
2.3 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
3.0 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
3.3 mi away
Desert Oasis Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Bed & Breakfast

Address: # 3 Observatory Road | 1270 Hwy 3 East, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing